We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Bristol” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bristol to your Saves list
Hotel Bristol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pettenkoferstrasse 2, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #184 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hotel Bristol”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Eight of us stayed here - location and price was good. Hotel is centrally located, just by the metro station Sendlinger Tor, which connects you to almost any interensting Munich sights including Dachau and the airport. Marienplatz (city center) is a short walk - 5-10 mins by foot. Rooms are small but clean - breakfast is good. Hotel staff is friendly and professional.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    133
    61
    14
    4
See reviews for
26
103
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here as familiar with location and price was good.
Check-in was good, had to wait 10 mins for room, but we were early. Reception area is very small and another big gang came in!!
Room was ready in 10 mins. It was small, but it had everything needed. Bed was up against wall on one side, not ideal. Bathroom was shower-over-bath and shower curtain - which I hate! But it was brilliant, really powerful shower, curtain didn't stick and no water on floor afterwards!!!
So overall room was absolutely fine.
Breakfast room was small and tight and first morning seemed chaotic!!! But we soon got used to it and breakfast was very good. Only annoyance was tea - had to ask for tea bags - and it wasn't that they had run out, that was way all time. Possibly a culture thing though, I wanted to make pot - bigger teapots hasn't any covers - never figured that out!! Smaller pots I used for tea, but noticed no one else did!
Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Love area and other hotel nearby was a ridiculous price for same 4 nights.
There were lots bells, but only on Sunday - didn't bother me in slightest, but did annoy a friend travelled with us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Only stayed here for a saturday night on a lfying visit to Munich for a fotball match. Having spent some time trying to find a reasonable value for money hotel I settled on this one and it proved to be a good choice. Nothing special about this place but the receptionist was friendly and helpful, the room clean with a comfortable bed and a good breakfast the next morning.

The breakfast room is small but the food was plentiful and constantly refreshed also the staff were efficient and cleared tables quickly to enable new arrivals to be quickly seated.

They really do need to fix the sign outside as It does give a bad impression on first arival but I guess by that stage you're already committed to the place!

One negative is the church next door which seems to have particularly loud bells, the hours start chiming from 7oc which is ok but from 8oc it seemed to be a fairly constant cacophony - if you like to sleep with the window open you will be getting up early!

Having said all that I'm not sure I would have wanted to stay longer than a night or two as it was all very basic but for my needs was perfect and would stay there again if I went back to Munich for a weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We chose this hotel for reasonable price and good reviews.It turned out that good reciews were actually understatements: this hotel is almost perfect for tourists who itend to walk and do the city center sight seeing. Hotel is centrally located, just by the metro station Sendlinger Tor, which connects you to almost any interensting Munich sight.Marienplatz is 5-10 mins by foot and the entrance to the old city of Munich is just a few steps away. Rooms are rather small but very clean and cosy, breakfast is great, with veriaty of food for anyone's taste. Hotel staff is friendly and professional, they even were able to recommend good day trips. I would recommend this hotel to anybody not looking for luxury, but wish to explore beautiful Bavarien capital

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This place have better reviews that it deserve. Yea, the location is excellent and their homepage makes the place look inviting. But already upon arrival we started thinking how our stay might turn out. It´s a grey 60´s building, but they could at least fix the signs with hotel name on the wall. It looked like they did not care of the impression the broken sign gave. Check in was smooth, but our room was a disappointment. It was extremely hot inside and we told the staff that the radiator could not be turned down. They promised to fix it, but after being out for a 4 hour shopping tour it was still boling hot. Once again told the staff and the guy came up and tried to fix it, which proved successful after several attempts.
After reading the reviews we were looking forward to the breakfast, which proved to be another disappointment. 45 minutes before the breakfast room closed, there was almost no items left. A couple of pieces of bread, a few slices of ham and some eggs. That was about it...
Another thing that was not so great about the Hotel Bristol is the staff working at night. They should check who they let into the building, which obviously was not they case...
However, the room was clean enough and location really good. But for the price paid, I am sure there are better places.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hotel also goes under the name Superior Hotel Bristol. We had a room on the stairwell. By the fittings there once was carpet but now its stone so clack went the high heels day and night. Next to our room was a glass door that separated the stairwell from the other rooms. It slammed constantly. Then there is the cafe underneath and the cafe and bar opposite all with outside tables. No air conditioning so on a warm night you have to have the window open. Cigarette smoke and noise made sleep impossible. Then there was the non vacuumed carpet for 4 days and the drink stains on the window ledge. We left early as we needed sleep. The staff must be used to this as they never even blinked or inquired why. If you like noise day and night this is your place.

Room Tip: Try the Sofitel its very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Hotels in Munich are expensive during Oktoberfest so it was a challenge finding something reasonably priced close to both the Oktoberfest grounds and the central train station. Still, a double room with breakfast was over 200 euros. The Hotel Bristol's location was good. It's about a 15 minute walk to the grounds and one U-Bahn station away from Munich's Hauptbahnhoff. The staff was friendly, the free WiFi worked fine and while the breakfast room is a little cramped, the breakfast was good. Rooms are a bit on the small side and a little dark but otherwise were OK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Pettenkoferstrasse 2, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bristol 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Munich
Top Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.