We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Munich to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neuturmstrasse 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Location location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is just amazing. Buititful in and out. The service is top notch. The workout room is perfect and very very clean. We stayed over Oktoberfest. They booked us a table at the best tent. This hotel went above and behind any hotel I've ever stayed at. The food here isn't anything short of 5 stars.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    56
    27
    6
    4
See reviews for
95
260
39
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southern california
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Mandarin in Munich is located right down the block from the Hofbrau Haus, and while you can go to grab a nice cold pint with the band blaring over some brats, you have an island of comfort and peace awaiting you. This is a superb location from which to explore this grand city. The old, cobbled streets are at your feet right outside the front door in a quiet neighborhood.

The lobby is well appointed, spacious and with a comfortable bar. The rooms are large and modern, with huge double opening windows for fresh air on nice weather days. The front desk was very attentive and helpful.

This was a business trip and the Mandarin held up their end.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich, germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location is perfect for tourist and shoppers from high recognition brand name goods. The staff speak many languages, from Europe and the Middle East, and it is an open lobby space that awaits you when you come in.

Sometimes the guests are a bit snooty, but the staff are not, so it is a pleasure to be served by them.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed here only for a couple of nights on my recent business trip to Munich, but that was enought to be impressed. Along with Intercontinental, Mandarin is one of my favorite hotel chains (the ones in Tokyo and Singapore are my favorites), and this one more than fulfilled my expectations of the great chain.

PROS

Location, food (do not miss the great breakfast buffet - so fresh and tasty), services, and views from your room.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Munich.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were here during the height of Octoberfest. The staff is exceptional and anticipates your needs. When I checked in and showed my passport the desk clerk wished me a happy birthday, that night after coming back from dinner there was a desert cake with Happy Birthday on the plate. We took advantage of their escorted trip and reserved table at the Hippodrome. The bar service was exemplary. The complimentary soup at midnight was a nice touch. The little touches really add up and the room was exceptional. The junior suite is the best value. A definite top five experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

A great location. Wonderful staff. Great breakfast. The junior suite is wonderful and roomy with large queen sized beds. Staff are friendly and attentive. Would stay here again. Within walking distance of city center, shopping, and amazing restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have just returned from 3 wonderful weeks traveling throughout Germany staying only at 5 star hotels and the Mandarin Oriental, Munich set the standard for all of the other wonderful properties. If you are ever visiting Munich which is a must I strongly recommend enhancing your visit by staying with the wonderful people of the Mandarin Oriental. Our on line reservations were handled professionally, Upon arrival (by car) we were greeted and escorted to reception where our check in was flawless. We were then given a tour of the property and shown to our room where there was an exquisite fresh fruit basket. The first thing we did on the hotels recommendation was visit the roof top bar area where we were treated to complementary Champagne, life doesn't get better, thank you Oriental Mandarin.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Address: Neuturmstrasse 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Munich
#2 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#7 Family Hotel in Munich
#9 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Munich 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly tucked away in a side street, yet centrally located near the famed Maximilianstrasse, Mandarin Oriental, Munich is an elegant gem of Neo-Renaissance charm, providing the highest levels of personalised service in the city and award-winning restaurant and bars. The newly refurbished 48 spacious rooms and 25 suites offer the finest in contemporary luxury and, along with the stunning roof-top pool, feature views that stretch across the picturesque surroundings of the old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Munich Hotel Munich
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Munich
Mandarin Munich
Munich Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Munich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.