We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place- near it all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of H'Otello B'01

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added H'Otello B'01 to your Saves list
H'Otello B'01
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baader Strasse 1, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Northampton, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice place- near it all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed 4 nights at this hotel during the Oktoberfest. The staff were great, the room- small by American standards- but just fine, with a balcony! I didn't try the breakfast, as the Viktuelenmarkt is a 5 minte walk away- and that's what is great about this hotel! You can walk to the Viktuelenmarkt for a meal, continue on another 2 mintes and watch the Glockenspiel at Marienplatz, or hop on the S Bahn two blocks away at Isartor which can bring you out to the airport. Very convenient.

* tip on getting to the Hotel from airport- buy the Isar day ticket for 11 euros at the airport- this gives you access to the whole transit system for the entire day as opposed to 10 euros for just a simple ticket to the hotel. Then take line S8 all the way to Isartur

Room Tip: I would go for a high floor as there is a tram in front of the hotel which can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOtello M, Manager at H'Otello B'01, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment on this website.

The H´Otello Advocat B01 is well located in the city, close to the Isar Tor and not fare
from the traditionally Wies´n. During Oktoberfest we did not make a special offer for
all guests this time because a construction beside from last year finished.

Dear Trip Advisor user, thank you for your comment and especially your time that it took
to post it here. My team and I would be glad, to show you our real quality, if
you would join us once again. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you next
year again in Munich.

Kind regards

Niels Fink
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    41
    22
    11
    8
See reviews for
10
37
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located near the old center (Altstadt) of Munich. We stayed for one night with family of 5 on our way from Italy to Holland. What a pleasant place! We booked the appartement on the 7th floor. Two bedrooms, one bathroom, one small kitchenette and a livingroom with flatscreen TV. There is a parking garage just opposite the hotel where you can park your car for 18 euro's per 24 hr. The appartement was just what we needed after a long trip by car. The rooms were clean and beds were excellent. Nicely decorated with design furniture and pictures. Beware of some streetnoise, since the hotel is located at a busy street. From the hotel, the city center is just a 10 minute walk. Go to Marienplatz, have a beer in one of the famous Brauhauser and do not miss wurst and other local German specialties in one of the many restaurants. The breakfast in Advokat was a delicious buffet with fresh fruits, cheeses, breads and fine meet. The staff is very friendly and nice. We would highly recommend this hotel, not only for a stopover but also for a stay of a few days to explore all the nice features of Munich.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOtello M, Manager at H'Otello B'01, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor user,

thank you very much for your comment on this website and the positive rating of our hotel, regarding the rooms, breakfast and staff. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in our H´Otello B´01 that much and that we could do our part to make your stay that comfortable. So you could savor all the wonderful things in Munich nearby the Hotel that you wrote about.

Especially that you mentioned my staff and their services and behavior in such a positive way make me feel proud of my team. They try every day their best not just to fulfill our guests needs but to exceed them. Be sure I will forward your comment to them in order to give them a guests feedback regarding their well done work.

Dear Trip Advisor user, thank you again for these lines and the time that it took you to publish them here on this website. My team and I would be glad to welcome you again at H´Otello and wish you a nice time till then.

Kind regards

Tobias Kretzschmar
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed five days at this hotel. The location is great as you are close to Gaertnerplatz, Viktualienmarkt and minutes away from the city center. But buildings in the back are being rebuilt and the noise starts before 7am, further you can here your neighbors very well... I would not recommend staying here until the works are over. The double room is really small!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOtello M, Manager at H'Otello B'01, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor user,

thank you for your comment on this website. At first, I want to apologize for any inconvenience that were caused by the workers in the buildings in the neighborhood. We are in close contact with the construction manager to avoid any noise in the morning time. With some companies it works very well – with others not so good, and I want to apologize for that point once again. Unfortunately we have no chance to prevent this noise by any law. So we have to trust in the goodwill of the workers.

I am glad to read, that you do recommend the hotel for the future and give such a positive evaluation regarding cleanliness, place, and service. My team and I would be glad, if we could welcome you again at our H´Otello B´01 in Munich.

