We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Ever - do not stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Munich City

Save Saved
You added Hotel Munich City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Munich City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Schwanthalerstrasse 112-114, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Hotel Maria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #312 of 378 hotels in Munich
Spokane, Washington
1 review
“Worst Hotel Ever - do not stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

When we booked the hotel we were told that 1) there was on-site parking 2) there was internet 3) we had a non-smoking room. None of this was true. In addition, the room was FILTHY, worse than any hotel I have stayed at in my life and I travel a lot - mold everywhere, stains on the carpet, stinks, sink and shower wouldn't drain, etc. They required payment before we went up to the room (should have been a big clue) we went down and asked for a new room, they said no. We asked for a refund, they said no. They were rude and condescending, we went back to the room and tried to make the best of it until I walked around the bed and my shoe stuck to a stain on the floor. We packed up and left, after 5 months we are still fighting with them through our credit card company - absolute nightmare and completely unprofessional. DO NOT STAY AT HOTEL MARIA MUNICH!

Room Tip: Rooms are filthy, they do not have internet access, they lie in their advertising, hotel is ugly, wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    27
    23
    15
    39
See reviews for
20
30
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The photos for this hotel are so deceiving I wouldn't even rate this 1% if it was a hostel or motelit is that gross.
The only good points for us were it was lose to Oktoberfest and the lady at front desk was helpful and polite , it ends there !
The bathroom stank the floors were dirty the double bed wasn't a double just2 singles pushed together.
There was mould and rust in the bathrooms.
We paid just under 1000 euros to stay 3 nights and feel completely ripped off I would rather pay that money to stay in a nice hostel!
I'm sure there are plenty of other nicer places around use this as a last resort !
I read the reviews and thought people were being fussy that is defiantly not the case listen to all the prior reviews !

Room Tip: Just do not stay here full stop
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

While the hotel rooms were tidy and clean, the noise in and around the hotel was hard to ignore. People in the courtyard were partying late into the night, and work being done out on the street made that side of the hotel noisy. The hotel is conveniently located if you can sleep through the racket

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We are a travel agency in Genova and in November 2011 we booked 5 rooms for 2012 Oktoberfest.
The 50% deposit was due on August 5th (to be debited to our credit card) and the settlement at clients’ arrival at the hotel.
The group cancelled the reservation, but we forgot to advise the hotel before the deadline for the payment (a mistake of ours). As soon as we realized the mistake, we tried to get a reduction of the penalty and ask to know until when the penalty remained 50% (as not specified anywhere) in order to resell the rooms to somebody else.
Despite several phone calls, we were not able to get this piece of information. For weeks we have been trying to talk to the director or somebody else in English without success. They answered in German only and we had to translate in German (though the confirmation was written in English!)
When we decided to cancel the rooms as they never answered to this question, the surprise was that they debited the 90% of the total amount of the stay to our credit card. They informed us about it – in German – only after the debit was made.
We are not criticizing the first debit (even if normally hotels are more understanding) but the second one..
It is the first time in all our 30-year-experience that it happened to us. Really very unprofessional. A piece of advice: never give your credit card details to the Maria Hotel in Munich!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Booked this hotel while on the road in route to Munich. First impression when arriving was a little disappointing since a lot of the entryway and hallways were under construction. However, we were more than impressed with our room which appeared to have already undergone construction. Very modern and clean. Morning construction noise made sleeping in a little tough but based on our completed room the hotel will be top notch once completed. Just a few growing pains. For the price we could handle the slight inconveniences. Excellent breakfast as well by the way.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We should say that we booked this hotel through hotwire.com but we don't know how much this affected the price.

The hotel was simply not nice as it was under construction; no carpets (just concrete) in the hall ways, construction noise during the day and our room didn't feel finished. Room looked stylish, but didn't appear well put together (a bit fell off the toilet doorway).

The breakfast was nice and did bacon and egg :-)

"central location" is cheeky as we used the tube to get into the centre (though only a couple of stops)

Also it was just too expensive.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulskaya, Rf
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Looks like this hotel is still under construction, that's why it's so cheap. Design in rooms is really stylish and good-looking, but outside the room there is no floors, ceilings and walls. Receptionists are friendly. Breakfast is horrible (as usually in hotels). Location too far away from the center, but there is subway station at the doorstep. And the worst thing there was always a problem with hot water! In was going on and off every minute, then it was too hot and next second it was freezing. I was torture to take a shower in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Munich City

Address: Schwanthalerstrasse 112-114, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Hotel Maria)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 378 hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Munich City 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Munich City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.