We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, center of Munich, amazing staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Platzl Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Platzl Hotel to your Saves list
Platzl Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, UAE
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, center of Munich, amazing staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I am writing this review on behalf of my mother-in-law. I had booked a 3 night stay first week of Nov '12) for my mother-in-law and her sister who traveled to Munich. They stayed for 3 nights at Platzl Munich.
LOCATION: central location a few steps away from the main sights and shopping of Munich, few steps away from Hofbrauhaus, Residenz, Marienplatz. cannot find a better location!
RECEIPTION: From the check-in time the staff were very helpful and friendly, the room was ready within minutes. The staff have given very helpful information about Munich sights and information about the shopping and restaurants around. they never get tired of our questions!
ROOMS: Very clean and good space,
BREAKFAST: Amazing food, Fresh breads and great variety.
RESERVATIONS: From my side as i made the reservations, the reservations dept is very helpful and fast in replying. Original documents for my credit card (receipt+hotel folio) was mailed to me also (which i did not ask for) that was nice of them to do.
SPECIAL THANK YOU: to Ms Isabella Hinkofer from Reservations & Mr. Stefan Böhm Director of Sales & Marketing for their help!
i cant wait to go there and enjoy this hotel myself!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    394
    53
    25
    10
See reviews for
217
522
117
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The perfect antidote to Hilton, Marriot, Conrad & etc. Not that there is anything wrong with the upper end chains, but they tend to divorce you from the flavour of the locality. This, by contrast, is a local hotel that is true to its roots, right in the middle of the action in central Munich with all the shops and restaurants you could wish for within a 5 minute walk. The staff are attentive and courteous, and rooms clean and well (rather than sumptuously) furnished. There is an excellent restaurant within the hotel complex serving tasty local cuisine (not as stodgy as you might think, though carbohydrates do figure prominently). Breakfast is one of the best I've had anywhere with an excellent variety of hot and cold savouries, yoghurts, muesli & etc again with friendly service. They even make a good cup of tea; rare in Germany where somewhat bizarrely a slice of lemon tends to replace milk. Downsides: you're within 50 metres of what appears to be the largest beer serving emporium in the whole world, so it can be quite noisy depending on where your room is. Notwithstanding this, I will return-and bring the family...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

A solidly run hotel that's extremely near anything of interest in Munich. (Near the underground, too, which made it extremely easy to get to and from the Munich airport. We stayed for one night on the way to Fussen and Ludwig's castles, and three nights on our way back to New York via Munich. We were able to book the same room for both stays -- a comfortable room facing into a courtyard on the "quiet" side of the hotel. The Platzl breakfast is famous, or should be -- beautifully laid out on a buffet in a big, handsome room, with the bonus of extremely attentive wait staff. The hotel seemed very popular with business people, which made more puzzling the not-great WiFi access and the rather old-fashioned approach to access for guests via a password obtained from the desk. (This has probably been worked on since our stay in September.) The staff were friendly enough, and seemed to warm up a bit during our second stay. I would recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to learn Munich as a walker. The location can't be beat. And as a professional marketer, I've been charmed by the emails I've received from the hotel since staying there. They are doing a nice job of staying in touch with their customers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

A very nice hotel in the historic part of Marienplatz.

An old building that has a quality finish inside. Room was spotless and had a modern finish.

Had to go outside and walk around the corner to get to the restaurant, but not the end of the world, its the same building but not accessable from the lobby.

The only reason why i haven't given the full 5* is because of the price, but it was during a very busy period for hotels in Munich, so prices were high(er) everywhere. Get what you pay for here though, can i give a 4.75/5!

Come out of the u-bahn and walk under the 'walls to the city' archway, turn left and its up on the right, butler on the door waiting.

Certainly would return here.

