We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, a lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Platzl Hotel

Save Saved
You added Platzl Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Platzl Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 383 hotels in Munich
Amstelveen
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perfect location, a lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We had an excellent stay here. It is great to stay in this much comfort in a hotel which is so close to the Marienplatz and many other sights. I did not find the standard size room we had at all small, as some travelers have suggested, and the bathroom was also well equipped. The room is not elaborately decorated but is very pleasant and all the furnishings look new and in good repair. Room was spotlessly clean. Breakfast buffet was very tasty and extensive, if not overwhelming (the fresh fruit salad looked a little tired). We had no problems with noise; air conditioning on one warm night worked flawlessly. Internet is a bit of a problem, only one computer with antiquated keyboard available for guest use, and wireless is not available in rooms at all. Apparently they should have it in the lobby, but it was out of order when we arrived, and I had the impression that there was a charge for that as well, which it certainly should not be. Another feature of the hotel that we loved was the small spa area, which is decorated in Moorish style. It was absolutely charming and the steam bath was the prettiest place to sweat that I’ve ever seen in a hotel. Not cheap (it seems to be difficult to get a discounted rate here), but we if we come again to Munich, we will stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    585
    292
    41
    22
    6
See reviews for
152
374
94
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The rooms and amenities of this hotel are very average whilst the service is poor; we had specifically requested a quiet room but got a room that faced the Brauhaus across the street, which needless to say was very noisy, and when we mentioned this to reception, they didn't seem to care, only asking if we'd closed the window. The service we got from reception at check-in was rather rude too; the decor and amenities are very bland and average; rooms are on the small side. We definitely won't be staying here next time; at these rates, we expected more and there are plenty of other, better choices in Munich.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We chose this hotel for the premium location and fair price, but it was much nicer than we had hoped. The room was clean, quiet, with modern updates, and large! A one or two block walk to Marienplatz, the Viktualienmarkt, the Hofbräuhaus, and great restaurants and shopping. We were in Munich for only two nights so we didn't have much time, but we got to experience the best of Old Town without ever needing to take transportation. Helpful, courteous staff and terrific breakfast as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

You can't get a better location. It's right in the heart of the Old Town. Marienplatz is a block away, and the Hofbrauhaus is across the street for thosing wanting to indulge in the real Bavarian spirit of beer, pretzels and singing. Rooms are small but comfortable. Most rooms do not have tubs. The air conditioning is fantastic. Considering its location the price is fairly reasonable. However, they need to improve their concierge services.

Room Tip: Rooms have double paned glass. However, the quietest rooms face the side of the hotel not facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I came to Munich from Berlin, where I stayed at the Swissotel, where I was greeted warmly, by a very professional desk staff. I was made to feel welcome immediately. In contrast, when I arrived at the Platzl I got the feeling that the unsmiling woman clerk who checked me in could have cared less that I was there. My room at the Platzl was small, but neat. The bathroom had a very awkward to use soap system and the sink was so poorly designed that I had to remove the stopper each time I ran the water because the drainage was so slow that the water kept rising too high in the sink when I washed. The daily breakfasts were excellent, as was the restaurant staff. And over the period of my stay some of the desk staff were a little friendlier and more helpful. The location was quite good, but I have no intention of returning to the hotel when I return to Munich.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

As always, staying at the Platzl Hotel was a great experience. The hotel staff is courteous and efficient. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. The room was very comfortable. I was on the fourth floor, so it was probably a little warmer than the lower floors, but the air conditioning unit made it cool and comfortable. Of course, the location of the hotel is a huge reason why I've stayed here so often. If you're going to Munich, I highly recommend staying at the Platzl Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Hotel has an understated exterior with a beautiful interior. Convenient location right around the corner from the Marienplatz (S station) and in the middle of cafes, shopping, restaurants etc. An easy walk from the station. Touristy in Marienplatz area but a short walk in any direction takes you to less busy (interesting, beautiful) areas. (Residenz Museum; English Gardens) The Hofbrauhaus (beer hall) and Hard Rock Cafe are two blocks around the corner... Hofbrauhaus is a must see for beer drinking visitors.
All staff very professional, friendly and helpful. All spoke English and were very accommodating and polite. Allowed to check into our room early. Sat in lobby area which was very nice. The bartender came out of the bar area to wait on us very quickly (such service was not common in other places we visited) which we appreciated as we'd been traveling for several hours.
The room was very comfortable and well appointed. Large shower/bathroom (European standards), comfortable bed with extra pillows; soundproofed; clean carpet, tall windows that opened (but noisier when open) with floor to ceiling beautiful heavy drapes that darkened the room for good sleep when closed. Fabulous (good working) air conditioning (which we used). Felt like a higher end hotel; room service available. We did not get the breakfast included in our rate as it was too pricey for us but the restaurant smelled wonderful when we walked by.
This is a first rate hotel/staff. This will be our first choice when we return to Munich.

Room Tip: Surrounded by buildings but we didn't care about view as we were not in room much. View can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#5 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#6 Family Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Platzl Hotel" is located in Munich's historical old city and is an ideal point of departure for business and pleasure activities. Marienplatz, with subway connections to the main station, the airport and the new Trade Fair Centre in Riem, is only a few steps away from the hotel. The world-famous Hofbrauhaus, the Viktualienmarkt open-air food market, the Bavarian State Opera and the renowned Maximilianstrasse with its vast array of luxury boutiques are likewise only a short walk away. Your four star hotel in the centre of Munich, Germany Accommodation rooms The Platzl Hotel has 165 rooms, a Bavarian suite, and a junior suite. Parking - no problem Central location (directions) - but no parking problems. There are more than 80 parking places in the hotel's own underground garage available to guests who arrive by car. The garage is open 24 hours a day. Conference and meeting facilities Five banquet and conference rooms for up to 140 persons. The Muller-Pfister-Stube is ideal for private parties. This room, paneled in fragrant Swiss pine, dates back to the year 1573 and can accommodate up to 40 persons. Bavarian-style restaurants Restaurant Pfistermuhle: offers you upscale Bavarian cuisine Ayingers Inn: hearty Bavarian specialties as well as modern dishes in old Munich style and seven different beers on tap ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Platzl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.