We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Basic but I would stay there for a cheap break!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Munich City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Munich City to your Saves list
Hotel Munich City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Schwanthalerstrasse 112-114, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Hotel Maria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #267 of 390 Hotels in Munich
essex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Basic but I would stay there for a cheap break!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just got back from a trip to Munich. I went with friends for the Christmas markets. Hotels location was really good. Breakfast was fine and covered the basics. Breakfast area is tiny and you find yourself being rushed a little. Also staff are busy so you can wait for coffee.
Reception and bar staff are pleasant but not that helpful and dont speak great English.
If you do book don't let them put you in the building behind the main building its not very nice and looks more like a hostal. Main buildings rooms are alot nicer and clean. They are small but have a tv, and nice enough and clean.
I am sure it was a one off but while there water did go and so we had none for 24 hours.
Its not awful but I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure your in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    42
    41
    23
    39
See reviews for
23
50
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I recently stayed here on a business trip to Munich and although I requested a non smoking room when booking, I was put in a smoking room! The room was dirty, it stank, the bathroom was in dire need of a clean and re decoration. I travel alot and this is most definately the worst hotel I have stayed in...

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

When we booked the hotel we were told that 1) there was on-site parking 2) there was internet 3) we had a non-smoking room. None of this was true. In addition, the room was FILTHY, worse than any hotel I have stayed at in my life and I travel a lot - mold everywhere, stains on the carpet, stinks, sink and shower wouldn't drain, etc. They required payment before we went up to the room (should have been a big clue) we went down and asked for a new room, they said no. We asked for a refund, they said no. They were rude and condescending, we went back to the room and tried to make the best of it until I walked around the bed and my shoe stuck to a stain on the floor. We packed up and left, after 5 months we are still fighting with them through our credit card company - absolute nightmare and completely unprofessional. DO NOT STAY AT HOTEL MARIA MUNICH!

Room Tip: Rooms are filthy, they do not have internet access, they lie in their advertising, hotel is ugly, wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The photos for this hotel are so deceiving I wouldn't even rate this 1% if it was a hostel or motelit is that gross.
The only good points for us were it was lose to Oktoberfest and the lady at front desk was helpful and polite , it ends there !
The bathroom stank the floors were dirty the double bed wasn't a double just2 singles pushed together.
There was mould and rust in the bathrooms.
We paid just under 1000 euros to stay 3 nights and feel completely ripped off I would rather pay that money to stay in a nice hostel!
I'm sure there are plenty of other nicer places around use this as a last resort !
I read the reviews and thought people were being fussy that is defiantly not the case listen to all the prior reviews !

Room Tip: Just do not stay here full stop
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

While the hotel rooms were tidy and clean, the noise in and around the hotel was hard to ignore. People in the courtyard were partying late into the night, and work being done out on the street made that side of the hotel noisy. The hotel is conveniently located if you can sleep through the racket

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We are a travel agency in Genova and in November 2011 we booked 5 rooms for 2012 Oktoberfest.
The 50% deposit was due on August 5th (to be debited to our credit card) and the settlement at clients’ arrival at the hotel.
The group cancelled the reservation, but we forgot to advise the hotel before the deadline for the payment (a mistake of ours). As soon as we realized the mistake, we tried to get a reduction of the penalty and ask to know until when the penalty remained 50% (as not specified anywhere) in order to resell the rooms to somebody else.
Despite several phone calls, we were not able to get this piece of information. For weeks we have been trying to talk to the director or somebody else in English without success. They answered in German only and we had to translate in German (though the confirmation was written in English!)
When we decided to cancel the rooms as they never answered to this question, the surprise was that they debited the 90% of the total amount of the stay to our credit card. They informed us about it – in German – only after the debit was made.
We are not criticizing the first debit (even if normally hotels are more understanding) but the second one..
It is the first time in all our 30-year-experience that it happened to us. Really very unprofessional. A piece of advice: never give your credit card details to the Maria Hotel in Munich!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Booked this hotel while on the road in route to Munich. First impression when arriving was a little disappointing since a lot of the entryway and hallways were under construction. However, we were more than impressed with our room which appeared to have already undergone construction. Very modern and clean. Morning construction noise made sleeping in a little tough but based on our completed room the hotel will be top notch once completed. Just a few growing pains. For the price we could handle the slight inconveniences. Excellent breakfast as well by the way.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Munich City

Address: Schwanthalerstrasse 112-114, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Hotel Maria)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Munich City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Munich City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.