We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location - Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Munich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Munich to your Saves list
Le Meridien Munich
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayerstrasse 41, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Location - Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed this week on the second leg of our honeymoon. This is my second time in the hotel, and it is nice to see that it's just as nice as before.

For check-in, the agent was nice and upgraded us to a quiet courtyard room on the second floor. The room was well-kept, had a huge bathroom with separate tub and shower, and had a juliet balcony overlooking the courtyard.

My only complaint about the stay is that the mattress wasn't very comfortable. It was very squishy and left much to be desired. In addition, they do not provide a top sheet, only a duvet cover over a very very warm duvet. We had to pull the duvet out daily and just sleep with the duvet cover. We inquired with the front desk about getting a top sheet and lightweight blanket, but this seemed lost in translation.

As part of our status, we were extended free internet and daily breakfast in the restaurant. The food in the restaurant was mixed for breakfast - pastries, yogurt, muesli, and fruit were all top-notch. Hot food was usually lukewarm (eggs, sausage, potatoes) except for the one day we caught the chef to make an omelet. Seeing as breakfast is around 28 euros a day, it was a good perk.

The pool in the hotel spa is nice, and included in your room rate. I found the hot tub to be somewhat lukewarm, but maybe this is just a German thing.

Overall a great place to stay, and the location across from the hauptbahnhof can't be beat!

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard are quiet and have a pretty view of the well-maintained gardens. The second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    620
    213
    78
    39
See reviews for
271
618
131
352
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We visited Munich for Christmas last December. We wanted a hotel located in the hearth of the city as we were there only there for 3 days and we wanted to be close to the Hauptbahnhof as we had a early morning train to Nuremberg. We got exactly what we looked for! You can't get a better location in Munich. The hotel is literally across the street from the main train/metro station and a short 5 minutes walk from the Marienz platz. As we traveled mid-December, we wanted to be close to the Christmas market, the hotel was only 3/4 minutes away from the beginning of the market, perfect!

The room had a good size for an European room, we did not had problems to open our big luggage. We had a room on the top floor and we had an incredible view of the German alps. The rooms as well as the bathroom was very clean and the bed was very comfy.

I enjoyed the free WiFi in lobby. In room would of been better, but at least we had it for free in all common area of the hotel. The WiFi was very fast, no problem running Facetime.

We booked an excursion to Dachau with the hotel concierge desk. They were extremely helpful and the cost was lot cheaper than every thing I found online.

We have nothing bad to say about this hotel. The staff is very helpful and professional, you can't go wrong with Le Meridien Munich!

Room Tip: Request a top floor room, you may get an incredible view of the German Alps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E P, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Marco G.,
Thank you for your lovely comments and outstanding rating following your stay with us.
The Christmas season in Munich is always a very special one and we are glad you enjoyed the close prximity of the markets and took advantage of the transportation hub across the street.
It is always extremely rewarding to hear that our associates were able to contribute to a memorable experience and we are all looking very forward to have you with us again soon.
Best regards,
Felix Schaller
Front Office Manager
Le Meridien Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is across the street from Munich's train station and underground. It is also walking distance to many of Munich's attractions, museums, and restaurants. The room was nice and the bathroom great. Free wifi in the lobby. Our chargers didn't work and the hotel loaned us some. We did not face the courtyard but still slept well. Many fine restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

You really can't get a better location when visiting Munich. You can walk to nearly everything. Just across the street from the main train station, and a 15 minute walk to the pedestrian zone.
The staff was extremely helpful. The Internet was spotty in my room, but was fine in the common areas.
My room was clean and spacious.
I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E P, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear robinr328,
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our associates were able to contribute to a memorable experience.
It is always very rewarding to hear such praise for our services and we are looking very forward to your swift return to wow you again.
Best regards,
Felix Schaller
Front Office Manager
Le Meridien Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

If you stay at Le Meridien expecting good reliable service, extensive breakfast choice, lovely cocktails, 24 hour availability, good sized but pretty uninspiring rooms then you won't be disappointed. Le Meridien provides everything you need for a comfortable stay in Munich, it won't excite you but neither will it have you pulling your hair out in desperation. Everything works and everything you need is there. The concierge was particularly helpful. Opposite the central station makes it easy to travel around, not least to and from the airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E P, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear honestsgt,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with the fellow Tripadvisor readership.
We are glad to read that you had a most enjoyable stay with us and particularly appreciated our extensive breakfast choice, which we are especially proud of.
We obviously do strive to wow all of our guests and exceed their expectations at all times, hence hope for your swift return to demonstrate service excellence on all levels for you to be excited as well.
Best regards,
Felix Schaller
Front Office Manager
Le Meridien Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Le Meridien Munich is in a good location opposite the Hauptbahnhof. Around a 10min easy walk into Marienplatz.

As a group of three the rooms were a good size to accommodate the rollaway bed. The bathroom was also a good size with both a shower and separate bath.

We found a coin operated laundry about 5mins walk from the hotel (Paul Heyser Strasse).

Our main complaint about the hotel was the wifi, it is only free in the lobby and even then it was slow and difficult to use on social media. We also found the staff (especially concierge) a little arrogant and far from helpful.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E P, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear AliSydney82,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with the online community.
We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciated the spacious rooms and bathrooms as well as the location of the hotel.
Please note that we are providing complimentary internet access not only in our lobby, but also in all our public areas as well as our business center.
We will most certainly share your feedback amongst all staff members to illustrate your impressions of our services and to ensure that such incidents do not reoccur in the future again.
We are lookign very forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Felix Schaller
Front Office Manager
Le Meridien Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife and I had a quick two night stay in Munich after a long trip to Europe. We arrived on the train from Vienna so we wanted a hotel near the Haubtbanhof (main train station) - le Meridien Munich is directly across the street from the South entrance to the HBF - extremely convenient. From the hotel, we were able to easily walk to all the main city attractions, the Rathaus Plaza, the Opera, the famous royal residence museums, and the origianal Hofbrauhaus, a happy place if you can get past the fact that Hitler organized the Nazi Party there as he rose to power. The hotel gave us a spacious room, the gym was quite adequate and the indoor pool was beautiful and well maintained. The concierge was excellent and helpful. When we departed from the airport it was easy to just walk back across the street to the HBF and catch the S-bahn (regional train) right to the terminal. For Oktoberfest, the hotel is about a 20-25 minute walk to the main fairgrounds, so not badly placed for that either - and I am sure it is easy to catch a bus or U-bahn back to the HBF.

Room Tip: The front of the hoel, facing the train station, can be noisy - we had a quiet room around the corne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Munich

Address: Bayerstrasse 41, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Munich
#42 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#56 Family Hotel in Munich
#58 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#60 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Munich 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Munich Hotel Munich
Munich Le Meridien
Meridien Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Munich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.