We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect base for exploring Munich.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Platzl Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Platzl Hotel to your Saves list
Platzl Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 378 Hotels in Munich
Swords, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The perfect base for exploring Munich.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Spent four nights at the Platzl hotel and couldn't fault the place. The Staff are fantastic - always good-humoured, and our room was spotless. The breakfast was one of the most relaxing and comprehensive we've experienced. WiFi available everywhere (although you have to use a different, fiddly password every 24 hours). Location us great. We would have liked a kettle in the bedroom but otherwise we loved the place and wouldn't look anywhere else next time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    315
    41
    23
    8
See reviews for
163
415
96
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weil am Rhein, Germany
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The big advantage of this hotel is its location, which is in the very heart of Munich. Service all the way through was swift, efficient and friendly. This applies in particular to the reception staff but also to the staff in the breakfast room and other.

My room was spacious, well equipped and with all amenities one would expect plus some nice small extras.Sound insulation by windows and doors was very good which provided for a good and undisturbed sleep. I did like the bath room and the bed was comfortable. Cleanliness was good. The design of the room and all of the hotel was very old-fashioned and nothing particular at all.

Breakfast was not outstanding but with a nice choice and quality was ok.

The only real negative aspect of the stay was a slight smell of smoke in the room which seemed to come from air-conditioning. The hotel seems to cater a lot to smokers with a cigarette dispenser right in front of the breakfast room. I don't think that this is anymore up-to-date. You should consider this if you don't like smoke or if you are travelling with young children.

Price was adequate but only in view of the very central location. If you consider staying a short taxi or underground ride away from the centre, there's a couple of hotels with better value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nord-Est
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Right in the city centre with all facilities, friendly staff ready to help.
Fantastic buffet breakfast. I was there for business but taking its location in consideration, it must be very convenient for tourism as the hotel is in the very historical area of Munich.
If you are single, ensure you get a "double room - single use" as the hotel still runs single rooms that are very small rooms with a single bed. However, the bathroom with the large shower was a kind of relief...

Room Tip: Avoid the tiny single rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUNICH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have stayed at the Platzl Hotel for our visits to Munich The staff have all been extremely welcoming and helpful.Their local knowledge from all of them shows that they have been trained in all aspects of hospitality.
The rooms are large enough for you to rest properly after a long journey.They are well maintained,serviced and all your needs catered for.
The location is ideal for any visit to Munich.Central to the markets,shops,restaurants and heart of the old town.Excellant in all aspects and we will return next year.

Excellent in all aspects and we will return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

i hvae stayed in the platzl for the second time, and it was again a pleasure. i am not particularly fond of its design but the rest is perfect: service, friendliness, location, location, location, breakfast. easy to reach by public transportation ( marienplatz one of the main crossroads), walkingdistance to all innercity touristsites like the viktualienmarkt, cityhall, shoppingstreet plus plus plus. and i guess the design is how most tourists expect a german hotel to look like :) enjoy - you will

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you don't smoke, be careful. When we booked the hotel through their own site over internet, we didn't see any place to choose between smoking or non smoking room. So we thought the hotel was smoking free. Big mistake!
They give us a room with a terrible smell and when we asked why, they said we must have asked for a non smoking room. The thing is that we could not find this option in the site. When my husband called the reception, asking about it, they said that they could move us to another room in the same smoking floor, because the last guest didn't smoke!!!!!!So, if you don't smoke, be careful!
In spite of it, the staff, mainly the ladies, is very helpful and the location is perfect. Also the breakfast is very good.
Unfortunately, the smell in our room, even in the pillows, was so bad that we can't forget the experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bancroft, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Excellent hotel, right in the heart of Munich's old city centre. The Platzl Hotel exceeded my expectations and I will be a repeat customer. The breakast and service was awesome. My room was small, but I was prepared for it, however the decor and attention to little details was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#9 Family Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Platzl Hotel" is located in Munich's historical old city and is an ideal point of departure for business and pleasure activities. Marienplatz, with subway connections to the main station, the airport and the new Trade Fair Centre in Riem, is only a few steps away from the hotel. The world-famous Hofbrauhaus, the Viktualienmarkt open-air food market, the Bavarian State Opera and the renowned Maximilianstrasse with its vast array of luxury boutiques are likewise only a short walk away. Your four star hotel in the centre of Munich, Germany Accommodation rooms The Platzl Hotel has 165 rooms, a Bavarian suite, and a junior suite. Parking - no problem Central location (directions) - but no parking problems. There are more than 80 parking places in the hotel's own underground garage available to guests who arrive by car. The garage is open 24 hours a day. Conference and meeting facilities Five banquet and conference rooms for up to 140 persons. The Muller-Pfister-Stube is ideal for private parties. This room, paneled in fragrant Swiss pine, dates back to the year 1573 and can accommodate up to 40 persons. Bavarian-style restaurants Restaurant Pfistermuhle: offers you upscale Bavarian cuisine Ayingers Inn: hearty Bavarian specialties as well as modern dishes in old Munich style and seven different beers on tap ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Platzl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;