We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Oktoberfest, but that's about it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz to your Saves list
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Goethestrasse 26 | 80336 Munich, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #262 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great location for Oktoberfest, but that's about it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

For tourists visiting from North America, this is like the Days Inn of Germany. Here are some +'s and -'s:

Pluses:
-Location: The major plus to this hotel is it's location. We were primarily in Munich for Oktoberfest which was only a 10 minute walk from the hotel and only 5-8 minutes from the main train station. Very convenient!
-Friendly staff: The staff was friendly and helpful
-Snacks/drinks at reception for reasonable prices: The room didn't have a mini-fridge but we were able to buy drinks/snacks at reasonable prices from the reception downstairs.
-Bed was very comfortable

Minuses
-The hotel in general is outdated and drab.
-The floors were dirty in the hallways and areas outside of the elevators
-The rooms/bathrooms were tight.
-The shower was annoying too - the showerhead shot water out from the sides which meant that the floor got soaked since the shower wasn't enclosed by anything other than a curtain and it was impossible to shave my legs.
-The walls are really thin so we could hear everything around us.
-Had to pay for wifi - granted it was cheap, but this was the only hotel during our entire 20 day vacation that didn't have free wifi.

If we were to return for Oktoberfest, I'd considering staying again due to it's location, but otherwise, I'd stay elsewhere in Munich.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    54
    63
    10
    7
See reviews for
8
45
25
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Hotel Schweiz. The staff was friendly, nice, helpful, and spoke English. We were a 5 minute walk from the train station and 15 minutes from the center of town. For some reason the hotel cost was very high (and for August although the city was quiet, there were very few hotel rooms available when I was trying to book online a few months in advance). I question whether or not I got ripped off by Expedia, I would next time contact the hotel directly. Breakfast was not included, but for 6.50 Euros it was worth it (eggs, weisswurst, bread, cereal, pastries, etc. and the coffee was very good). There is a nice enclosed roof terrace where they serve breakfast. The room was nice and clean. The bed was comfortable and the shower had great water pressure. There was a charge for Wifi, however I think it was no more than 2 euros a day. The area surrounding the hotel looks seedy (casinos and strip clubs) but actually felt quite safe. I heard from many people that Munich is overall a very safe city and the area by the train station is no exception. I would not have felt comfortable walking around by myself, but if accompanied it is just fine, even at night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Carlos, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Good place and it's not expensive. Quiet and confortable as well. Much better than any hostel if you want a peaceful vacation. The best is the location at the central starion neighbourhood. I recomend this place for family, busyness guys or if you are just passing in München.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed here for three nights after three weeks on the road. It was a nice change but not great value for money. A twin room was 80 Eur which was a little steep for what we got. Bathroom fantastic, nice big shower with tub but not great water pressure. And the NOISE. We were on the second floor and could hear pin drops down the street. The hotel is in an area where people like to linger in the streets and we could hear full conversations all night long...and ambulance sirens. I would stay again in a heartbeat but would prefer to pay a little less to feel real value for money. Staff were fantastic, very helpful and knowledgeable. Hotel is a 5 min walk from the train station, very very convenient.

TIP: Pay the 6.50 for the breakfast. It was delicious, varied and the roof is pretty.

Room Tip: Higher floor = better sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Location is good. very near the train station. The hotel is a little be old than I imanged. But the room is clean, the size ok. But they don't provide free wifi in the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

If you are looking for an affordable place to lay your head down at night and not looking for anything fancy, this hotel does the trick. It's basic and is quite small and older but is in a great central location if you're looking to explore Munich for the day.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. It was very clean, nice staff, and super close to the main rail station. No A/C but seemed typical for this area in Germany. Highly recommend to those who just need a place to come back to at the end of the day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz

Address: Goethestrasse 26 | 80336 Munich, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner-run, 3-star Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz is a great "home base" for local and international guests in Munich. The hotel is situated in the center of the Bavarian capital, just a few minutes from the main railway station, and is within easy walking distance of all the major attractions such as the Hofbrauhaus, Marienplatz, Residenz and Pinakotheken, as well as the most popular shopping destinations in Munich's pedestrian area. Business travelers will be pleased to know that there is a direct subway connection to the new Munich exhibition center. The S-Bahn metro to the airport operates 24 hours per day from the central railway station. Our hotel offers everything you need for a pleasant stay in Munich. A hearty breakfast on our large roof terrace with its view over the city makes for a perfect start to the day. And our infrared sauna on the 6th floor provides excellent relaxation in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweiz Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.