We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King's Hotel Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added King's Hotel Center to your Saves list
King's Hotel Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Marsstrasse 15, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good value, excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Very handy location within five mins of main railway station. Clean comfortable room, only complaint was that the room temperature was too high so we had to sleep with the window open to cool it down to a reasonable level. I would consider this a minor point though as everything else was great value especially the breakfast which was plentiful and refreshed continuously during service. All staff seemed very pleasant. Stroll down to Marienplatz and back an easy walk, just enough to work off some of the beer and Gluhwein!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    385
    93
    14
    3
See reviews for
102
405
34
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

We were in Munich for a concert at the Olympiahalle and wanted somewhere central to stay for a decent price and comfortable.

Kings center provided both of those. It is probably 2 mins walk from central station and is perfect for all public transport connections. We used trams to get to the castle and both local and underground trains to go everywhere else. It's walk able to the main square in 15-20 mins but so easy to jump on tube. Fast, efficient and cheap.

If travelling by public transport I'd recommend the MVV ticket for 3 days which cost 23 euros approx for the 2 of us.

In terms of hotel, the room was decent size, v comfortable, and great shower.

Staff friendly and helpful.

Only negatives were that the corridor and room smelled of smoke and breakfast was exoensive, although it was plentiful. After payIng once we then ate over at train station cafes the following 2 days.

Would recommend and would use again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel and had a very pleasant stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We also experienced the bathroom odour mentioned by other reviewers but were moved immediately and had no further problems. The room was quite small but was very clean, as was the bathroom. There was lots of choice at breakfast with both hot and cold food and as much coffee and juice as you could drink. The location of the hotel is great for access to Marienplatz, the city centre and the station. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a reasonably priced, clean and friendly hotel that is convenient for sightseeing and transport links.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Having spent quite some time searching for a hotel to take my girlfriend on a surprise weekend to Munich I decided based on tripadviser reviews and the unique look to book the Kings Hotel for a Christmas Markets break, I booked the hotel in August.
Upon arrival at midday we were greeted by the receptionist who said that unfortunately it wasn't going to be our day or his and he explained that there had been a glitch in the booking system and they did not have a room for us. At this point he explained that he had booked us into a superior 4 star hotel and tried to sell this as a bonus to us, after much effort trying to explain that this was not acceptable and that we had specifically booked this hotel 4 months earlier it didn't seem to get us anywhere and through pure frustration and the want to get on with our holiday we got in a taxi and headed to this supposed superior hotel. Even though they had told us that they didn't have any rooms for people to check in that night a family of 3 easily checked in with reception as we were leaving!!!! 15 minutes out of the city we arrived at this supposed superior hotel which was on an business park miles out of town and as it turns out is 179th on the tripadvisor listings for Munich not better than the 25th we had booked and were looking forward to. We asked the receptionist at the new hotel to contact the Kings hotel and with my girlfriend at this point on the verge of tears spoke saying that we were not accepting this alternative and that having myself got a degree and background working in hotels know full well that hotels get gready when they see the possibility to take bookings at much more value than the advanced ones I was not accepting what was on offer. Amazingly after previously saying that there were no hotels available in the city centre when at the hotel earlier they managed to find us one within 5 minutes walk of their hotel which was better than the one being offered but no transport back into town was offered and we had to take 2 trains to get back to the main station.
We stayed that night at this bland inoffensive hotel and were impressed by the staff there but the Kings Hotel had refused to put us up for 2 nights as they had space for us on the 2nd night and had promised an upgrade and a free breakfast for this night (even though it was a Sunday and the hotel quiet!)
Upon arrival that day we were greeted by the same receptionist who went overboard in trying to impress us and personally took us up to our room. It is hard to comment on the room as clearly they had given us one of the biggest in the hotel which was nice but our feeling of resentment and anger towards the hotel meant it was hard to relax and enjoy.
We turned up for breakfast on the final morning and were asked to sign a receipt for 24 euros for the cost of the breakfast so had to go down to reception to remind them of there agreement before we could have something to eat.
Having had a limited amount of time to enjoy the city we cannot for one minute accept what the hotel did to us having wasted 2 hours of our time on the first day sending us to the other hotel and making us trek back into the city at our own cost and a further hour on the 2nd paking up, checking out and moving hotels.
No financial compensation was offered for our inconvenience nor would they accept that the problem was through their own greed rather insisting it was a booking glitch, they lied to us saying that no one could check in that evening and clearly had we paid the 180 euro rack rate for the room I am sure they would have accommodated us that night!!
Our memories of this trip will be one of anger and inconvenience which is a shame as the City itself and the markets were really enjoyable. I would avoid this place at all costs as we would not like any other couples to have an experience like ours.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Arriving in Munich without a place to stay, the tourist information center found this hotel for us and we were very happy for the tip! The hotel is located around the corner from the main train station and a 20 minute walk from Munich's main attractions (Hofbrauhaus and the Marienplatz area).
The hotel itself was cozy and ornate while fully modern. I enjoy boutique-style hotels and found the rooms to be charming, clean, and comfortable.
My favorite part of our stay was the breakfast. The dining area was consistent in its charm and the buffet offered perfect hard boiled eggs, sausage, cold cuts and cheeses, yogurt, pastries and jam, cereal, fresh fruit and juice, and a nice coffee and tea selection with three varieties of honey. Did I mention I loved the breakfast?
The staff s helpful and offered same-day dry cleaning services, a full bar, and even a bowl of apples as a courtesy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the King's Hotel Center pleasantly pleased with its location (very close to Munich HBF). The room and bathroom were clean and spacious, and they gave us a high-floor room so outside noise drowned out pretty easily. We had to switch rooms, however, because a foul odor emanated from the restroom. Though it did not spread when the door was closed, we opted for another room which their very courteous staff happily accommodated. Still, I think the plumbing of the building is rather old because even the new room had foul odor from the toilet over the course of the night, though not as strong as the other room. We didn't mind so much after a while, and enjoyed the spacious room. Internet was free for 30 min each day and making phone calls was relatively cheap. The staff was helpful and I enjoyed my stay overall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mtl
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Nice and clean hotel. I booked the standard room, so it was a bit small, but clean. When we walked into our room, and even though we did not request one, there was a large baby crib in there which took almost a third of the space in the already small room. Didn't bother me that much since we were only there for 2 nights and spent most of our time outside anyways.The location is very good, a few beer gardens within walking distance, and about a 10-15 min walk to Marienplatz. The girls at the front desk were very helpful and professional, always smiling.
My only complaint would be the lack of free wifi. If I remember well, they charge 10 EUR for 24hr access, but most hotels in Europe don't offer free wifi anyways.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to King's Hotel Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Hotel Center

Address: Marsstrasse 15, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Munich
#26 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#35 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King's Hotel Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your King's Hotel Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Hotel Munich
Kings Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Hotel Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.