We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Platzl Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Platzl Hotel to your Saves list
Platzl Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 394 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Nice hotel in the centre of Munich. Close to the main city attractions, and 5 minutes to the subway, and 15 minutes to the central train station. Great walking streets around the hotel. Rooms on the 'outside' can be noisy as the Hofbrauhouse and Hard Rock are right beside. Opt for a room that faces the courtyard instead. Great breakfast, lots of selection.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the courtyard. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustMarriedInCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just stayed at the Platzl for 4 nights with my spouse. This was our first choice of hotels based on location and TA reviews. I had emailed the hotel b/c I had a hard time booking on line. They were always prompt in responding to me and provided walking directions from the metro upon request.
Pros:
1. Location - close to Marienplatz, metro, hoffbrau haus, and restaurants.
2. Service - contact person, front desk, breakfast wait staff, door men and pretty much everyone we encountered was polite and helpful.
3. Breakfast - included, lots to choose from.
4. Rooms - I'd say they're nice and kept clean, but I wouldn't call them lavish. Towels and robes provided are old and scratchy. We had a pretty big room, but I believe we had a suite b/c I was informed it was the only room available.

Cons:
1. I would have really liked a digital clock in the room. We woke up every night due to a severe case of jet lag and it was impossible to tell what time it was. (Should we get up? Go back to sleep?) We had to get up out of bed several times to find a watch then turn on a light to check it. Maybe it doesn't go with the decor, but I would have loved to peek an eye open to see what time it was.
2. Expensive. I don't mind paying a high price for a great hotel, but this didn't come with the luxury one associates with such a high rate. (e.g. better quality towels, ammentities, services, etc) You're basically just paying for the location.
3. Noise. We were on the 1st floor. The street noise really only became a problem on Saturday night when there were more people out partying all night. The other nights were tolerable.

Overall we had a great stay and we appreciate the service we recieved. I would recommend this place to friends traveling to Munich.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BandN129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Great service. Good breakfast. Small but clean, well-appointed rooms. Complimentary parking in Altstadt which was a great bonus. Great nightlife at the back door - Hofbrauhaus and Hard Rock Cafe. And many sites within easy walking distance from hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Daryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Platzl Hotel offers everything you would want in a hotel and at a reasonable price for it's location - a very friendly, helpful staff, wonderful rooms, restaurants, and a first-class breakfast that offers so much food that you can easily skip lunch.

This hotel is a leisurely five-minute walk from the Marienplatz, Munich's central square where you will find the famous Glockenspiel that plays several times a day. A couple blocks further is the Viktualienmarkt (outdoor market) which has over 100 shops and stalls. In the same area is the Asamkirche. One side of the hotel faces the famous Haufbrau Haus. If you're afraid this would be too noisy, don't be. For a few dollars more you can get a very quiet room on the courtyard. Don't miss eating at the Ayingers Inn, just around the corner from the Platzl.

Room Tip: If you're young, you won't mind a room on the Haufbrau Haus side. Older visitors might pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pixinwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The location is perfect, just in the center, 3mn walk to Marienplatz.
We had a large room on the courtyard, so it was perfectly quiet.
The bathroom was large, very clean and well equipped.
Breakfast is really good and offers a large choice.
People at the reception are really friendly and helpful, sell subway tickets and do everything they can to please you.
We can only recommand this hotel.
The only small disappointment : hammam and sauna are very small.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel is above hard rock cafe and hofbrauhaus. So, better ask for a room on the cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eric s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Would stay there again and recommend to anyone. Perfect location. Wonderful warm staff. Fantastic breakfast. Next to Hofbrauhaus and Marienplatz. The front desk was helpful because we had to keep changing our tour reservations because we got sick. Felix was especially helpful!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at the Platzl five times and am about to add stay number six in 2 weeks. I have never been disappointed with my room, the service, the cleanliness, or anything else - always top notch. The price is a bit expensive so I'd rate the value as very good , not excellent.

One of the real clinchers for me with the Platzl is the breakfast - the second best of any hotel I've stayed in worldwide.

The reception staff is always professional, courteous, and helpful as well. There is simply nothing to complain about with this fantastic hotel.

The location is another real key with the Platzl - you are literally right around the corner from the Hofbräuhaus and two blocks from the Rathauses (with the glockenspiel) and the market. The Marienplatz shopping is a short stroll away too.

When I'm on holiday, I look slightly across town for better value. But when on business in Munich, this is my first choice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#3 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 958 reviews
0.2 mi away
Louis Hotel
Louis Hotel
#6 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#10 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#1 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cortiina Hotel
Cortiina Hotel
#16 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#5 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#6 Family Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You place great importance on quality and want to be right in the middle of Munich's city life? Then Platzl Hotel Munich and its culinary offerings are the address for you. This traditional four-star Superior Hotel and its two popular restaurants - the Pfistermuhle and Wirtshaus Ayingers - are located in the heart of Munich's old city, right beside the famous Hofbrauhaus. And just a short walk from the Marienplatz, the Bavarian State Opera, Maximilianstrasse and Viktualienmarkt. The Inselkammer family and its team combine Bavarian hospitality and traditional style elements with a modern lifestyle and state-of-the-art technology. It begins with a warm welcome in the foyer, continues through the 167 guest rooms and only ends when you leave Munich through the city's historic quarter. This combination of tradition and modernity also creates the ideal setting for private celebrations such as birthdays or weddings, but also conferences and seminars. Your visit should also include a taste of the culinary offerings at our two restaurants - because gastronomy has a long tradition at the Platzl. As early as the beginning of the last century, the Platzl stage was graced not just by cabaret giants such as Karl Valentin. Good Bavarian food also made repeat appearances, being served to guests before and after the performances. Today, the Pfistermuhle is synonymous with sophisticated Bavarian cuisine - at Munich's only preserved city mill. Since the year 2000, people from Munich and elsewhere have enjoyed the hearty regional dishes at Wirtshaus Ayingers, which is next door, while the charming stores and eateries in the "Platzlgassen" add to the lively atmosphere in the Platzl. Our outside bar the Platzl Karree presents a unique bar concept in Munich's old town. Because of the stylish and yet down-to-earth design the fine balancing act between tradition and modernity with the Platzl Karree is perfectly realized. The dominating colors anthracite with burgundy and the dark parquet flooring create a bar to relax and enjoy. Dear Guests, we are renovating our underground parking until May. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this may cause. Following car parks are at your disposal: Car park Hofbräuhaus Hochbrückenstraße 9 80331 Munich Car park Opera Max-Joseph-Platz 4 80539 Munich Your Platzl Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Low Cost Holidays so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing