We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Munchen City Sud

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Munchen City Sud to your Saves list
NH Munchen City Sud
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ottobrunner Str. 17-19 | 81737 Munchen, D-81737 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly NH München Am Ring)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER PROMO
Ranked #235 of 390 Hotels in Munich
GreenLeadersBronze level
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Acceptable but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here 1 night on a work trip. Reception staff were friendly & helpful. Rooms were warm (it was snowing outside) & beds were comfortable. Quite a strange set up, there seemed to be more corridor than room and it was quite sparsely furnished with no carpets. Bathroom seemed clean and was adequate.

Rooms at front were noisy from the road outside and if you had to open the windows in warmer weather the noise would be unbearable.

Breakfast was included in our rate. When we went in, there were a few empty tables but no one had cleaned them. We asked for one to be cleared and went to get some food but when we came to sit down and eat, it was still overflowing with dirty cups and plates. It did eventually get cleared but the staff were certainly in no rush. However, the choice at breakfast was reasonable (for Europe) although items like fresh fruit did not get replenished despite there being another hour and a half to go before breakfast finished.

We got taxis to & from the hotel & out to a restaurant in the evening so can't really comment on its location or transport links.

All in all, it was adequate for one night but wouldn't be despeate to return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    145
    111
    48
    32
See reviews for
49
127
18
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Compared with other NH hotel, this one is poor in many things: cold rooms, noise, poor attention to Customers, no water in rooms, smoggy rooms even if you required no-smoking-rooms, poor complementaries in bathroom, old-style furniture...really poor in general.
Breakfast was cheap, with table full of cups left by prior Customers, no hot beverages served at the table. Disaster!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We went the second week of the Oktoberfest, so the hotl was full and the rates were high.
The staff was very kind and helpful. They even spoke in spanish.
They gave us a room on the renewed side of the hotel, so it was great. The room also had a refrigerator so we could have the water and fruits there.
The location is not that good. But there is a subway stop 4 blocks away. That is a long walk, but it is Ok.
I recommend you to get the breakfast at the hotel, since it is about 7 Euros. It is a good deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Cluj, Romania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The good:
- looks ok for a 3 star hotel
- friendly staff
- clean

The bad:
- no carpet on the floor, just wood and it feels cold
- no main light in the room, just some lamps
- not close to U-bahn, but there is a close bus station

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We are fans of the NH hotel chain and have typically had very good experiences with them at all of our stays so when we decided to go to Munich for a long weekend it seemed like a good bet to find an NH.....for the first time we have to say that we were very disappointed indeed. the hotel was pretty "tired" looking and the room we got faced on to the main street. no fans were provided and it was very warm indeed so we had no option but to keep the windows open but after the first sleepless night had no choice but to close them! the staff were ok but nothing more. For an out of city center hotel parking charges were a bit high plus the breakfast buffet was simply not worth it. there are better options with small cafes literally a short walk. For the first time we can say that this is on NH that we will not go back to!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

we stayed in this hotel for 2 days & asked for a superior room. i use to go to nh hotels very frequent due to work and for pleasure as i trust in their standards.The room was clean and big. Toilet as 30 years ago style, no ventilation at all, shower not so clean (see my pictures attached). Summer 30 degrees & no air conditioning (adviced on the website, my decision, but sometimes things need to be improved) so had to open window and eventhough still dying during the night, which destroyed the feeling of being in a superior room.
I got sick on second night of saturday to sunday, wanted to drink a coke from my minibar of superior room to feel better and found it was completely empty!!(see my picture attached)! Furthermore got a call at 5 am by mistake from receptionist to wake me up (thank u) & at 08:30 the cleaners were nocking 2 times at room doors (mine included) saying please wake up!!! (this on a sunday & i checked at hotel book at room that check out was possible at 12am!!). Nevertheless employees at reception polite and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed only for one night. Rooms are brand new, at least in my room you could see that there were very recent renovations with new furniture and equipment. My room was facing the (busy) street so early in the morning you could hear car noises up and down the street. Did not have breakfast at the hotel but there is a bakery across the street as other reviewers recommended.
Parking is cheap and there is free wireless internet in the lobby. Make sure you don't go in hot days because there is not air conditioning, at leat in my room, bat the room was at good temperature when I arrived.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to NH Munchen City Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Munchen City Sud

Address: Ottobrunner Str. 17-19 | 81737 Munchen, D-81737 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly NH München Am Ring)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Munich
#17 Spa Hotel in Munich
#19 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Munchen City Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH München City Süd hotel is ideally located close to the Munich city center, offering easy access to the Exhibition Centre and International Munich Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your NH Munchen City Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Apartments Munchen Am Ring Hotel Munich
Nh Hotels Munich
Nh Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Munchen City Sud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.