We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few days in Munich” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel to your Saves list
Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ismaninger Strasse 42-44, 81675 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Few days in Munich”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

In looking for a place to stay near the English Gardens and other points of interest in Munich I came across this hotel. Very qaint hotel. Old and charming is the best description. It is a bit pricey for what you get I think. The rooms are very small with bathrooms that the size of an RV bathroom. Mostly clean however, one of our pillow cases had not been changed or cleaned properly.
I also got stuck in the elevator! Managed to get out so all is good. The parking was underground and safe however, a bit pricey as well. This is all expected when staying in Munich though so nothing unusual.
All in all it was an average stay. I plan to come back to Munich someday, but will likely stay elsewhere just to experience new places but would not rule this out completely if someone asked. Just don't expect a luxurious hotel.

Room Tip: If you have two people staying make sure you let them know. Room was set up for one person (one tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    51
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
38
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Prinzregent is located in a quiet residential area served by tram. The most exciting attraction nearby is English Garten (10 min. walk) but on the other side of the river
.
Rooms are clean and very large offering very good conditions for a family of 4. Breakfast is excellent and you can seat in the garden if the weather is fine.

Personnel at the front desk could be more helpful indicating restaurants, things to do, ...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This was my first time in this small, charming Bavarian hotel. It is located in the upscale and very central Bogenhausen District, which may be perfect for many business people, including lawyers, accountants, architects, etc. My room was quite adequate, though the table is just below a light fixture that I smacked my head on every time I stood up (I ended up moving the table slightly). The service at the front desk is friendly and excellent and the bar is very good, with one of those old-time bartenders that you don't often meet any more. The bar also has a small selection of decent food and the drinks on hand are more than adequate and the price is right (10-14E for a single malt). There are plenty of decent restaurants in the area, including a Slovenian/Croatian grill and an Italian place as well. Breakfast also includes a decent selection of fruits, breads, yoghurts, etc. A couple of downsides: Internet is 12E/day and the free computer in the lobby is absolutely awful. Can't think of any other negatives. No gym - though there is a sauna. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012 via mobile

It has been several years since I have to visit Munich for business and ever since I try to stay at this small bavarian hotel which I love because it makes me feel home. They have a bartender (Tony) that is working there for so many years which makes him like a exlibris on its own. The rooms are confortable and breakfast is a must. They don't have restaurant which is a downside for those arriving late.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pyramids
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We always stay at this hotel, so this was not our first visit. It is very near the English Gardens so it is very relaxing. It is only a very short distance from the city center by taxi if you want to go shopping. There are many good restaurants close to it. The staff are very accommodating and friendly. Their breakfast is superlative. Although they do not have a business center, but you have they opportunity of a free access internet computer in the lobby and you also have access to a printer. We always enjoy our visits there.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, choose a garden side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This is a very nice boutique hotel with a charming staff, a great breakfast room, a beautiful lobby, and a modern parking garage. However, it did not give me quite what I had hoped for.

Munich is an expensive town if you want to find hotel value close to the city center. It 's especially expensive during Oktoberfest. That being said, I was willing to forgive the higher-than-average prices for the Prinzregent am Friedensengel. I needed a nice place close to Oktoberfest for my last night after a long road trip to store my car and get a good night's sleep and I wanted more than the usual plastic furniture and rock-hard mattresses you generally find in German hotels. However, there was nothing about the room or the bed that warranted the price. The bed was not especially comfortable, the safe was broken, there wasn't much closet space, and the bathroom, although pretty, was as small as the head on a boat. The carpet and decor were tired and the springs on both chairs poked up into my tail-bone.

The good side was that I was greeted warmly by the young lady at the check-in desk and there was a very large elevator so that I could bring my bags up from the parking garage. They had even cordoned off a parking space for me with my name on it - nice touch. I very much liked coming and going through the beautiful lobby, and the subway to Oktoberfest was only a 5 minute walk away on a quiet safe street. The waiter in the breakfast room was very fast, efficient and friendly, making the start of the day a pleasant experience. Over-all, my one night here left a favorable impression on me...just not on my bank account.

I will definitely look into this hotel again on my next trip to Munich if I need to be down-town, but I am sure it will be easy to find a better priced hotel on the fringes of the city center. I have always been drawn to boutique hotels over the larger modern ones and this hotel has a few nice things to offer any traveler with the same outlook.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden which is in the back and gets no street noise. Be sure to ask for n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Sadly only a one-night stopover in Munich to visit friends in the city. Their flat determined the choice of location for our hotel, which is a bit of a walk from the city centre. However the Metro is about 5 minutes walk away and only a couple of stops from the city centre. The hotel has bags of character and feels very German! We went for a garden room, which was a good choice - though the hotel's photos overstate the 'garden' element. It is a strip of grassand trees with a commanding view of...a hospital! The room was quiet: the hotel is on a busy road so go for a garden room if you want a bit of peace. Clean and comfortable - apart from the fact that a 'double' turns out to be twin mattresses and twin duvets... The breakfast was superb: huge choice (especially of breads) in a lovely room. We would have happily stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

Address: Ismaninger Strasse 42-44, 81675 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#29 Business Hotel in Munich
#32 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinzregent Am Friedensengel Hotel
Prinzregent Am Friedensengel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.