We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central hotel with service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Platzl Hotel

Save Saved
You added Platzl Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Platzl Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 382 hotels in Munich
Culemborg, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great central hotel with service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

As a result of saving my points I made a short stay in Munich to see if the city would stay on the list for a normal citybreak. Because of the reviews and the location I choose Platzl Hotel. I wasn't disappointed. The hotel is about 5 minutes from the S-bahn/U-bahn-station at Marienplatz. The staff are very friendly (everyone you'll meet) and the male staff from the check-in even said hello with my name when I came back from visiting the city. The doorman is also friendly and opens the door for you when you leave the hotel. You just feel very welcome.

I had a middle solo-room at the front at the fitfh floor. If you close the window you'll hear nothing. During the night I heard a couple of times some drunk guys outside. It wasn't that annoying and I could live with it but when I return for a citybreak I will choose a solo-room at the back. It's a little bit more expensive but maybe better.

The room was big enough for a cityhotel. I had the bed, a desk with minibar and chair and also a chair by the window. I had enough space to sit and walk around. The minibar was well filled but I missed a bottle of still water. There were enough bottles with water but all with gas. I asked the reception and could get a bottle at the bar. It was a nice cooled bottle for the warm weather. The TV was great. You had about 50 channels with channels from Germany, England (BBC, ITV and newschannels), Russia, Italy, Arabic, China and Netherlands. It was plenty. The only weird thing about the tv was that the sound of the TV in the bathroom wasn't muted when I turned the sound off in the room. Especially when you want to watch early and don't want to disturbe the neighbours. Maybe I did something wrong. But it hasn't any influence on the review. The room was clean and the bed good. The pilows were too soft but I could get a pillow with support which was good.

The breakfast was great. You could choose anything you want and there were even newspapers you could read.

Overall I will certainly use this hotel when I'm visiting the city as a normal citybreak.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    589
    294
    41
    22
    6
See reviews for
153
377
94
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Nice hotel in the centre of Munich. Close to the main city attractions, and 5 minutes to the subway, and 15 minutes to the central train station. Great walking streets around the hotel. Rooms on the 'outside' can be noisy as the Hofbrauhouse and Hard Rock are right beside. Opt for a room that faces the courtyard instead. Great breakfast, lots of selection.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the courtyard. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just stayed at the Platzl for 4 nights with my spouse. This was our first choice of hotels based on location and TA reviews. I had emailed the hotel b/c I had a hard time booking on line. They were always prompt in responding to me and provided walking directions from the metro upon request.
Pros:
1. Location - close to Marienplatz, metro, hoffbrau haus, and restaurants.
2. Service - contact person, front desk, breakfast wait staff, door men and pretty much everyone we encountered was polite and helpful.
3. Breakfast - included, lots to choose from.
4. Rooms - I'd say they're nice and kept clean, but I wouldn't call them lavish. Towels and robes provided are old and scratchy. We had a pretty big room, but I believe we had a suite b/c I was informed it was the only room available.

Cons:
1. I would have really liked a digital clock in the room. We woke up every night due to a severe case of jet lag and it was impossible to tell what time it was. (Should we get up? Go back to sleep?) We had to get up out of bed several times to find a watch then turn on a light to check it. Maybe it doesn't go with the decor, but I would have loved to peek an eye open to see what time it was.
2. Expensive. I don't mind paying a high price for a great hotel, but this didn't come with the luxury one associates with such a high rate. (e.g. better quality towels, ammentities, services, etc) You're basically just paying for the location.
3. Noise. We were on the 1st floor. The street noise really only became a problem on Saturday night when there were more people out partying all night. The other nights were tolerable.

Overall we had a great stay and we appreciate the service we recieved. I would recommend this place to friends traveling to Munich.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Great service. Good breakfast. Small but clean, well-appointed rooms. Complimentary parking in Altstadt which was a great bonus. Great nightlife at the back door - Hofbrauhaus and Hard Rock Cafe. And many sites within easy walking distance from hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Platzl Hotel offers everything you would want in a hotel and at a reasonable price for it's location - a very friendly, helpful staff, wonderful rooms, restaurants, and a first-class breakfast that offers so much food that you can easily skip lunch.

This hotel is a leisurely five-minute walk from the Marienplatz, Munich's central square where you will find the famous Glockenspiel that plays several times a day. A couple blocks further is the Viktualienmarkt (outdoor market) which has over 100 shops and stalls. In the same area is the Asamkirche. One side of the hotel faces the famous Haufbrau Haus. If you're afraid this would be too noisy, don't be. For a few dollars more you can get a very quiet room on the courtyard. Don't miss eating at the Ayingers Inn, just around the corner from the Platzl.

Room Tip: If you're young, you won't mind a room on the Haufbrau Haus side. Older visitors might pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The location is perfect, just in the center, 3mn walk to Marienplatz.
We had a large room on the courtyard, so it was perfectly quiet.
The bathroom was large, very clean and well equipped.
Breakfast is really good and offers a large choice.
People at the reception are really friendly and helpful, sell subway tickets and do everything they can to please you.
We can only recommand this hotel.
The only small disappointment : hammam and sauna are very small.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel is above hard rock cafe and hofbrauhaus. So, better ask for a room on the cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Would stay there again and recommend to anyone. Perfect location. Wonderful warm staff. Fantastic breakfast. Next to Hofbrauhaus and Marienplatz. The front desk was helpful because we had to keep changing our tour reservations because we got sick. Felix was especially helpful!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#7 Family Hotel in Munich
#11 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Platzl Hotel" is located in Munich's historical old city and is an ideal point of departure for business and pleasure activities. Marienplatz, with subway connections to the main station, the airport and the new Trade Fair Centre in Riem, is only a few steps away from the hotel. The world-famous Hofbrauhaus, the Viktualienmarkt open-air food market, the Bavarian State Opera and the renowned Maximilianstrasse with its vast array of luxury boutiques are likewise only a short walk away. Your four star hotel in the centre of Munich, Germany Accommodation rooms The Platzl Hotel has 165 rooms, a Bavarian suite, and a junior suite. Parking - no problem Central location (directions) - but no parking problems. There are more than 80 parking places in the hotel's own underground garage available to guests who arrive by car. The garage is open 24 hours a day. Conference and meeting facilities Five banquet and conference rooms for up to 140 persons. The Muller-Pfister-Stube is ideal for private parties. This room, paneled in fragrant Swiss pine, dates back to the year 1573 and can accommodate up to 40 persons. Bavarian-style restaurants Restaurant Pfistermuhle: offers you upscale Bavarian cuisine Ayingers Inn: hearty Bavarian specialties as well as modern dishes in old Munich style and seven different beers on tap ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Platzl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.