We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King's Hotel Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added King's Hotel Center to your Saves list
King's Hotel Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Marsstrasse 15, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This was a nice hotel in a good location very close to the train station. The rooms were clean although they are quite small. The staff are friendly & helpful. The breakfast was nice & had a good variety.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    360
    90
    14
    3
See reviews for
95
381
33
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hotel was actually booked by our son as a Christmas present so Mum & Dad had no input into where we would be staying on this city break to Munich. And what a great choice he made! We flew from Stansted and then travelled to the Hbf (main railway station) by using the S8 suburban line from the airport using a Airport-City-Day-Ticket (EUR11.70 each). This also gave us free use of the S-Bahn, U-Bahn (Underground), trams and buses for the remainder of the day.

Having read that the hotel is close to the station we decided to walk. Although we got a little disorientated, we found the hotel fairly easily only to discover a much shorter route the next day! By leaving the Hbf by the side exit, just cross the road and opposite is Pfefferstrasse. Go to the end of this short street, turn left into Hirtenstrasse for a few yards, then almost immediately right into Lammerstrasse. At the end of this short street is Marstrasse. Just turn left by the interesting vintage car sales area and there is the hotel!

The reception staff were so friendly and helpful, so a good start to our stay. Our room was at the back of the building on the 5th floor and it was so nice and quiet that it was difficult to imagine we were in a city centre. The room wasn't huge but perfectly adequate for our needs. More importantly, it was simply immaculate (as was the entire hotel) and very comfortable. People have mentioned the 'expensive' buffet breakfast at EUR15.00 but the varied food was of top quality and you sit in a very pleasant wood panelled room with the greenery of the courtyard just outside the windows. So, all-in-all, we would say it was a worthwhile expense.

Aside from the proximity of the main railway station, the city's main square (Marienplatz) is only a 20 minute or so relaxed walk away from the hotel. Just turn right at the main exit and head towards the Cathedral's (or Dom's) twin towers. En route, negotiating the busy roads around Karlsplatz is best done using the pedestrian subway where you will find a hidden shopping area. Just how many hundred food outlets are there in Munich?! And how come the locals are so relatively slender with a diet seemingly based on sausages, cake and bier?! We digress.

We were only in Munich for two full days. Part of the first morning was spent on the Stadtrundfahrt (how I love these words!) open top bus tour followed by a wander around the attractive central area. There really are some wonderful buildings to be seen, the Neues Rathaus/Glockenspiel in Marienplatz main square being a clear winner in our book. The next day was mostly spent at the superb BMW Welt & Museum in the Olympic Park area followed by a look at Bayern Munich's impressive Allianz Arena. A shame that part of U6 used to get to the latter was closed for engineering work so had had to go by replacement bus. It was just like being back in the UK! For getting around on the S-Bahn and U-Bahn we used Partner Tageskarte ticket which allows up to FIVE(!) people and two children to travel together all day and until 06:00 the next morning. Terrific value at just EUR11.20.

We were not too keen on the world famous Hofbrauhaus as it was so packed and noisy on the ground floor. That said, we didn't discover the upstairs room with a stage complete with a traditional Bavarian band and empty tables until after we had already eaten (the food not being very enjoyable for us, to be truthful) on an outside balcony, so best to go upstairs first. We much preferred the atmosphere of the wooded Augustiner Biergarten, just a ten minute walk from the hotel, but beware that they only serve one litre steins of bier after 5pm on Mondays to Fridays. Not so good for the ladies, as Al Murray would soon point out!

However, our favourite eating and drinking place was Andeschser am Dom which we found hidden away behind the Cathedral. We ate & drank the most divine Helles bier on our first evening and liked it so much that we returned the following lunchtime. Here we experienced the Munich means of filling empty seats at already occupied tables. Definitely not a British thing to do! But it worked out well as we firstly joined one German man and were later joined by two others, all of whom spoke the most perfect English so were able to conduct very interesting conversations that we otherwise would have missed. So actually it is a good idea even if un-British!

Apologies for the length of this saga but, to summarise, if you are going to Munich then the Kings Hotel Center provides an excellent base.

Room Tip: No.509 which is to the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Hotel staff was charming. Courtyard was cute. The beds weren't that great, felt the springs through the mattress. Be careful though, a block away is another King's Hotel, so double check the address. Great Italian restaurant across the street---don't judge, it was late and pouring rain. About a 1/2 hour or so walk to the 'center' of Berlin, but a close subway ride.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We needed to find a hotel for the last night of our stay in Munich before heading home. We went online to a booking.com site and came upon a description of the King's hotel. It was tremendously clean, conveniently close (3 blocks from Hauptbahnhof train station and 25 min walk to Marienplatz), very friendly, helpful front desk staff who spoke English. The room was very quiet, even though we were in the downtown district near the train. The price was amazing as well. We even had our room ready before 10 AM on the day of check in!! The lift was convenient as well--no hauling our bags up 3 flights of stairs! Definitely would stay here again on our next trip!!

Room Tip: Definitely check out online last minute deals first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We chose this hotel after reading Trip Advisor reviews and because it is centrally located to the trains. The hotel is very comfortable with excellent staff on reception. The rooms are extremely small and I found that with the luggage we had it was uncomfortable at times. Bathroom is also small. The towels are small and then, hard to dry yourself. The room service was poor, toilet paper not replaced, glasses not cleaned or replaced and the sink in bathroom was blocked first day when we arrived. The price was way above what I should have paid for such a very, very, small room.

Room Tip: Get a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed on the top floor of this hotel in the ‘disabled’ suite (doors and bathroom is bigger). Very nice hotel, welcoming staff. Only one problem, we booked a double bed but got two singles. Didn’t care really, as we could push the beds together, it was just funny. Room was quite big and roomy, could do with an update though. Overall clean and tidy. Bathroom only had shower curtain instead of door, which I don’t like as water still goes everywhere, but it was ok. Breakfast was very good, huge buffet selection including frankfurts. Location was great as 5 mins walk from train station. Marienplatz was about 20 minutes walk, so would recommend taking the underground.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

5 Hour train trip from Frankfurt. Requested this hotel be close to central train station and shopping.
Beautiful. A 5 minute walk from the station and about 10 minutes to the main downtown of Munich.

Extremely clean, quite and very comfortable. A jewel. Great breakfast, (included) with hot items and many choices of breads and deli meats, bacon and eggs. Very friendly front desk staff and most knowledgeable about their city. Just a beautiful little hotel that's well managed.

I would highly recommend this hotel, it has everything one needs, except ice. Next trip to Munich we would stay again at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you need anything extra, all you have to do is ask. Very accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King's Hotel Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Hotel Center

Address: Marsstrasse 15, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#28 Family Hotel in Munich
#37 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King's Hotel Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your King's Hotel Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Hotel Munich
Kings Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Hotel Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.