We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Hat Tours

Big Hat Tours
Kaufinger Str.1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 176 74122033
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 129 Activities in Munich
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A tour with Curt Milburn is like having a welcoming family friend show you around Munich. Curt's been called "The Wikipedia of History". He specializes in small group and private tours. Tours are tailor-made and Curt finds out what YOU want to see. His City Tours go beyond canned, set routes. You'll see the famous sites, architecture, learn about kings, Hitler, foods and beer. Our Third Reich Tours delve deep into more than when, but why and how the Nazis came to power and you'll see the bombed buildings of Hitler. Curt's Dachau tours are sensitive and remarkably moving and his Neuschwanstein and Castle tours are great fun. Salzburg & Nuremberg are within your reach with Big Hat Tours! Every tour is accompanied by an Apple i-Pod with hundreds of photos to put you into history.
Mobile
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I went on three of his tours, we had a great time! His tours are very informative and I learned alot from him, since he was a history major in college! The Third Reich tour was my favorite, I wish we had more time and went with him on the Dachau tour.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bear, Delaware
1 review
“trip to munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We recently were there on a trip back from Austria, and had a tour arrangd with kurt...he is soo engaging and the knowledge base that he has is amazing. i highly recommend him.. he also arranged an outstanding lunch at a wonderful restaurant...

He has a wonderful personality and great sense of humor...a great people person

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So informative!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I learnt more than I would have on any other tour.
Curt really does his research to come up with some interesting facts.
Thank you Curt!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Walking tour of Munich with Big Hat Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our ski club group of 30 ended our trip with a stop over in Munich after a week in Austria. Our trip leader arranged for Curt to give us a walking tour of Munich. Curt first arranged a wonderful lunch for us and met us at the restaurant. His knowledge of Munich, Nazi and Hitler history, along with his sense of humor provided for a wonderful winter afternoon of walking around Munich. We saw several churches along with the other sites that one would want to see while in Munich. Our tour lasted approximately 4 hours and Curt never seemed to grow weary of taking us to the next site. I would certainly recommend him as your tour guide while in Munich.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Delaware
1 review
“Walking Tour Of Munich Under the Big Hat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have been on tours; from Singapore to Edinburgh, Paris to Toronto and many others all over the world but this one was by far the best. The Big Hat set us up to begin our tour in the perfect restaurant. We were treated like friends that just dropped by, not noisy tourists. From there we followed that Big Hat all over Munich and that Big Hat, brought the city alive. From the history of the church's we saw, to visiting the places of the rise and fall of the Nazi Party, new architecture, old architecture, restored architecture that Hat knew what we needed to know so we could say; "We saw Munich!!" I could spend allot of time discussing each place we visited but suffice it to say our group of thirty felt as though we were very special. Curt with his Big Hat treated us like family.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Hat Tours also viewed

 

Been to Big Hat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Hat Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.