We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing exceptional.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Meier City Munchen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Meier City Munchen Hotel to your Saves list
Meier City Munchen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schutzenstrasse 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nothing exceptional.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

PROS
Location - Munich main station is a few steps nearby.
A shopping mall (Kardstat) is nearby.
Large rooms for European standards.
Breakfast was good and was refilled right away when selections run out.
Staff is helpful. The one overseeing the breakfast, most especially.
Starbucks is nearby.

CONS
Housekeeping consistently "forgets" to clean the bathroom (Of the 5 nights we stayed, room was cleaned everyday, but bathroom only cleaned for the first three nights. Weird, if you ask me.)

Overall, it is location that you pay for, and is easily its best feature.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    80
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
37
45
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is perfectly placed for Munich main station. As a business traveller the room has everything you could want – a small desk area but nicely planned with 3 sockets in convenient access! In other words, no scrambling under tables necessary!

In addition the room is spotlessly clean, telephone available for those who need It, with a minibar and safe. I also appreciate that the wardrobe is open, which means you don’t run the risk of forgetting your shirt in the morning.

The area is also close to major shopping plus a Starbucks next door (very important for me!).
My positive experience is topped off by included and reliable WLAN access, a pleasant and efficient reception, which is around 24x7 and the price for the room was very reasonable.
For a business traveller needing the essentials in a very convenient location this hotel is ideal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed there for three nights last week and I am very happy with the choice I made by reading tens of comments on Trip Advisor. The hotel is a 3-4 minutes walk away from Hauptbanhof, where all means of transport from the airport stop and it is at the beginning of the main shopping area, sort of incorporated in the huge Karstadt store. I was travelling with my daughter and we couldn't think of a better location.It is so central that there was no problem coming back to leave shopping bags. We stayed on the 6th floor, as my daughter is a smoker, but even there you couldn't feel any cigarette smell. The room was quite large and everything was spotless. It was looking on to a back yard and it was very quiet. The breakfast was very good too and you can find plenty for all kinds of diets. The only drawback was that we couldn't find any tv channels in English, but then we didn't actually have time to watch tv. Next to the breakfast room there is a computer with free internet, available non stop.
The area is safe even for two women travelling by themselves, but we weren't out after 10pm as we were too tired from walking all day long.We would definitely stay there again, as for the price we paid we didn't expect anything luxurious, but a good, clean comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in September and enjoyed this hotel. The staff were friendly and hepful. The location is perfect, close to Hauptbanhof and a 5-10 minute walk to Marienplatz. The Altstadt is beautiful and walkable and this hotel is perfectly placed to explore it. There is good shopping and restaurants nearby. The room was not big, but was clean and comfortable. The breakfast is really good with excellent variety.
We could not access the wi fi from our room and had to go to the computer room on the first floor. There is no air con and it was quite warm when we were there. It can be a bit noisy particularly with early morning rubbish collection on the street. Overall it was very good value and in a great location.

Room Tip: rooms away from the street would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed here for two days with my two sons aged 12 and 16. We found the hotel to be very good, in fact way better in reality than it appeared on the internet! Room was fine for three with good bathroom. Breakfast was good quality and pleasantly served. Location was excellent - on a relatively quiet pedestrianised street literally 2 minutes from Hauptbahnhof and steps from trams and underground. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were here for 3 nights. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. like everyone else has stated there is nothing outstanding about it. the rooms were clean but the beds and out side noise at 3 am make it hard to sleep. There is no a/c or courtyard as claimed and what they have as a "lift" is hardly that. But it is close to the plaza and train station which was important to us. That said I would return only if I could get a room off the street or could not find a quiter hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Disappointed in this hotel. There was no air in the room so we had to sleep with the windows open. It was SO loud. We couldn't sleep well as sirens went off every 10 minutes. The hotel staff spoke a little English but weren't that friendly or helpful as far as being a tourist. The wifi is not free. In order to access the "free wifi" you have to pay something like $8 to join their network (or something like that). The breakfast was great and location great as far as one block away from the train station. I would not stay here again but it may work for some people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meier City Munchen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meier City Munchen Hotel

Address: Schutzenstrasse 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Meier City Munchen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Meier City Munchen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meier City Munchen Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meier City Munchen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.