We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, poor service.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Platzl Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Platzl Hotel to your Saves list
Platzl Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good location, poor service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Platzl hotel in Munich is located in very close proximity to the main square and other attractions such as the popular Hofbrauhaus restaurant. Unfortunately, while this hotel's location is very good, the service from the staff was quite disappointing.

From the moment I walked into my room (which was on the top floor), it felt quite warm. The air-conditioner didn't seem to be putting out any cold air and Munich was experiencing some quite warm weather during my stay. I contacted the front-desk who told me that the air-conditioning was being fixed and they could move me to another room on the next floor down. That was fine, but what was annoying was the way I was spoken to by this particular person at the front desk. He was rude, short with me and said that “if I wanted to move rooms, I had to do it NOW!”. Too bad that I had dinner plans that night. So I had to pack everything up again and move to the other room straight away, and without any help. To my disbelief, this new room was also warm (although not as bad as the first room) and only then I was told that the air-conditioning in the whole hotel wasn't working! Why didn't they tell me this upon check-in?

I spoke to the hotel manager the next day and firstly asked why I was allocated a room that they knew would be hotter than the others (on the top floor) and then mentioned that I was rudely spoken to by the front desk staff. And what did the hotel manager offer me as 'compensation'?.. A free beer. I hardly call that compensation. The next day the air-conditioning seemed a little better but it was still not 'cool' inside the room and it remained like that for the duration of my stay.

The other issue I had was that I wanted a top-sheet for the bed; they brought up half a top-sheet even though I told them I wanted a full-size sheet to fit the entire bed, not just half of it. This was eventually brought up to me, but they didn't bother to help me put it on the bed – that was left for me to do. Frustratingly, when they made my bed up the next day, the top-sheet was removed, so I had to ask them once again for another sheet (and again they brought up half a sheet!).

Finally, the room-service staff moved my personal belongings into the drawers around the room, without telling me, instead of just leaving them where I put them. It took me ten minutes to find my medications that were 'put away' even though I didn't ask for them to be moved.

The hotel has free wi-fi which is handy although you have to log-in to a website every 24 hours and enter your details each time to reset it which is a bit annoying. Why not just have free, continuous wi-fi without any fuss?

Overall, I did not particularly enjoy my stay at the Platzl. Despite the good location of this hotel, the staff seem to have a communication problem in three ways: Many of them don't speak English, one particular person at the front desk was rude to me (and did not even apologise) and messages don't seem to get through to other staff members. Nobody seemed to care and there was no personal attention. Once you book and they get your credit card number, there's no reduction in the nightly rate if something goes wrong – such as a broken air-conditioner – even though I paid for a hotel room with air-conditioning. Don't stay here, choose another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineBirds, Reputation Management at Platzl Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Mike R.,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We would like to apologise for and briefly comment on the inconvenience you have experienced.

Because of the unusual heat wave in Europe, at the time of your stay, in some areas of our hotel the air conditioning failed for a short time. The failure affected 10 of the 167 rooms in total and was corrected as soon as possible. Generally, the temperature of our air conditioning is set to the European standard.

If a room change is desired or required by our guests, then of course we and our employees are always happy to help, if so desired by our guests.

We apologise that you could not find your medication immediately after your room was cleaned. In order to completely and thoroughly clean the rooms of our hotel, unfortunately our maids have to move some of our guests' belongings.

All our staff at reception and in the service area speak English and our cordiality and service are highly praised in online reviews. Please excuse that there were misunderstandings in your case.

Nevertheless, we would be very pleased to welcome you back as our guest soon and to convince you of our service!

Best regards

the Platzl Hotel Team and the Inselkammer family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    346
    46
    23
    9
See reviews for
174
464
105
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

A very convenient hotel situated only 200 metres from the Marienplatz underground station in the main square. Service was always very helpful and efficient. The breakfasts were magnificent and pristinely presented by obviously very proud staff. Although not a cheap hotel, it was well worth the splurge and we would not hesitate to stay there again. We travelled with another couple and although we found the air conditioning exactly meeting our requirements, they found the room a little too warm and were not able to lower the temperature. However, it did not detract from their stay. Apart from a quick foot bath, we did not have time to use the spa facilities, which looked wonderful. Just too much to see and do during the long, hot summer days in a beautiful city.

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid a room overlooking the frenetic Hoffbrauhaus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for three nights and loved the location. Central to everything we wanted to see and easy to get to the airport and the main railway. The staff was very friendly and dressed in bavarian style, rooms clean and beds comfortable. The windows were sound proof so even though Hofbrau House is nearby we never heard a thing. Each room had their own air-conditioning which was a plus since it was hot. The Moorish Kiosk was wonderful after a full day of sight seeing. Would definitely return again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Wonderful location, excellent service. 3mins to the central, next door to HB beer house if you are a German beer fan. Convenient to go everywhere by subway, lots stores for shopping and eating. The hotel itself is a legend. It was rebuilt in 1980's. it is fully considered the traditional Bavaria style and also the modern functions people are looking for. You won't be let down.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The location is excellent, next to main city atractions and a very nice commercial area. Don´t miss their restaurant Pfistermuhle and ask for the waiter Marco, who's really great! Follow all his suggestions and you'll have a fantastic dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

The position of hotel is perfect i can say the epicentrr of munich. Very convenient for all interest. Shopping site seeing restaurants. Friendly helpfull staff and kind. I have been to many five star hotels and although platzl is surrounded by them the value for money by far outclasses all. I will surely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights here during a month long holiday with my wife. We were in Munich 3 separate occasions during the trip, at 3 different hotels, and the Platzl was our favorite by far. Upscale European style hotel, right in heart of city center, 2 blocks from the Marienplatz and back of hotel is essentially across the street from the Hofbrauhaus. Superlative informative and attentive staff and (hurray) strong AC which was invaluable as the temps were in the 30s. Price was reasonable for the quality and location. Will stay here again whenever in Munich.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#8 Family Hotel in Munich
#11 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Platzl Hotel" is located in Munich's historical old city and is an ideal point of departure for business and pleasure activities. Marienplatz, with subway connections to the main station, the airport and the new Trade Fair Centre in Riem, is only a few steps away from the hotel. The world-famous Hofbrauhaus, the Viktualienmarkt open-air food market, the Bavarian State Opera and the renowned Maximilianstrasse with its vast array of luxury boutiques are likewise only a short walk away. Your four star hotel in the centre of Munich, Germany Accommodation rooms The Platzl Hotel has 165 rooms, a Bavarian suite, and a junior suite. Parking - no problem Central location (directions) - but no parking problems. There are more than 80 parking places in the hotel's own underground garage available to guests who arrive by car. The garage is open 24 hours a day. Conference and meeting facilities Five banquet and conference rooms for up to 140 persons. The Muller-Pfister-Stube is ideal for private parties. This room, paneled in fragrant Swiss pine, dates back to the year 1573 and can accommodate up to 40 persons. Bavarian-style restaurants Restaurant Pfistermuhle: offers you upscale Bavarian cuisine Ayingers Inn: hearty Bavarian specialties as well as modern dishes in old Munich style and seven different beers on tap ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Platzl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.