We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNPROFESSIONAL !!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Munich City

Save Saved
You added Hotel Munich City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Munich City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Schwanthalerstrasse 112-114, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Hotel Maria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #320 of 383 hotels in Munich
Genoa, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“UNPROFESSIONAL !!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We are a travel agency in Genova and in November 2011 we booked 5 rooms for 2012 Oktoberfest.
The 50% deposit was due on August 5th (to be debited to our credit card) and the settlement at clients’ arrival at the hotel.
The group cancelled the reservation, but we forgot to advise the hotel before the deadline for the payment (a mistake of ours). As soon as we realized the mistake, we tried to get a reduction of the penalty and ask to know until when the penalty remained 50% (as not specified anywhere) in order to resell the rooms to somebody else.
Despite several phone calls, we were not able to get this piece of information. For weeks we have been trying to talk to the director or somebody else in English without success. They answered in German only and we had to translate in German (though the confirmation was written in English!)
When we decided to cancel the rooms as they never answered to this question, the surprise was that they debited the 90% of the total amount of the stay to our credit card. They informed us about it – in German – only after the debit was made.
We are not criticizing the first debit (even if normally hotels are more understanding) but the second one..
It is the first time in all our 30-year-experience that it happened to us. Really very unprofessional. A piece of advice: never give your credit card details to the Maria Hotel in Munich!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    26
    23
    15
    39
See reviews for
20
30
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Booked this hotel while on the road in route to Munich. First impression when arriving was a little disappointing since a lot of the entryway and hallways were under construction. However, we were more than impressed with our room which appeared to have already undergone construction. Very modern and clean. Morning construction noise made sleeping in a little tough but based on our completed room the hotel will be top notch once completed. Just a few growing pains. For the price we could handle the slight inconveniences. Excellent breakfast as well by the way.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We should say that we booked this hotel through hotwire.com but we don't know how much this affected the price.

The hotel was simply not nice as it was under construction; no carpets (just concrete) in the hall ways, construction noise during the day and our room didn't feel finished. Room looked stylish, but didn't appear well put together (a bit fell off the toilet doorway).

The breakfast was nice and did bacon and egg :-)

"central location" is cheeky as we used the tube to get into the centre (though only a couple of stops)

Also it was just too expensive.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulskaya, Rf
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Looks like this hotel is still under construction, that's why it's so cheap. Design in rooms is really stylish and good-looking, but outside the room there is no floors, ceilings and walls. Receptionists are friendly. Breakfast is horrible (as usually in hotels). Location too far away from the center, but there is subway station at the doorstep. And the worst thing there was always a problem with hot water! In was going on and off every minute, then it was too hot and next second it was freezing. I was torture to take a shower in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, our worst two nights ever. we booked a triple room and ended up having a room in a pigsty, disgusting walls and floors. We complained as the room was beyond disgusting and wifi signal still wouldnt reach there. we got another room, stupidly they gave us a double room and just stuck a pull up single bed! so we was all squashed in that room. even then wifi signal kept dropping out- for which we had to pay extra for!

i will never go to this hotel again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hotel is currently undergoing a well needed refurbishment. The rooms are small but new and the hallways were being re-carpeted during our visit.

Pro: The breakfast was great. There is a great selection for those who like a typical European breakfast of bread, cheese and meat to a more American style meal of eggs, bacon and cereal. This breakfast caters to all. The staff we experienced were helpful but the breakfast lady can get a bit testy if you don't know your room number so be warned. The rooms were small but clean and they had a flat screen TV and a small fridge.

Cons: Whenever you are living in a construction site it takes away from the magic of traveling but this is a minor complaint. The WiFi is expensive and it only allows one device to surf at a time which was a but annoying because we were using the internet to solve a ticketing issue and we couldn't figure out why that we had to login repeatedly to get access. The hotel is a bit of a slog from the train station, we walked it the pouring rain and it took about ten minutes. The water pressure in the showers is a bit off, it's like standing in a rain shower, but again this is a minor complaint.

When they finish this property it could be a great value for money gem. Make sure that you compare other properties around this price point and check the recent reviews to see what happens next.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room, the old ones are terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovey, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The walls were stained and the paint and plaster were peeling. The wood trim was falling apart. There was a hole in the bathroom where the pipes and insulation were exposed. There was mold growing in the shower area. The furniture and carpet was filthy and cheap. The lighting was horrible. The stairway appeared to be leaning to one side. There was broken down furniture under the stairwell. We paid a ridiculous price for a "quadruple" room because we were traveling with three people and there were no "triples" left, but the "quad" just meant two singles with a sofa bed. They did not have the sofa bed made up when we got there and it took about two hours for them to show up with the sheets, etc., which they then dropped on the filthy floor while they made up the bed. The only good things about the hotel were that the desk clerk spoke English very well, the breakfast was good, and the lounge area looked pleasant. I would never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Munich City

Address: Schwanthalerstrasse 112-114, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Hotel Maria)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #320 of 383 hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Munich City 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Munich City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.