Kind regards

Tobias Kretzschmar
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Having arrived in Munich at about 4pm on the Thursday before Good Friday and not having anywhere booked, we really were quit lucky to find H'Otello. The reception staff were very helpful, and quite chatty, and gave us a very good two night deal (80EUR a night). The building itself has recently been refurbished, and we enjoyed a very comfortable room with a large opening window. The best aspect of H'Otello would have to be the breakfast. Served in the modern restaurant downstairs, there was a wide selection of food, and a very attentive waitress.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Leiter Gästebetreuung at H'Otello B'01, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor User,

thank you for staying with us at H´Otello Advokat B´01. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and used this platform to let us know.
We will hand over the compliments to our staff and use it as further incentive to our service as the key components of the hotel is not only the continuous renovation of the building or our homemade breakfast but more importantly the friendly and charming staff.
Once again thank you very much for taking the time to write down your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Munich!

kind regards

Peter Feldchen
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We come to Munich at least once or twice a year every year. This used to be our favourite place to stay because it was a simple 3 star hotel which went the extra distance (good service, free minibar, great free breakfast). Now, it is a simple 3 star hotel which charges higher prices than it used to when it was actually a nice place to stay. It seems like the "H'Otello" (weird name) chain takeover has been a cynical exercise in exploiting the goodwill that this place has built up over the years. I would happily have stayed here every time I came to Munich but I feel so put out by the fact that breakfast is now EUR15 pp that I will be looking for somewhere else next time.

What your are left with under the "H'Otello" version are tiny rooms with creepy photos on the wall, no A/C, a convenient but not lovely location and access to a EUR15 pp buffet breakfast..

Not only did I previously look forward to staying here, I also recommended it widely to friends. Both will now stop.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOtello M, Manager at H'Otello B'01, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor User,

thank you for your comment on tripadvior.de. I am sorry that you feel so negative about your stay in the H´Otello B01. I can assure you that we try to satisfy every guests needs especially those of the guests who stayed at this place before our company took over the hotel. In order not to have such a big break, we nearly didn´t change anything regarding the rooms including the pictures at the walls. They were there when we took over and a lot of the guests asked us not to remove them even when the renewing will take place. The size of the rooms has not changed either since our company started running the old “Hotel Advokat”.

I apologize for the fact, that nobody informed you about the new structure of the price and the fact that breakfast is no longer included. We will use this example to improve our internal procedures regarding reservation in order to satisfy every guests needs. I am sorry that you made your decision not to join us again but I can assure you again that we do our best to give all our guest the feeling of a “home away from home”.

Kind regards

Tobias Kretzschmar
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This is a great little hotel, once you find it. Prior to staying here I had read a review that mentioned a confusing route from the S Bahn station. It's true. Other that that simple detail, it truly was a nice place to stay. The rooms were small but very clean. The staff was incredibly helpful and nice. They all spoke English very well. The breakfast was a nice continental style breakfast with a selection of breads, cereals, cheeses, sausages, and fruit. It is within a quick 10 minute walk of the Mariezplatz, which is the main shopping/tourist square. It is right around the corner from the S Bahn station, a tram stop, and probably a bus stop. The public transportation system is incredible, and you can get anywhere in Munich using it. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Directions from the S Bahn:
Get off the S Bahn at the Isortor stop. When you get off the train there will be two exits to the station. Walk towards the exit that is marked for the German Museums. At the top of the escalators, walk towards the street. Once you come out onto the street, you should be facing a McDonalds. Turn right and walk half way down the block to the crosswalk ( about 100 feet) Cross the street so that you are now on the same side as the McDonalds. Turn right and continue to the corner, away from McDonalds, and turn left. There will be some kind of ATM machine on the building wall as turn the corner. Stay on the left hand side of the street. About a block down, ( short block), you will come to a Y. Stay on the sidewalk on the left and follow this around the curve. This becomes Baaderstrasse. The hotel is #1 Baaderstrasse. The Hotel Advokat is immediately on your left. Across the street is a much larger hotel, the Hotel Isortor. Hotel Advokat is directly across from Hotel Isortor. So if you walk past that hotel, you have walked past the Hotel Advokat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to H'Otello B'01? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H'Otello B'01

Address: Baader Strasse 1, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — H'Otello B'01 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your H'Otello B'01 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h`Otello Advokat b`01 Hotel Munich
Advokat Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H'Otello B'01, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.