We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy clean hotel - excellent loction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Platzl Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Platzl Hotel to your Saves list
Platzl Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cozy clean hotel - excellent loction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The hotel is situated just 3 min walking from the main square and streets in a very quite street. The rooms are very clean and the staff is super kind. I would definitely come back there. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    426
    56
    26
    11
See reviews for
243
584
123
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This hotel is in very central location of Munich. The staff is very friendly. I really admire breakfasts and also timing since on Sundays you can enjoy your breakfast till noon.
The room was small and a bit dark but clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Easy location from airport, and close to Marianplatz station. Behind the hotel is the Hoffbrauhaus which is very authentic and a warm atmosphere. The hotel is very traditional, and the first impression is that your custom is important to the hotel. it is understated and in my opinion classy. The rooms are nice but compact (small) and have stayed in a single room and double rooms. One thing which I like is that there rooms were very clean, in particular the bathroom. Always nice! Breakfast is really lovely, and ensure you make time to enjoy what is on offer. The team are dressed traditionally, and are very helpful. The hotel is certainly not in the value range, but that said, for the location, the service, and the overall package, I think it worth while. One thing to note however, is that with the hoffbrauhaus behind the hotel, it can get a little noisey, and if you go to bed early or are a light sleeper it may be better to have room at the front / side of the hotel. Not a problem for me, but could be an issue if you are travelling with young children, I have stayed in the hotel on 4 occasions, and will rebook for my next trip to Munich. One final point, for the Christmas shopper, the market was situated near to the hotel, as is the Cathedral and Rathaus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Excellent hotel in such a fantastic location. Just a couple short blocks from the Marienplatz station with direct connection to the airport and Hauptbahnhof. Near some good restaurants and bars, as well as tourist and historical sites.

Checking in, service was so incredibly welcoming after the long flight, and the English was very good. My room was small, but comfortable. I was only spending one night, so it was perfect for that, but anything longer might be a bit tight, especially if I was spending some time in my room (i.e. not just using it as a place to sleep). The view from my room, however, was just so fantastic, looking over the church steeples and the sunset.

I slept too late for breakfast, unfortunately, so I cannot comment on that. I had a couple drinks in the bar, which had friendly service but only a couple of mediocre beer choices. WiFi was free and fast, which is great for a hotel in city center.

Would not hesitate to come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location and has amazing breakfast. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is at the pricier end however is worth it. Beds very comfortable and rooms clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed for three nights in a standard room with everything we needed for a short stay. The room was clean, the staff polite and helpful, location - perfect, breakfast the best we have ever had in a hotel! If we'll have an opportunity to visit Munich again, we won't waste the time trying to find another hotel - only Platzl!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

A traditional hotel which provides the highest standards of hospitality and comfort. A perfect location in the old city of Munich. The staff are wonderful and very professional. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I have experienced worldwide. Excellent reception and welcome. Very near the famous restaurants, bier halls and markets. Shopping right on your doorstep. If you are traveling with heavy luggage form MUC take the S-Bahn to the Central Station and taxi to the hotel.
The quieter rooms are located on the courtyard and these can be reserved on-line.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#5 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 741 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#4 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 815 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#6 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cortiina Hotel
Cortiina Hotel
#14 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Louis Hotel
Louis Hotel
#11 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#5 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#6 Family Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You place great importance on quality and want to be right in the middle of Munich's city life? Then Platzl Hotel Munich and its culinary offerings are the address for you. This traditional four-star Superior Hotel and its two popular restaurants - the Pfistermuhle and Wirtshaus Ayingers - are located in the heart of Munich's old city, right beside the famous Hofbrauhaus. And just a short walk from the Marienplatz, the Bavarian State Opera, Maximilianstrasse and Viktualienmarkt. The Inselkammer family and its team combine Bavarian hospitality and traditional style elements with a modern lifestyle and state-of-the-art technology. It begins with a warm welcome in the foyer, continues through the 167 guest rooms and only ends when you leave Munich through the city's historic quarter. This combination of tradition and modernity also creates the ideal setting for private celebrations such as birthdays or weddings, but also conferences and seminars. Your visit should also include a taste of the culinary offerings at our two restaurants - because gastronomy has a long tradition at the Platzl. As early as the beginning of the last century, the Platzl stage was graced not just by cabaret giants such as Karl Valentin. Good Bavarian food also made repeat appearances, being served to guests before and after the performances. Today, the Pfistermuhle is synonymous with sophisticated Bavarian cuisine - at Munich's only preserved city mill. Since the year 2000, people from Munich and elsewhere have enjoyed the hearty regional dishes at Wirtshaus Ayingers, which is next door, while the charming stores and eateries in the "Platzlgassen" add to the lively atmosphere in the Platzl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Platzl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.