We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheaters and money stealers” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West to your Saves list
Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brudermuhlstrasse 33, 81371 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #227 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“cheaters and money stealers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

never ever trust those thieves i booked once online and i had chosen high category room with non refundable booking and the money been taken since 3 months in advance and when we reached there we checked in and when we went to the rooms we got shocked. they gave us the lowest category rooms and they said this is the rooms which you booked. then i show them my booking confirmation with the room photos to prove them this is not our rooms and they said that's whats available now. then i asked either you give us the rooms what we booked or return us the money, and of course we were expecting the answer: this is non refundable booking, which means take it or leave it because they already withdraw the money. and then we decied to call the police and they came and we explain them our situation and when they start investigating them they convinced the police by german language that was our booking and they gone. don't ever trust this chain of hotels

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    109
    55
    19
    16
See reviews for
56
88
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Not A Vitruvian Hotel

I was in Munich on business and needed to change my parties dates of stay. Upon check-in we inquired about the cancelation of our reservation for our last night. At that time we were told we could cancel without penalty but that we would have to contact staff in the morning. The next morning I followed up with staff who informed me they would have to verify my conversation from the prior day because it was now to late to cancel without a ninety percent (90%) penalty. Staff advised me they would call there colleague at a specific time later in the day. I was at the front desk at the time this phone call was to occur and after thirty (30) minutes inquired with staff about it. The same staff person I had spoken to that morning advised me they would not contact their colleague because "it didn't matter" given I was now outside the cancelation window. We debated the issue and staff (plural) was surly, curt and dismissive of my concerns. Basically, I got the FULL SCAM ON RUN AROUND this hotel reserves for visitors to Germany. The resolution of this issue was less than satisfactory. Clearly, the shabby treatment and dismissive attitude I experienced is reflective of company values.

If you're still interested in staying here the location is about 20 minutes from the town center with traffic so it is not a central / convenient location. There is no air conditioning in the hotel and there are no fans in the hotel rooms. If it's hot like it was when I stayed it will be tough to sleep. The rooms are clean but small and cramped by my standards and the bed was just ok (small single bed). Maid service was below average - they left me no towels after my dispute. I wasn't sure what to make of it but it was lovely to get out of the shower and not even have a hand towel. The hotel surrounds the garden area of an affiliated Italian restaurant so it is loud until 11:30pm and the noise starts again at 6:00am when set up for breakfast starts. If your room windows are open you won't be able to sleep - it's that noisy. This restaurant is very good for dinner. It is family owned and the food is excellent. There's a laundry facility in the basement which was easy to access and utilize - 4.5 Euros for a load (wash and dry). There's an ironing board and iron in laundry facility you won't find one in your room. The bottom line here is that the Leonardo Hotel Munich is the last place you want to stay. I will never give business to the Leonardo Hotel chain again - know they will not value your patronage and that their morale and business compass is broken irregardless of what they claim.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel is located 50 m from the Brudermühlerstraße U bahn station which is less than a 10 minute ride from Marienplatz, so easily reachable by public transport. It is suitable for a business trip or short city break. Breakfast is extra at €12 which we didn't try as we thought a bit steep.

The hotel appears to be recently decorated and the rooms are clean, in good condition and well equipped. A small balcony, lots of power points, a TV, safe and hairdryer are provided, as well as a very compact hidden kitchenette with microwave, fridge, kettle and two hotplates, although no pans.

WiFi is available but at a rather expensive hourly rate, however on the 4th floor there is a communal room with a PC and printer with free internet access.

The beds, two singles pushed together with separate duvets were comfortable, an arm chair, desk and chair are also provided.

Niggles - The complimentary coffee and tea wasn’t topped up, although reception was able to provide replacements, and the lift was out of action for 3 days during our stay.

Tips – The simplest way to get around town and from the airport is with a Single or Partner day ticket, the cost varies according to the area covered. Tickets should be stamped before use and expire at 6am the following day, there are also 3 day passes, however as you require the entire network pass twice to get to and from the airport this may not work out cheaper. The inner ticket will suffice for most city travel

One day pass | Area Covered | Single | Partner (up to 5 adults)
Inner district | Most of the centre (white zone) | €5.80 | €10.60
Munich XXL | White & green zone | €7.80 | €13.60
Entire network| Out to Airport | €11.20 | €20.40

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

There was a group of us, students to attend the seminar in Munich. We stayed in this hotel for 7 nights and my experience was very satisfying. Everything was good: rooms, bathrooms, breakfast, location. The internet is limited though, you have an option of subscribing to the ibahn wi-fi which was around 5 euro per hour (which is quite expensive for me) or using the only computer in the business room. The gym and sauna were closed to renovation, but we never had time for them anyway.
Location is very stategic, about 10-15 minutes to the city center from the metro station right besides the hotel. Some cafes and a grocery shop surrounded the hotel so you always have necessities nearby.
Staff was very helpful and provided us with slippers, umbrellas etc upon request.

Room Tip: Room on the fourth floor I was staying in had a mini-kitchen inside (with the electronic cooker, mic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

stayed for the touristy Oktoberfest. it was a great idea. located far enough away to not be near the chaos, but close enough on the subway line for quick ride. it was clean, orderly, and they gave us wrist bands to put on to show to cabby if we got too drunk.. nice touch. they were nice to all of us drunk tourists. the bar is pricey though. rooms were cool, and clean

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here during the Oktoberfest and had a really excellent time. The staff were very friendly and helpful, very conveniently located right next to the U-bahn which takes you directly into the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had booked a room 3 month in advance, got there, got lesser than what we paid for, a very rude receptionist that refused to even listen, would not recommend to anybody, if you want to enjoy munich, steer away from here

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West

Address: Brudermuhlstrasse 33, 81371 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#85 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a central location and fantastic views, the Leonardo Hotel München City West welcomes its guests to a modern setting. Comfortable rooms — some with kitchenette for long stays — as well as exclusive loft studios offer amazing views of the Munich skyline or the breathtaking Alps. Party on high, laze around or keep busy — the roof deck invites you to celebrate your exclusive event or to relax in the sunshine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.