We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meier City Munchen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Meier City Munchen Hotel to your Saves list
Meier City Munchen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schutzenstrasse 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lancashire, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Booked this hotel for Oktoberfest and the location could not be much better. A minute or so walk from the train station and 15 minute stroll from the festivites.

Room was spacious, shower and bathroom excellent. Triple room was two singles and a chair bed, the chair bed was actually quite comfortable.

Breakfast was so-so and managed to fill you up for the day. The free wi-fi was a little patchy in the rooms but we were hardly in there.

I would definitely stay here again next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    89
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
39
49
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is very well located, just 2 min from the train station and Karlplatz. Breakfast is good. The zone is a little noisy but ok. Rooms are ok, carpets need improvement. They have wifi, but the signal was not good. It is a 3 star hotel with great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The is a great little find right in the heart of the city and a stones throw from the main station. We stayed here for the Oktober fest which was within easy walking distance. Public transport is close by as are the main shopping areas. Don't be put off by the size of the entrance and reception areas as the hotel is comfortable enough. Staff speak good english and were very polite (they even arranged flowers for my wifes birthday). We would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We booked this hotel as a base for exploring Munich while travelling through Europe.
The room was quite small, and the 3rd bed for our daughter was a converted armchair.
Bathroom is small but clean, modern and functional.
Access with a car is quite difficult, as the hotel is in a pedestrian only street. The closest parking station is under a department store close to the hotel, and we had to bring our luggage through the store, into the street and to the hotel.
The receptionist offered parking at a discounted rate in a car park garage about 10 minutes walk away.
Overall, the location is fine, just a few minutes walk to the Central Station and city center.
The included breakfast is excellent!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for two nights to see the city and to recover from jet lag before we continued to Zurich.
We arrived by train from the airport and were pleasantly surprised to find the hotel a few steps from the station. It was located on a promenade which was nice, no cars!
We were greeted warmly. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The bathroom was clean, good shower.
Breakfast was a real treat! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as the front rooms do face a plaza which could be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed here for a night on a work trip in early 2013. The service is friendly, the room was clean and the breakfast buffet was good. Be careful though - there are "smoking" floors (I think they're the top two or three of the six floors - they're marked on the buttons in the lift) where guests are allowed to smoke in the room. As a non-smoker I'm usually very sensitive to smoke, but I barely noticed it, however the room had been well-aired (translation: the window was open and it was freezing cold when I first when in). Other colleagues noticed it a lot more in their rooms.
It's two minutes from the central station, and I'd recommend it for work travel.

Room Tip: If you're a non-smoker, make sure you ask for a non-smoking room, otherwise you may get a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We chose this hotel due to its price vs location. Pricey, but the cheapest hotel we found in proximity to the Marianplazt (of course it it in downtown Munich). Small room with three single beds for me, my wife and son, with a couple of feet in between beds. Bathroom and shower stall were big enough. Front desk girls spoke English and were helpful with area directions. Breakfast was included and was good. No lounge area. Small elevator.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meier City Munchen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meier City Munchen Hotel

Address: Schutzenstrasse 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Meier City Munchen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Meier City Munchen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meier City Munchen Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meier City Munchen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.