We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad and good. at the moment it does not deserve the 4 stars” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ismaninger Strasse 42-44, 81675 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 383 hotels in Munich
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“bad and good. at the moment it does not deserve the 4 stars”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Eccessivamente caldo, con camere polverose a causa della moquette da cambiare. Bagno minuscolo. Prima colazione completa. Uno degli addetti alla reception, molto scortese. Excessively warm. Dusty rooms: the carpeting is too old and is in need of replacement. Tiny bathroom. One of the receptionists was very impolite and he pretended he did not speak English. Very Good Breakfast

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    47
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
11
31
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Longmeadow, MA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife and I spent a final evening in Munich before returning home to the states at this pleasant hotel a little away from the hustle and bustle of downtown. Despite some noise from a private Christmas party downstairs which ended at midnight, our room was spotless and represented good value for this pricey metropolis. For this lover of German sausages, the breakfast was a real treat in the traditionally Bavarian paneled breakfast room: the first thing greeting you as you enter is a large covered hot plate accommodating an array of Munich Weisswurst, Frankfurters, and small pork sausages resembling Nurnbergers. The remainder of the breakfast offering included the typically German wide selection of meats, cheeses, fruits, cereals and pastries. I liked the vanilla croissant among the latter, being a nice warm croissant filled with vanilla cream. The front desk is friendly and overall the experience is positive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in Munich at this Hotel, and we we're not disappointed, prior our trip, I though that the location was a little far from the city centre,but ended in being an advantage to get away from the crowds. There is a tram stop nearby, that can take you in the centre part in 15min. or on foot a pleasant 30 min. walk. Nearby: Wiener Platz, some restaurants, cafes and the famous Hofbräukeller (not to be missed) .
The Hotel: smallish room, good bed, flat screen tv, somewhat sufficient for the time we spent in our room. The breakfast is generous and very good and starts at 6h30am lots of choices and even to order. Franceska at the front desk was pleasant and helpful, we checked out at 5h30am on our last day and she organized a private breakfast for us with the help of the night clerk! Now that's service!
My only complaint really, is that they charge for Wifi, most coffee shops gives you free access when you buy a cup of coffee, why can I get free wifi with 135 euros room ;-)

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street, and frankly the noise level was not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egchel, netherlands.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Hotel room was rather small, but decent.
Breakfast buffet rich, also included a choice of eggs prepared to order.
Internet not for free. Bummer.
The service at the reception was very good and early checkout in the morning was no problem

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, U.K.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed for ten nights in this hotel as a base for visiting Munich and nearby sights in Bavaria.We were upgraded as we were staying longer than the average customer ( who I think comes for a weekend).We loved it: the quality of the rooms and decor were both most impressive, the breakfasts were lovely and the staff were all helpful and friendly, especially Manuella and Florian on Front desk, Lucian (sp.?) in the bar and the breakfast waiters, male and female. It felt like a 5 star at 4 star prices: well-placed for trams and a great restaurant (Isargold) two doors away. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed at this hotel one night then to Bavaria. Booked through Newmarket holidays and really pleased especially with the staff.We arrived at 21-00 and they had prepared a lovely meal for the 49 travellers on the tour.Very friendly staff nothing was too much trouble.Rooms were very clean no complaints at all of the hotel.The hotel management gave us a Trip Advisor rating form which proves they are very confident of the service they provide.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS, GREECE
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I loved this hotel. It had a touch of the past but with all the modern amenities and the wi-fi worked in an excellent way. Breakfast was great and the waiters really friendly. The room had was a suite that it was beautifully furnished with a lot of character giving you an air of the "old Munich of the past"! I was really thrilled by the quality of the sleep I had there. Moreover, the bathroom was spacious with a sense of luxury that you do not find easily at these prices.
If you are looking for a quiet boutique hotel in the center of Munich, this one has it all!
Thanks for the stay... Auf wiedersehen!

Room Tip: Try to have a suite and the Van Gogh suite is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

Address: Ismaninger Strasse 42-44, 81675 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#73 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#82 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinzregent Am Friedensengel Hotel
Prinzregent Am Friedensengel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.