We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Amazing Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Munich to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neuturmstrasse 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Daily Dining / Spa Credit
Ranked #2 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Orange County, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Another Amazing Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental Munich for four nights in December, including Christmas Eve and Day. This was our third and best stay at what is one of our favorite hotels in the world!

We booked a Superior Junior Suite which was the category we had booked on a prior trip. In retrospect I think we must have been upgraded on the first trip as the room we were initially shown to was nowhere near as nice as the prior room. We asked to be shown other available room options and the lesson we learned is that the rooms vary hugely so don’t hesitate to ask to see others if you aren’t happy with yours. One other thing to note is that they do negotiate on rates, so do not hesitate to make them an offer.

We decided to splurge and ended up in the Tower Suite which was incredible. It is on the top floor and is the room with the round, glass ceiling you can see in the pictures of the hotel. The round room is the living room with a very large couch, 2 chairs, a cabinet with the bar and such, and a huge television. Because it is round, you have a 360 view of the city; you just have to walk from window to window.

In another area there is a dining table and desk which was nice, though we didn’t use it. Just inside the entry door is a half bath. The bedroom is entirely separate and felt very secluded. The full bath was off the bedroom. The only complaint we had about the room was that the main bath had just a single sink – really a minor thing.

Again, the room was awesome and was a nice treat for Christmas.

We were lucky enough to dine at Die Alm twice during our stay. Obviously it is a seasonal thing, but if you are thinking of going in the winter, make absolutely sure you go to Die Alm. It was one of our favorite parts of our stay. The food was great (the fondue in particular) and the ambience incredible. The manager and rest of the staff were incredibly friendly and great to chat with.

We had Christmas Eve dinner at Restaurant Mark’s. We were a little nervous based on the menu as it was very over the top gourmet, but it was one of the best meals we have ever had. It was truly amazing.

We also ate at the downstairs restaurant (Bistromo?) and it was fine, but not comparable at all to either Die Alm or Mark’s.

The breakfast at Mark’s is one of my favorites and it was just as good as I remembered.

We used the new fitness center which was very nice though small (and too warm). They did a nice job with the space.

The Lobby Lounge is a great place to hang out between touring. Given that the city pretty much shut down for the holiday, we spent plenty of time there.

In short, this was an incredible stay. Highly recommended and one of, if not the favorite hotel in the world (so far). If they had a spa, I probably wouldn’t leave.

Room Tip: We prefer the higher floors with views toward the Frauenkirche/Hoffbraeu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    48
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
90
241
38
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Before you read this review which I have deliberated over for quite some time please be aware that I have booked this hotel for another short stay in early February.

I really wanted to give this excellent hotel full marks (as per last time we stayed) because our room and facilities were first class, reception staff, lobby bar staff and doormen were all professional and friendly and accommodating of our Bernese Mountain Dog and we would have enjoyed our stay immensely had it not been for our not so perfect dining experiences. To elaborate, we stayed for 2 nights on a bed and breakfast rate and breakfast on day 1, although very nice, was not without issue for the following issues ( among others):

We were not provided a la carte menus and were surprised when some time after being seated one of the waiting staff asked us if we would like to order additional items such as eggs or waffles without knowing what was available. Secondly I ordered English Breakfast tea and was served a very nice green tea, albeit not what I ordered. Our main gripe was being delivered the bill to sign whilst still eating breakfast. In fairness the second day was a much better experience and we were given menus following being seated.

We also booked dinner at Restaurant Mark's as a special treat since we occasionally like to splurge on the Michelin Star experience. When we were seated there were about 4 occupied tables in the restaurant and so it was not busy. At first everything was perfect and we ordered the tasting menu with accompanying wines. The food was superb, however the service was not as perfect as our experience on a previous visit 2 years ago, or as perfect as the service being afforded to the other tables, in particular the German couple sat next to us and a larger table of Russians. Examples included a bag table being offered to the lady at the next table despite not being offered to me (not a big issue), we were told that one of our accompanying wines was for 2 courses, which was not replenished between courses ( first time we have encountered this on a tasting menu). The waiting staff also forgot to serve our dessert wine which was delivered after our desserts were finished. Finally my husband ordered a coffee at the end of the meal which again was forgotten and only delivered some considerable time later when we reminded the waiting staff. Generally we enjoyed the meal, but were disappointed by the overall dining experience.

