We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stag weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Seibel

Save Saved
You added Pension Seibel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pension Seibel
1.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Reichenbachstrasse 8, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 59 Munich B&B and Inns
Dorset
1 review
“Excellent stag weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

This little hotel is very friendly and perfectly situated in the beautiful city of Munich. 8 of us stayed there on a stag weekend, it was basic but perfect for the type of break we were on.

The hotel is extremely reasonable and the breakfast was great, a good selection. We arrived later than expected due to a delayed flight, the lady welcoming us was very accomodating and friendly.

Would definately recommend this hotel to the budget traveller who wishes to be close to the city highlights

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    17
    24
    13
    19
See reviews for
11
13
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

We booked Pension Seibel thru the Bureau of Tourismn at the Airport in Munich. We asked for a good 3 to 4 star hotel in Munich's City Center and this came highly recommended by the Bureau of Tourismn!!! Unfortunately we had to pay right there without having seen the Pension, thus, we had to take the room as they wouldn't give us the money back.

The Pension is upstairs above a shoe store of the same name. There is no elevator and there is no reception. The Pension was old, run down and smelled revolting. Our room was small with some old furniture that was probably salvaged from the garbage. The bathroom was small and unfinished with a shower. Overall the room and bathroom were unbelievably dirty and just disgusting, a disgrace for German hospitality. The breakfast was O.K., but there was not enough food for everyone. The staff was not very friendly and welcoming. The one and only thing that was positive was the location with everything within walking distance.

  • Liked — Location, close to all attractions
  • Disliked — Everything - most disgusting hotel ever
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2008

My wife and I and another couple were excited about staying in such a great location. Unfortunately, when we arrived in the early afternoon, we found that the management had given away one of our rooms, despite our "guaranteed reservation." We were given the option of two couples sharing a bedroom and bathroom in a room that resembled a hostel, or they would find us a couple of rooms in one of their "sister" hotels, which we were told had free parking.
Not wanting to be separated from the couple we were traveling with, we took the management up on their offer and set off to their sister hotel, which was miles away. As it turns out, that hotel did not have two rooms either, so one couple stayed there and the second couple went to yet another nearby hotel.
Located as it was on the outskirts of town, it was a long cab ride to the attractions we wanted to visit. Oh, the "free parking?" It was up to us to find parking on the street.
Although Munich was fun, this run-around hotel experience was not. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, based on the unprofessional way our reservation was handled.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the way our reservation was given away
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurghada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

The location is brilliant, walking distance to lots of attractions, However there is no elevator and there are rooms starting from the first floor so if you have heavy baggage beware.
The room was cute you could say, but with wobbly wooden stairs in the room leading to an unfinished bathroom and no bedside lights it was not so comfortable.
Breakfast was good and the staff friendly.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Condition of the rooms and cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

I just got back from a weeklong stay at Pension Seibel, and I have to say that all of the negative reviews are a little off-base. Yes, its entrance is next to a shoe store, but the name of the shoe store is also Seibel, and there is a sign that says "Pension" over the entrance of the pension. I found it with ease.

Anyway, I found the rooms to be clean and the beds to be comfortable. Our bed was up against the stairs, so it was little loud sometimes, but it wasn't anything too terrible.

The location is fantastic. It's a block from Viktualienmarkt (the huge market). It's only about a 5-7 minute walk from Marienplatz (the city center), and only a few minutes more to the Hofbrauhaus. There are plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance.

The breakfast buffet is decent: meats and cheeses, pastries, rolls, bread, Nutella, cereal, hard-boiled eggs, milk, yogurt, apple juice, OJ, coffee.

The staff was so-so, but I didn't interact much with them. At no time did the cleaning staff knock on our door before 1pm.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2007

This place is a shambles. We had booked here but they cancelled our reservation without even telling us. They then reinstated it but then cancelled it again because we didn't send a fax immediately containing our credit card details. The desk staff were rude and unhelpful over the telephone - I can't comment on the place as we didn't even make it there.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — Rude unhelpful staff
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2007

I chose the Pension Seibel based on reviews from Trip Advisor. The reviews were hit and miss, so I hoped to 'hit' on my visit. I did not.

The hotel bills itself as having Bavarian influence throughout, but the only thing Bavarian about it is the furniture, and that was apparently unintentional.

The location can't be beat - literally one block from the Marienplatz. It's also convenient to the gay district if you're interested in that. There's a shoe store and veggie cart at the front door of the hotel, so it's easy to miss as you walk by. But once you find it, the people are friendly and speak good English.

The rooms are small and sparsely furnished. Each room has a private bathroom. The bathrooms are basically clean, but it's obvious that air circulation is a problem. There is mold in quite a few places both in the bathroom and in the room itself.

The beds are hard and have the tiniest down pillows. There is only a down comforter to cover yourself and it may or may not be cleaned in between guests. I found stray hairs all over mine. There were hairs in the bathroom, too, so it may have been the maid.

The walls of the rooms are paper thin and you can hear your neighbors' conversations as though they were standing in your room. This was by far the most aggravating part of my stay. I got practically no rest the entire time I was in Munich. If it wasn't the neighbors, then it was noise from outside. Housekeeping banged on my door daily at 8am. In their defense, because you keep your hotel key with you when you leave, there's no real way for them to know if you're in or not. I guess it doesn't really matter what time it is - a person is bound to be aggravated by knocks on the door when they don't want them. There is no "do not disturb" sign to hang.

Breakfast is served every morning, and is ample. There are cold cereals, breads, pastries, meats, cheeses, and coffee/tea/juice/milk. The food is plentiful and is very good. You could easily fill yourself with enough food to carry you through to dinner. The only thing I noticed is that there is no espresso machine, which was somewhat unusual, since every other place in town had one, even in the subway.

The Pension Seibel is a good inexpensive option, but I'd recommending paying a little extra for something better.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cheap & run down
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pension Seibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Seibel

Address: Reichenbachstrasse 8, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Pension Seibel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Pension Seibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Seibel Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Seibel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.