We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz to your Saves list
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Goethestrasse 26 | 80336 Munich, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #277 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant surprise for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We went to Munich for work and funds were tight, so we just wanted some rooms near the Central Station that were basic, clean and had their own bathrooms.

The Hotel Schweiz is located on a slightly dodgy-looking street, about 5 minutes' walk from the station. We checked in at 1am though, and most streets look dodgy at that time of night. The first impression was that lobby smelt strangely of fish. This was really the only negative point though.

The single rooms here were tiny (not a surprise - the photos on the website accurately illustrated this) but very well designed. They had a desk, wardrobe, TV, shelf to put your suitcase, convenient sockets to plug your phone in on the bedside table, and a small but immaculate bathroom with a good, powerful shower. Exactly what you need really.

Wifi was €1 per hour, or €5 for 5 days. No-brainer really. The signal strength was fairly weak in our part of the hotel, and it was quite slow, but good enough for checking email etc.

I didn't notice any street noise at night, but the walls to the corridors are quite thin so you could potentially be woken by other guests.

The reception staff and cleaners we spoke to were friendly and helpful, and all spoke English.

It's definitely not luxurious, but for the price, location and cleanliness, I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    54
    64
    10
    8
See reviews for
8
47
25
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hotel frontage was ok but disappointed the snow had not been cleared from front of door. Check in okay but was very surprised when asked for payment at check in coz they were busy!
Hotel and room very basic and very tired, our room was opposite a communal WC in corridor, in which someone was obviously smoking, a real no no for us.
Room situated directly above a grocers which opened until 8pm so very noisy. .Bathroom extremely small and not the most clean, poor water pressure;
Extra pillow delivered to room which was a plus;
No kettle in room; breakfast not provided.
The most expensive hotel we stayed in by far in turkey, romania, austria and germany. .WOULD NOT RECOMMEND NOR RETURN

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Room was tiny, but I booked a single, so thats why. It was clean, and so was the bathroom, so I can't complain. Located by the central train station (Hauptbanhof), its very convenient. The neighborhood, while not the most savory (its the red light district), is pretty safe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just returned from my second stay at this hotel. Stayed back in January this year before the new change in management. Standards haven't slipped at all. I had a single room which although small was sufficient. The bathroom appeared to have been renovated and was done nicely....exceptionally clean. I didn't take the breakfast but it was cheap at around 6euros. The location is mentioned as being in the red-light district., don't let that put you off. Its as safe and any area in Munich and nothing is obvious....to be honest i felt safer walking to the hotel late than i do in many of the "good" areas in London.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

11.10.2012 . I went to München. My hotel was " Schweiz Hotel Münich ". Firstly you think it is a small, and dirty " station "hotel. But no ! . İt is small but you can find everything. Reception is good. You can find lots of brochurs about München at lobby. They have put a small table for tea or some hot drinks. Lift is enough big as don't expect with the hotel's seems. The room is for the sngle person so alittle bit small but clean and you can have everything. Hair dry machine, extra handkerchief in toilette, lcd tv ,studying table, inspite of the smallness one light is near the bed, and one light on the table, one gardrobe, and one big mirror, very good duche, 2 functionned window, and clean lits and beds.
The negative sides are breakfast must be included in this price because according to me breakfast is very important. And the tv could be more channel( for example I am Turkish but there isnt any turkish channel.
I can advice you easily this hotel if you dont want pay much. Very good location also, I must say this. Restaurants, gar( train station), telephone shops, sex shops, and very close to center of city, MARİENPLATZ ( very good ,big stores,restaurant,beer houses etc. )

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

A normal hotel. Good, clean, excellent location. No wifi, 2 euros por 24/h. Excellent, EXCELLENT breakfast! Not so expensive (7 euros)-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

For tourists visiting from North America, this is like the Days Inn of Germany. Here are some +'s and -'s:

Pluses:
-Location: The major plus to this hotel is it's location. We were primarily in Munich for Oktoberfest which was only a 10 minute walk from the hotel and only 5-8 minutes from the main train station. Very convenient!
-Friendly staff: The staff was friendly and helpful
-Snacks/drinks at reception for reasonable prices: The room didn't have a mini-fridge but we were able to buy drinks/snacks at reasonable prices from the reception downstairs.
-Bed was very comfortable

Minuses
-The hotel in general is outdated and drab.
-The floors were dirty in the hallways and areas outside of the elevators
-The rooms/bathrooms were tight.
-The shower was annoying too - the showerhead shot water out from the sides which meant that the floor got soaked since the shower wasn't enclosed by anything other than a curtain and it was impossible to shave my legs.
-The walls are really thin so we could hear everything around us.
-Had to pay for wifi - granted it was cheap, but this was the only hotel during our entire 20 day vacation that didn't have free wifi.

If we were to return for Oktoberfest, I'd considering staying again due to it's location, but otherwise, I'd stay elsewhere in Munich.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz

Address: Goethestrasse 26 | 80336 Munich, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner-run, 3-star Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz is a great "home base" for local and international guests in Munich. The hotel is situated in the center of the Bavarian capital, just a few minutes from the main railway station, and is within easy walking distance of all the major attractions such as the Hofbrauhaus, Marienplatz, Residenz and Pinakotheken, as well as the most popular shopping destinations in Munich's pedestrian area. Business travelers will be pleased to know that there is a direct subway connection to the new Munich exhibition center. The S-Bahn metro to the airport operates 24 hours per day from the central railway station. Our hotel offers everything you need for a pleasant stay in Munich. A hearty breakfast on our large roof terrace with its view over the city makes for a perfect start to the day. And our infrared sauna on the 6th floor provides excellent relaxation in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweiz Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.