We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't take heed of bad reviews - they are nonsence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Platzl Hotel

Save Saved
You added Platzl Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Platzl Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 382 hotels in Munich
Galway Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't take heed of bad reviews - they are nonsence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Wow what a fantastic hotel. Everything, not just location. The reception staff are the friendliest I've every come across. The guy that brought our bags to the room was just so lovely and sweet. The room was so lovely and comfy. Beds are sooo comfy. A nice added touch was the toblerone chocolate as I'm a big chocolate lover. Shower was lovely and powerful. Breakfast was very nice. Could do with more staff clearing the tables but this is not a big complaint. The cereal was just yummy. Coffee very good also. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: I asked to be the other side of the hotel away from the beer house and this was no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    590
    294
    40
    22
    6
See reviews for
153
378
94
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights on a trip to Munich to see the Christmas markets. Munich is a lovely old city and the hotel is ideally situated just two to three minutes walk away from the central 12th century Marienplatz. I was surprised to see one reviewer describe the hotel as old fashioned. That is an important part of its charm as are the the restrained efficient helpful and courteous staff. This is so refreshing if you are used to the large hotel chains.. The rooms are perhaps a little on the small side compared with the large holiday resorts but perfectly adequate. The breakfasts are excellent with freshly squeezed fruit juice, a variety of eggs, cerials and meats. The bread is crusty and tasty and the coffee is outstanding. We did eat at the gourmet restaurant which was not to my taste. I love rabbit but the saddle of rabbit served here tasted more like rather tough lambs liver. Nevertheless there is an alternative restaurant here are many good restaurants nearby not least the atmospheric Ratskeller in the Marienplatz

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I booked a twin room for 3 nights in November. The room was fairly compact, but it worked great for two of us because of the very large walk-in closet. It was easy to store luggage and clothing out of the way. The room had a beautiful, very modern bathroom. The room and bathroom were absolutely immaculate -- the standards of cleanliness are very high at this hotel. I've stayed here in the past and remembered the lavish breakfast buffet that was included in the room rate. Well, the breakfast buffet is still lavish and beautifully presented. The breakfast room is a lovely, cheerful room and quite spacious. On this trip I tried both of the restaurants associated with the hotel. There is the more casual Ayingers and the somewhat more formal Phistermuhle. They were both excellent. The hotel staff was also very helpful about making other restaurant recommendations. I will certainly stay here on future trips to Munich.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belge
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We choose this hotel for our annual seminar with 40 international people. We were happily surprised with the facilities and more the services offered. The staff is very friendly and helpful all the time. All requests were attended to. This makes or breaks a seminar and ours was really great. All participants were very satifsfied with the hotel facilities, rooms and meals. This coming from frequent travellers is a very nice compliment. Definitely a recommendation in Munich.

Room Tip: ruhiger am innenseite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel is located in a very nice area of Munich. At the same time, it is still very quite. it is a little bit old fashion and the rooms are not that big (poor americans...). Still, staff is very friendly and helpful. I would certanly come back a next time in Munich

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I am writing this review on behalf of my mother-in-law. I had booked a 3 night stay first week of Nov '12) for my mother-in-law and her sister who traveled to Munich. They stayed for 3 nights at Platzl Munich.
LOCATION: central location a few steps away from the main sights and shopping of Munich, few steps away from Hofbrauhaus, Residenz, Marienplatz. cannot find a better location!
RECEIPTION: From the check-in time the staff were very helpful and friendly, the room was ready within minutes. The staff have given very helpful information about Munich sights and information about the shopping and restaurants around. they never get tired of our questions!
ROOMS: Very clean and good space,
BREAKFAST: Amazing food, Fresh breads and great variety.
RESERVATIONS: From my side as i made the reservations, the reservations dept is very helpful and fast in replying. Original documents for my credit card (receipt+hotel folio) was mailed to me also (which i did not ask for) that was nice of them to do.
SPECIAL THANK YOU: to Ms Isabella Hinkofer from Reservations & Mr. Stefan Böhm Director of Sales & Marketing for their help!
i cant wait to go there and enjoy this hotel myself!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The perfect antidote to Hilton, Marriot, Conrad & etc. Not that there is anything wrong with the upper end chains, but they tend to divorce you from the flavour of the locality. This, by contrast, is a local hotel that is true to its roots, right in the middle of the action in central Munich with all the shops and restaurants you could wish for within a 5 minute walk. The staff are attentive and courteous, and rooms clean and well (rather than sumptuously) furnished. There is an excellent restaurant within the hotel complex serving tasty local cuisine (not as stodgy as you might think, though carbohydrates do figure prominently). Breakfast is one of the best I've had anywhere with an excellent variety of hot and cold savouries, yoghurts, muesli & etc again with friendly service. They even make a good cup of tea; rare in Germany where somewhat bizarrely a slice of lemon tends to replace milk. Downsides: you're within 50 metres of what appears to be the largest beer serving emporium in the whole world, so it can be quite noisy depending on where your room is. Notwithstanding this, I will return-and bring the family...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#8 Family Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Platzl Hotel" is located in Munich's historical old city and is an ideal point of departure for business and pleasure activities. Marienplatz, with subway connections to the main station, the airport and the new Trade Fair Centre in Riem, is only a few steps away from the hotel. The world-famous Hofbrauhaus, the Viktualienmarkt open-air food market, the Bavarian State Opera and the renowned Maximilianstrasse with its vast array of luxury boutiques are likewise only a short walk away. Your four star hotel in the centre of Munich, Germany Accommodation rooms The Platzl Hotel has 165 rooms, a Bavarian suite, and a junior suite. Parking - no problem Central location (directions) - but no parking problems. There are more than 80 parking places in the hotel's own underground garage available to guests who arrive by car. The garage is open 24 hours a day. Conference and meeting facilities Five banquet and conference rooms for up to 140 persons. The Muller-Pfister-Stube is ideal for private parties. This room, paneled in fragrant Swiss pine, dates back to the year 1573 and can accommodate up to 40 persons. Bavarian-style restaurants Restaurant Pfistermuhle: offers you upscale Bavarian cuisine Ayingers Inn: hearty Bavarian specialties as well as modern dishes in old Munich style and seven different beers on tap ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Platzl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.