As mentioned earlier this is a wonderful hotel and despite considering the nearby Kempinski for our next trip ( based on the above dining experiences) we really didn't want to stay anywhere else and are looking forward to our next stay. To the hotel Management we would like to apologise for not bringing this to your attention during our stay, but as I said in my introduction, the reception and other hotel staff were excellent and we felt it would be unfair to them to complain about something which is outside their control, should you wish to contact us our details are on booking reference 525SB003260 (Byrne).

Room Tip: Discuss your requirements with the excellent reception team they are very helpful and accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We finally found (near) perfection outside of Asia! Mandarin Oriental has clearly succeeded to transfer their top-class service levels (at least to Munich). As soon as we drove up to the entrance and gave our names, everyone throughout our stay addressed us by name. We were offered a nice welcome drink at the bar and let to the room. Unfortunately, and that was the only disappointment, the room smelled of cigarette smoke. Note to GM: “We sometimes allow our guests to smoke in their room, but always get it clean afterwards” is inconsistent with “All our rooms are non-smoking”. The situation was quickly rectified by moving us to a similar room on the top floor, followed by a written apology together with a small plate of sweets some times later. The room was spacious, the bathroom fantastic, the bed comfortable and the content of the mini-bar “free” (or lets say included in the room price). Both the fitness room (sufficient equipment) and the sauna are nicely designed, although the later could benefit from more space including a relaxation area. Whatever request we had it was swiftly taken care of and the diner in the restaurant was superb. EVERYONE of the staff tried to please and paired efficiency with friendliness. We have our own ranking list of hotels we visited and the Mandarin Oriental in Munich is tied right on the top. Net, if you can afford to splurge, there is no better hotel in Munich!

Room Tip: Get an upper floor room on the OPPOSITE side of the hotel entrance (parking garage).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdeburg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Five Star Superior ratings imply impressive buildings in prime locations, luxurious guestrooms, and terrific workout facilities. The superlative "magnificent", however, is reserved for those hotels that provide more than just bricks and mortar. The Mandarin Oriental Munich is such a hotel. Housed in surroundings that are strikingly impressive, one experiences the unremitting willingness of the complete staff to provide the highest level of customer service in every possible situation. This is indeed noteworthy and indicates that a highly skilled and effective leadership is at work behind the scenes!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here in 2011 and 2012 and I have decided this is my favorite hotel in the world. Couldn't fault the service - hotels of the Mandarin Oriental group have never let me down in this aspect. Love the room decor and its warm and relaxing lighting. The lobby area is slightly less impressive but still great nonetheless. Marienplatz is only a short walk away from the hotel. Would definitely return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel is situated in the tourist area of munich, with most tourist attractions within walking distance.

The service was amazing. friendly and professional, nothing was too much trouble. We had a great room on the 7th floor with an amazing view.

we ate at both restaurants on offer, the Marks and the Alm. Food quality at both was excellent. Expect to pay michelin star prices at the Marks, definitely worth it if you do not mind splurging.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is rated number 1 in Munich, but honestly, it would be rated number 1 in any city. Everything is just perfect at the Mandarin, with a caring staff and wonderful amenities. A classic bar with live piano music every night completes your evening after you get back from touring this city. You are greeted by name, and made to feel "at home" on every opportunity. The rooms are beautiful, with fine attention to detail. The only suggestion I would make is that for the cost of a room here (and this is no complaint about room cost) they could consider Internet access at no cost. They have this for the suites, but do charge for Internet on all regular rooms. Other than that - a perfect hotel in every way.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Address: Neuturmstrasse 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#1 Business Hotel in Munich
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#8 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Munich 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly tucked away in a side street, yet centrally located near the famed Maximilianstrasse, Mandarin Oriental, Munich is an elegant gem of Neo-Renaissance charm, providing the highest levels of personalised service in the city and award-winning restaurant and bars. The newly refurbished 48 spacious rooms and 25 suites offer the finest in contemporary luxury and, along with the stunning roof-top pool, feature views that stretch across the picturesque surroundings of the old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Munich Hotel Munich
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Munich
Mandarin Munich
Munich Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Munich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.