We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Platzl Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Platzl Hotel to your Saves list
Platzl Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Nashua, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Everthing the reviews have said is true. Great hotel: clean, near all the historic center sites, the inner courtyard rooms are quiter but in the winter probably no diffference the street side. The room we had was small but typical of European rooms.

You will go wrong with this hotel, service was excellent. Their ajoing restuarant Pffistermule is also has excellent Bavarian food and great service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    426
    56
    26
    11
See reviews for
243
584
123
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Wow what a fantastic hotel. Everything, not just location. The reception staff are the friendliest I've every come across. The guy that brought our bags to the room was just so lovely and sweet. The room was so lovely and comfy. Beds are sooo comfy. A nice added touch was the toblerone chocolate as I'm a big chocolate lover. Shower was lovely and powerful. Breakfast was very nice. Could do with more staff clearing the tables but this is not a big complaint. The cereal was just yummy. Coffee very good also. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: I asked to be the other side of the hotel away from the beer house and this was no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights on a trip to Munich to see the Christmas markets. Munich is a lovely old city and the hotel is ideally situated just two to three minutes walk away from the central 12th century Marienplatz. I was surprised to see one reviewer describe the hotel as old fashioned. That is an important part of its charm as are the the restrained efficient helpful and courteous staff. This is so refreshing if you are used to the large hotel chains.. The rooms are perhaps a little on the small side compared with the large holiday resorts but perfectly adequate. The breakfasts are excellent with freshly squeezed fruit juice, a variety of eggs, cerials and meats. The bread is crusty and tasty and the coffee is outstanding. We did eat at the gourmet restaurant which was not to my taste. I love rabbit but the saddle of rabbit served here tasted more like rather tough lambs liver. Nevertheless there is an alternative restaurant here are many good restaurants nearby not least the atmospheric Ratskeller in the Marienplatz

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I booked a twin room for 3 nights in November. The room was fairly compact, but it worked great for two of us because of the very large walk-in closet. It was easy to store luggage and clothing out of the way. The room had a beautiful, very modern bathroom. The room and bathroom were absolutely immaculate -- the standards of cleanliness are very high at this hotel. I've stayed here in the past and remembered the lavish breakfast buffet that was included in the room rate. Well, the breakfast buffet is still lavish and beautifully presented. The breakfast room is a lovely, cheerful room and quite spacious. On this trip I tried both of the restaurants associated with the hotel. There is the more casual Ayingers and the somewhat more formal Phistermuhle. They were both excellent. The hotel staff was also very helpful about making other restaurant recommendations. I will certainly stay here on future trips to Munich.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We choose this hotel for our annual seminar with 40 international people. We were happily surprised with the facilities and more the services offered. The staff is very friendly and helpful all the time. All requests were attended to. This makes or breaks a seminar and ours was really great. All participants were very satifsfied with the hotel facilities, rooms and meals. This coming from frequent travellers is a very nice compliment. Definitely a recommendation in Munich.

Room Tip: ruhiger am innenseite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel is located in a very nice area of Munich. At the same time, it is still very quite. it is a little bit old fashion and the rooms are not that big (poor americans...). Still, staff is very friendly and helpful. I would certanly come back a next time in Munich

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I am writing this review on behalf of my mother-in-law. I had booked a 3 night stay first week of Nov '12) for my mother-in-law and her sister who traveled to Munich. They stayed for 3 nights at Platzl Munich.
LOCATION: central location a few steps away from the main sights and shopping of Munich, few steps away from Hofbrauhaus, Residenz, Marienplatz. cannot find a better location!
RECEIPTION: From the check-in time the staff were very helpful and friendly, the room was ready within minutes. The staff have given very helpful information about Munich sights and information about the shopping and restaurants around. they never get tired of our questions!
ROOMS: Very clean and good space,
BREAKFAST: Amazing food, Fresh breads and great variety.
RESERVATIONS: From my side as i made the reservations, the reservations dept is very helpful and fast in replying. Original documents for my credit card (receipt+hotel folio) was mailed to me also (which i did not ask for) that was nice of them to do.
SPECIAL THANK YOU: to Ms Isabella Hinkofer from Reservations & Mr. Stefan Böhm Director of Sales & Marketing for their help!
i cant wait to go there and enjoy this hotel myself!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#5 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#4 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 814 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#6 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cortiina Hotel
Cortiina Hotel
#14 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Louis Hotel
Louis Hotel
#11 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#5 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#6 Family Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You place great importance on quality and want to be right in the middle of Munich's city life? Then Platzl Hotel Munich and its culinary offerings are the address for you. This traditional four-star Superior Hotel and its two popular restaurants - the Pfistermuhle and Wirtshaus Ayingers - are located in the heart of Munich's old city, right beside the famous Hofbrauhaus. And just a short walk from the Marienplatz, the Bavarian State Opera, Maximilianstrasse and Viktualienmarkt. The Inselkammer family and its team combine Bavarian hospitality and traditional style elements with a modern lifestyle and state-of-the-art technology. It begins with a warm welcome in the foyer, continues through the 167 guest rooms and only ends when you leave Munich through the city's historic quarter. This combination of tradition and modernity also creates the ideal setting for private celebrations such as birthdays or weddings, but also conferences and seminars. Your visit should also include a taste of the culinary offerings at our two restaurants - because gastronomy has a long tradition at the Platzl. As early as the beginning of the last century, the Platzl stage was graced not just by cabaret giants such as Karl Valentin. Good Bavarian food also made repeat appearances, being served to guests before and after the performances. Today, the Pfistermuhle is synonymous with sophisticated Bavarian cuisine - at Munich's only preserved city mill. Since the year 2000, people from Munich and elsewhere have enjoyed the hearty regional dishes at Wirtshaus Ayingers, which is next door, while the charming stores and eateries in the "Platzlgassen" add to the lively atmosphere in the Platzl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Platzl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.