We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Astor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schillerstrasse 24, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #233 of 383 hotels in Munich
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One Night Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

we stayed for one night. it was because we went to see the Bayan Munich Vs Arsenal game. it was in a great location, about 5 minutes walk from the station, the only down side is that you could hear the music from the 'Strip' Club next door. this didnt really affect me as i was really tired. but over all i was happy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    49
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
10
33
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

3 of us came over for the Bayern Munich v Arsenal game.
We had a triple room which was effectively a room with 3 single beds, mine was a bid noisy but didn't really bother me or anyone else given the amount we had to drinks!
We stayed Monday to Thursday, place is very clean, friendly staff etc.
Mini bar is a rip off like every other hotel on this planet.
We were pleasantly surprised that our room had sky tv (albeit mainly German) with a few sports channels.

We didn't eat in the bistro downstairs but the food looked good from what we saw.

I wouldn't worry about the strip clubs at all. There are 2 or 3 on the street and 1 next door to the hotel, there's no noise (our room was facing the main road) and all we got was a few of the girls banging on windows trying to entice us in as you would expect when three lads are walking past one of these places. Prob not the best place for a family to stay just because of the clubs and video shops along the street but for us this place was fine.

We paid €107 each for our triple room for the 3 nights, check in from 12pm, check out at 11am.

The location isn't great for getting to the Marienplatz. You can walk there but it's a good 15/20 mins. There's a club we found called Milch Bar which was good and just up the road from the hotel.
There is a lot of variety in terms of places to eat, everything from pizza and Lebanese to McDonald's and Burger king all within a few Mins walk.
We used to get reception to order us a cab which only ever took about 5 mins to turn up and cost about €9 to get to the Marienplatz and a couple more to the Hofbrauhaus.
Next time we come over to Munich we will prob try and find a hotel closer to the centre albeit paying a little more.
That's just our preference though, this hotel is very good and I can't think of anything bad about it other than my squeaky bed!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

great location, 2 mins walk to main train station, rooms very clean, and great service, breakfast wonderful, all staff very friendly, would stay again at my next visit to munich.rooms very warm, could walk every where.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. I'll be 100% honest, I was terrified of staying here because of all the comments on Trip Advisor.

There are a couple of strip clubs nearby but I wouldn't say there were women hanging out of them, as a couple we didn't mind them being there. In fact we laughed at the fact we had a strip club directly below us. As it was Winter when we visited windows were closed all night and we didn't hear anything from the club at all. The bed was so comfy we just went straight to sleep.

The room was very clean and modern looking. The bathroom could do with an upgrade, is very worn but not dirty. Kinda found it hard to sleep as it was so warm (even in December) and as it was snowing outside (and very cold) it was not appropriate to open the window.

We used the hotel as a base for the Christmas Market at the Marienplatz and Tollwood etc. The train station was nearby but most of the things we wanted were in easy walking distance. Only thing we really needed the train for was our trip to the Munich Zoo.

We did not try the restaurant, seemed to be mainly pizza and there are some very cheap kebab shops nearby and food at the Christmas market stands/bierhaus'. We ate sausages from nearby stands for breakfast every day, because you can't go to Germany without eating loads of them :)

We had rung prior to arriving to check our booking was still okay but the man who picked up didn't speak English. Whilst we were there however, everyone spoke English perfectly.

The hotel has a lift up to the rooms, would barely fit a wheelchair but it works.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The location is within walking distance of central station & Marionplatz. The area is a litle sketchy, but it's where so many of the hotels are situated so it wasn't an issue for us. There was never a time we felt unsafe and we were out walking late at night several times. The room was clean. There is a computer in the lobby that they don't charge to use. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is located very centrally near the main train station and within short walking distance of the centre. It is in a multi-ethnic area so you can explore Afghan, Lebanese, Turkish as well as the usual pizzeria restaurants.
But what irritated me extremely was the prominent four stars on the entrance. This barely makes it to three.

Room Tip: Just avoid the sixth floor as the lift only goes to the fifth! Those rooms are attic with low slopin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Astor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Hotel

Address: Schillerstrasse 24, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#76 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#233 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Astor Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Astor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.