We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Meier City Munchen Hotel

Save Saved
You added Meier City Munchen Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Meier City Munchen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schutzenstrasse 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 383 hotels in Munich
Chica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were here for 3 nights. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. like everyone else has stated there is nothing outstanding about it. the rooms were clean but the beds and out side noise at 3 am make it hard to sleep. There is no a/c or courtyard as claimed and what they have as a "lift" is hardly that. But it is close to the plaza and train station which was important to us. That said I would return only if I could get a room off the street or could not find a quiter hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    76
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
40
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Disappointed in this hotel. There was no air in the room so we had to sleep with the windows open. It was SO loud. We couldn't sleep well as sirens went off every 10 minutes. The hotel staff spoke a little English but weren't that friendly or helpful as far as being a tourist. The wifi is not free. In order to access the "free wifi" you have to pay something like $8 to join their network (or something like that). The breakfast was great and location great as far as one block away from the train station. I would not stay here again but it may work for some people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had a wonderful 3 days here! The location was great (located very near the main train station). The breakfast (included in the price) was wonderful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. (As with all European hotels - the rooms are on the small size.) The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalre, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Meier City hotel during a recent weekend trip to Munich. This is a decent, average quality city center hotel: acceptable, decent size rooms with somewhat outdated furniture (beds may be hard to some people's taste), OK breakfast room with decent food choice (but failing replenishment during the last hour), no lounge area, marginal guest internet desk without printer (room Wifi did not connect). Best thing about this hotel is its location, 2 minutes walk from Hauptbahnhof and only 5-10 minutes in opposite direction to downtown shopping streets and most Altstadt attractions.
Make sure however to make a reservation for a room away from the street! We selected this hotel based on the fact that Meier is located in a pedestrian area, away from traffic noise. So expecting not too much outside disturbance we accepted a frontside room. Because the hotel lacks a fresh air or air-conditioning system, we went to sleep with windows open. Did we know that only a few doors away there is a club with a young crowd partying and shouting in the street until 3 AM? After a disaster first night we were easily relocated to the much quieter rear of the building. But also here a word of caution: the courtyard has been filled up with hotel additions, any sound coming out of those rooms' windows echoes up in the narrow courtyard area. Corrective shouting helped to quiet down some late night guests continuing their beer garden party in their rooms. Staff is generally helpful and friendly, apologetic about some of the less positive aspects of our stay. A box of chocolates was handed upon our departure as a token of good will.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

They say that the wifi is free, but is not quite true. Only for a few minutes in a private hot-spot of a German telecom company. After that, you must pay for it. I asked the reception and they told me that it was free, but they couldn't manage to show me how (they were not quite helpful).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had reserved and confirmed 2 nights for 6 people (2 rooms). When we arrived, fresh off the plane from the US and exhausted, we were told there was a mistake, the hotel was full, but they had reserved rooms for us at another equivalent hotel close by. We dragged our luggage through the streets, an unusually hot day, 15 minutes away to the other hotel only to be told we could only have one night there. We asked them to call Meier City and tell them this was an unacceptable alternative. We were told to return to Meier City, and were given our rooms as reserved. There was no explanation as to why our reservations were initially cancelled, why we were only given 1 night at the other hotel, or why our rooms suddenly were available after all. There were no apologies, though we were given chocolates as a way of making up for the inconvenience. Once we got our rooms, the rest of our stay was pleasant and uneventful and the hotel very satisfactory, but based on our initial reception I would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Location is the best you can get, as the Karlzplatz is 100 m away from the left, while the central Hauptbahnhof is 100 m on the right, which is ideal for daily trips out of Munchen(Salzburg, Dachau and others).
Rooms were clean and of average size, the breakfast was very good, as there are many things to select from, and you can even have your own type of eggs to be made.

The center is just 7 minutes walking and the hotel has many places to eat from just footsteps away.

I didn't notice if there was an AC in the room, as we didn't need one when we stayed there.

I highly recommend this place to anyone coming to Munchen

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meier City Munchen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meier City Munchen Hotel

Address: Schutzenstrasse 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#86 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Meier City Munchen Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Meier City Munchen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meier City Munchen Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meier City Munchen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.