Room Tip: From reading the reviews here i opted for a quiet room (at a premium), but was unsure as to how much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italy
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The location is very central, near Marienplatz and all places of interest. Breakfast was very good, an ample spread of hot and cold plates served in a large and airy place.Service at the breakfast tables was not exceptional. The hotel has 4 room price levels according to their size (from 18 to 26 sq.mt.) and, I suspect, to their facing or not the large beerhouse nearby which is very noisy at night. Our room was 24 sq.mt. and felt very small, the bed was OK but the 3 feather pillows were horrendously soft and empty thus making my sleep a misery. The bathroom had a tub with a screen to be used if you want to take a shower: not very comfortable, toilettries were just average, the sound of the TV in the bathroom was uncomfortably loud with no way of switching it off. The staff at the reception was unfriendly to say the least: and certainly tried their best to make you feel unwelcome. Wifi is free for 24 hrs (i.e. from noon to noon) but you have to ask (they do not inform you) for the tricky password, also it works in the lobby not in the room where you are otherwise charged and this is really maddening given that free wifi is found in small and big hotels all over. All in all it could have been a more pleasant stay and we certainly were expecting much more value for the money they charge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking into the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I shall use a very simple scheme in this review: the positives and then the negatives.

Positives:
The location. Is there a more centrally located hotel in Munich? Hardly. You come out the door and everything is there for you. Marvellous.
A very clean hotel. We arrived back after a very early lunch to discover our room was being cleaned. We waited, and waited, and waited. They certainly do a thorough job.
The bar and foyer area is very pleasant. A most congenial elder barman.
Breakfast is very satisfactory; really scrummy home-made muesli.
The "wellness" area is very small, but perfectly formed. It doesn't get much use however, and we found ourselves alone there on both occasions we used it.
Parking is underground right beside the hotel entrance; the lift brings you right up to your room. Very handy indeed. €19 per day is good value for central Munich.
In general this is a very well-bolted-together establishment. Ja wohl!

Negatives:
On one day the drain in the shower emitted a very bad smell. Then it disappeared. Didn't complain.
The most annoying thing was that on neither of the two mornings we stayed there did the newspaper we ordered the previous evening arrive at our door. Again, we didn't bother complaining; it wasn't that essential anyway.
One has to pay for the small bottle of water in the room; oh come on, that's just plain mean.
The wifi simply did not work with the iPhone; they admitted there was a problem. So beware if the only way you have to connect is your iPhone.
Surprised that there was no turn-down service.

BUT: We would certainly return here, and would not even consider elsewhere, mainly because of the location, and the solid value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I take the opposite view to the reviewer who writes "Staff could be rude and breakfast was poor." The staff I encountered were courteous and helpful, while breakast offered a good quality buffet with the option of ordering eggs cooked to one's specification. As other guests correctly state, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from Marienplatz, making it ideally located for exploring the city. My room's sound proofing couldn't quite drown out the noise from the nearby Hofbräuhaus, the famous beer hall which is always packed to the rafters. But it was a Saturday night and thousands of Bayern Munich fans were celebrating their team's earlier victory. Ear plugs to the rescue! All in all, the Platzl is a first class hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#9 Family Hotel in Munich
#11 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You place great importance on quality and want to be right in the middle of Munich's city life? Then Platzl Hotel Munich and its culinary offerings are the address for you. This traditional four-star Superior Hotel and its two popular restaurants - the Pfistermuhle and Wirtshaus Ayingers - are located in the heart of Munich's old city, right beside the famous Hofbrauhaus. And just a short walk from the Marienplatz, the Bavarian State Opera, Maximilianstrasse and Viktualienmarkt. The Inselkammer family and its team combine Bavarian hospitality and traditional style elements with a modern lifestyle and state-of-the-art technology. It begins with a warm welcome in the foyer, continues through the 167 guest rooms and only ends when you leave Munich through the city's historic quarter. This combination of tradition and modernity also creates the ideal setting for private celebrations such as birthdays or weddings, but also conferences and seminars. Your visit should also include a taste of the culinary offerings at our two restaurants - because gastronomy has a long tradition at the Platzl. As early as the beginning of the last century, the Platzl stage was graced not just by cabaret giants such as Karl Valentin. Good Bavarian food also made repeat appearances, being served to guests before and after the performances. Today, the Pfistermuhle is synonymous with sophisticated Bavarian cuisine - at Munich's only preserved city mill. Since the year 2000, people from Munich and elsewhere have enjoyed the hearty regional dishes at Wirtshaus Ayingers, which is next door, while the charming stores and eateries in the "Platzlgassen" add to the lively atmosphere in the Platzl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Platzl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.