We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for the Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Munich City

Save Saved
You added Hotel Munich City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Munich City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Schwanthalerstrasse 112-114, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Hotel Maria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #313 of 378 hotels in Munich
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
“Good Value for the Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We went there for a one night stay. The room was not large but newly renovated with a flat screen TV. People at the reception are friendly. Location is quite central, especially for the Oktoberfest / Theresienwiese is less than a 5-Minute walk away. The included breakfast was good.

Only negative thing which comes to my mind is that Wifi is expensive (8EUR/day)

All in all it was way better than I expected for only 55 EUR/night

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    27
    25
    15
    39
See reviews for
21
30
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just got back from a trip to Munich. I went with friends for the Christmas markets. Hotels location was really good. Breakfast was fine and covered the basics. Breakfast area is tiny and you find yourself being rushed a little. Also staff are busy so you can wait for coffee.
Reception and bar staff are pleasant but not that helpful and dont speak great English.
If you do book don't let them put you in the building behind the main building its not very nice and looks more like a hostal. Main buildings rooms are alot nicer and clean. They are small but have a tv, and nice enough and clean.
I am sure it was a one off but while there water did go and so we had none for 24 hours.
Its not awful but I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure your in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I recently stayed here on a business trip to Munich and although I requested a non smoking room when booking, I was put in a smoking room! The room was dirty, it stank, the bathroom was in dire need of a clean and re decoration. I travel alot and this is most definately the worst hotel I have stayed in...

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

When we booked the hotel we were told that 1) there was on-site parking 2) there was internet 3) we had a non-smoking room. None of this was true. In addition, the room was FILTHY, worse than any hotel I have stayed at in my life and I travel a lot - mold everywhere, stains on the carpet, stinks, sink and shower wouldn't drain, etc. They required payment before we went up to the room (should have been a big clue) we went down and asked for a new room, they said no. We asked for a refund, they said no. They were rude and condescending, we went back to the room and tried to make the best of it until I walked around the bed and my shoe stuck to a stain on the floor. We packed up and left, after 5 months we are still fighting with them through our credit card company - absolute nightmare and completely unprofessional. DO NOT STAY AT HOTEL MARIA MUNICH!

Room Tip: Rooms are filthy, they do not have internet access, they lie in their advertising, hotel is ugly, wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The photos for this hotel are so deceiving I wouldn't even rate this 1% if it was a hostel or motelit is that gross.
The only good points for us were it was lose to Oktoberfest and the lady at front desk was helpful and polite , it ends there !
The bathroom stank the floors were dirty the double bed wasn't a double just2 singles pushed together.
There was mould and rust in the bathrooms.
We paid just under 1000 euros to stay 3 nights and feel completely ripped off I would rather pay that money to stay in a nice hostel!
I'm sure there are plenty of other nicer places around use this as a last resort !
I read the reviews and thought people were being fussy that is defiantly not the case listen to all the prior reviews !

Room Tip: Just do not stay here full stop
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

While the hotel rooms were tidy and clean, the noise in and around the hotel was hard to ignore. People in the courtyard were partying late into the night, and work being done out on the street made that side of the hotel noisy. The hotel is conveniently located if you can sleep through the racket

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We are a travel agency in Genova and in November 2011 we booked 5 rooms for 2012 Oktoberfest.
The 50% deposit was due on August 5th (to be debited to our credit card) and the settlement at clients’ arrival at the hotel.
The group cancelled the reservation, but we forgot to advise the hotel before the deadline for the payment (a mistake of ours). As soon as we realized the mistake, we tried to get a reduction of the penalty and ask to know until when the penalty remained 50% (as not specified anywhere) in order to resell the rooms to somebody else.
Despite several phone calls, we were not able to get this piece of information. For weeks we have been trying to talk to the director or somebody else in English without success. They answered in German only and we had to translate in German (though the confirmation was written in English!)
When we decided to cancel the rooms as they never answered to this question, the surprise was that they debited the 90% of the total amount of the stay to our credit card. They informed us about it – in German – only after the debit was made.
We are not criticizing the first debit (even if normally hotels are more understanding) but the second one..
It is the first time in all our 30-year-experience that it happened to us. Really very unprofessional. A piece of advice: never give your credit card details to the Maria Hotel in Munich!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Munich City

Address: Schwanthalerstrasse 112-114, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Hotel Maria)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #313 of 378 hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Munich City 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Munich City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.