We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic birthday experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Munich to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neuturmstrasse 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Daily Dining / Spa Credit
Ranked #1 of 382 hotels in Munich
Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic birthday experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We celebrated my wife's birthday at the Mandarin, and we could not have dreamed of a better experience. It started with a welcome glass of champagne. We were given an upgraded room, and later in the afternoon, the staff surprised us with a beautiful birthday cake. When we went down to the bar before dinner, the pianist played happy birthday for her. I've stayed at a couple of other Mandarin hotels, and somehow the staff always know who you are. Dinner in the restaurant one floor above the bar was excellent. As dessert was being brought to the table, we could hear happy birthday being played again in the bar below.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    401
    41
    21
    3
    0
See reviews for
80
215
33
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Hotel has very good location and is very elegant. We love to have here a very peaceful and nice breakfast. It is always nice to have a room with the Alp's view and the view of the old part of Munich. I was very pleased to find out that hotel provides a few bikes for hotel guest, so you can enjoy biking in the near beautiful park.
We are not very happy about very small pool which is located on the roof - almost as a part of the terrace bar. Last year we had opportunity to enjoy pool in the close hotel and in Mandarin they just opened a new part of the spa, so we decided to return to this hotel again this year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Staying here in Munich. Amazing property. Room size can have a bal. service top end. Recommend definitely. Food is delicious. Swimming pool looks great. Concierge give me great recommendation and save me time

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Extravagantly expensive but the service gets to you. We were warned that Munich would be dull at New Year as most people head for the mountains but the Mandarin new years eve party was high class with roooftop view of the city fireworks - one of the best and longest displays we have seen as every building seems to participate. The rooms seem spacious because of the high ceilings though not as well equipped as some other Mandarins. - hotel is small so no spa etc. We could have stayed in the nearby Novotel for a third of the price but it is the Mandarin service (such.as birthday cake) that makes a stay at the Mandarin memorable for the kids.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have been to this hotel once every year for the past 15 years. It has never disappointed me. The location is convenient. My room is big. Their breakfast is one of the best I had, with a buffet, sausages, fresh fruits, 8 different kinds of juices, yogurt, muffins, cheeses, and even miso soup. Then came the breakfast. Please try their pancakes with bananas and blueberries. It's one of a kind and yummy.
The Marks Restaurant is delicious and prices are reasonable.
Their Concierge, Sitorius(I may have spelled his name wrong) is the best I have met....They are all so friendly and prompt and courteous...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I returned recently to the Mandarin Oriental in Munich and it remains one of the world's great hotels. The service is flawless, everyone goes the extra mile to be sure you are satisfied. The housekeeping staff is particularly attentive and warm. They seem to love their job and take such pride in it. I love the bar downstairs--the service there also superb. I had a piece of raspberry cake that was to die for. Breakfasts are also wonderful with again fantastic service. Finally, the door staff is also wonderful...always offering to take a package and again they seem as if they truly enjoy and are proud of what they do.

The location is fantastic for walking and shopping and the rooms are beautiful. If you are looking for a perfectly elegant experience in Munich. The Mandarin Oriental is it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My sister arranged a surprise stay at the Mandarin Oriental Munich as a Birthday treat for us both along with my 13 year old daughter from the 21st to the 23rd December. I was amazed at the high standard of absolutely everything in the Hotel, the first greetings from the door guys & the General Manager and all the staff we were introduced to. We were shown to our rooms where our luggage was magically waiting there for us, I was so impressed with our rooms I even had my own Christmas tree along with massive Lounge, Dining room, Study area, massive Bedroom and bed. The room was spotless & a great deal of care had been taken in preparation for our stay. I was presented with a personalised Birthday cake & every member of staff we met knew it was my Birthday and made it a truly magical stay. I can't rate this hotel highly enough it was definately one of the best hotels that I have stayed in.
Rosie W

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Address: Neuturmstrasse 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#1 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#1 Business Hotel in Munich
#2 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Munich 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly tucked away in a side street, yet centrally located near the famed Maximilianstrasse, Mandarin Oriental, Munich is an elegant gem of Neo-Renaissance charm, providing the highest levels of personalised service in the city and award-winning restaurant and bars. The newly refurbished 48 spacious rooms and 25 suites offer the finest in contemporary luxury and, along with the stunning roof-top pool, feature views that stretch across the picturesque surroundings of the old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Munich Hotel Munich
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Munich
Mandarin Munich
Munich Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Munich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.