We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel, great location , friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Platzl Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Platzl Hotel to your Saves list
Platzl Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“A wonderful hotel, great location , friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

A wonderful hotel, great location , friendly

staff spacialy from Sarah Pfeil, wonderful breakfast,highly recommend
very clean' very near to the pedestrian mall, near to the subway train

we will stay again in this hotel for sure and recommend to other traveller.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    429
    56
    26
    11
See reviews for
244
589
123
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Rarely have I stayed in lodging at any price point and been completely satisfied.The Platzl Staff are all Top Notch,Friendly,Efficient,always a smile,made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived.The Location is unbeatable,Marionplatze,Many,Many other attractions walking distance.Transportation a short walk to the train station.Food was excellent,rooms,very clean and well kept.Would consider this Hotel a must for any trip to Munich.Does not get any better than the Platzl.Looking forward to our return already.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamhill, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have stayed at the Platzl twice on business in Munich. The location is fantastic: very near the Marienplatz and, therefore, the subway system and also near the Hofbrauhaus and open air markets. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the best thing of all may be the breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Excellent location in the very heart of Munich close to the main cultural interest places and shopping area. Nice rooms which are clean a well kept. Pleasant staff. The breakfast could be a bit improved. Still, g reat value for money. We definitely recommend Platzl Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is a proper old school Bavarian hotel. Rich with wood and leather. Staff are great and its so well located near all local amenities. I won't go on about it, just read the positive reviews and book.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

This was ideal for my stay in Munich. Very nice and parking garage for the rental. A little difficult to navigate to the site by GPS but worth it. Convenient to many things in city center. Staff was very helpful, and the room was nice. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
72 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Once again, I will give the Platzl Hotel, Munich a five star rating. I was there from the 15th of March to the 19th of March, 2013, and enjoyed every minute of my stay. The facilities and the staff are wonderful. The amenities are great and fruhstuck (breakfast) is delicious. I strongly recommend the Platzl for anyone visiting Munich who wants to be in the center of town near Marienplatz and the Hofbrauhaus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#6 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 744 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#4 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 822 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cortiina Hotel
Cortiina Hotel
#14 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Louis Hotel
Louis Hotel
#10 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#7 Family Hotel in Munich
#11 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You place great importance on quality and want to be right in the middle of Munich's city life? Then Platzl Hotel Munich and its culinary offerings are the address for you. This traditional four-star Superior Hotel and its two popular restaurants - the Pfistermuhle and Wirtshaus Ayingers - are located in the heart of Munich's old city, right beside the famous Hofbrauhaus. And just a short walk from the Marienplatz, the Bavarian State Opera, Maximilianstrasse and Viktualienmarkt. The Inselkammer family and its team combine Bavarian hospitality and traditional style elements with a modern lifestyle and state-of-the-art technology. It begins with a warm welcome in the foyer, continues through the 167 guest rooms and only ends when you leave Munich through the city's historic quarter. This combination of tradition and modernity also creates the ideal setting for private celebrations such as birthdays or weddings, but also conferences and seminars. Your visit should also include a taste of the culinary offerings at our two restaurants - because gastronomy has a long tradition at the Platzl. As early as the beginning of the last century, the Platzl stage was graced not just by cabaret giants such as Karl Valentin. Good Bavarian food also made repeat appearances, being served to guests before and after the performances. Today, the Pfistermuhle is synonymous with sophisticated Bavarian cuisine - at Munich's only preserved city mill. Since the year 2000, people from Munich and elsewhere have enjoyed the hearty regional dishes at Wirtshaus Ayingers, which is next door, while the charming stores and eateries in the "Platzlgassen" add to the lively atmosphere in the Platzl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Platzl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.