We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Prinz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Prinz to your Saves list
Hotel Prinz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hochstrasse 45, 81541 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 384 Hotels in Munich
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed b&b on a Saturday & Sunday night. Chose the hotel because it's handy for the Deutsches Museum - just 10 minutes walk away. It's got good underground parking right next door, which can accommodate taller vehicles.

Reception - in fact all staff - were very friendly and helpful throughout. The dining room wasn't running that weekend (it's more of a business hotel, so busy through the week and quiet at weekends - better check if dining in the hotel is important to you), but the receptionist provided a good selection of tasty sandwiches which was fine for us.

The bedroom was a good size, with an enormous and comfortable bed and plentry wardrobe space, plus magazines and slippers. Ensuite was a bit tight, but well fitted out - good shower and supply of gels. Our room was at the back - a bit of children-type noise early evening, but quiet overnight.

We had the patio and bar to ourselves on the Sunday night which was a rare treat in a city-centre hotel.

Breakfasts were outstanding - huge selection of fruit, meats, cheeses, plus hot eggs and sausages. Again, great service with endless coffee refills.

We were really impressed by this hotel, and would (will) stay again when in Munich. The staff are the stars here - very, very friendly and helpful - among the very best I've come across. The only reason for giving 4 stars rather than 5 (should be 4.5 really) is the lack of evening meals during our stay.

Room Tip: It's not a noisy area overnight, but rooms at the back might be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPrinz, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Prinz, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Clarsach,

Thank you for your great review and that you share your experience with others. We are pleased to read from you that you were very satisfied, especially with our service, breakfast and last but not least our rooms.

We are already looking forward forward to make also your next stay an unforgettable experience and to welcome you again.

For the team of the Hotel Prinz

Benjamin Neubersch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    31
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
17
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

A really local hotel with a great service and exceptional quality in room for a 4-star.
The booking was smooth, the price was good and the room very quiet. I liked the Prince cookies waiting in the room: so Munich.
The breakfast was indeed excellent. Will go there again, especially for the neighbourhood and the hotel amenities.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPrinz, Manager at Hotel Prinz, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Google Translation
Es freut uns, dass es Ihnen bei uns gefallen hat und wir danken Ihnen für das Lob.

Wir freuen uns auf Ihren nächsten Besuch!

Ihr

Hotel Prinz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyshannon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I spent one night there at the end of a business trip, to go to a concert in the Philharmonie nearby. This is a lovely hotel. I had a very spacious room, with good quality, tasteful furniture, an entrance hall, lots of standing lights, spotlessly clean, free WiFi, excellent breakfast and really nice and helpful staff. I used public transport, so I got off the train at Munich East and then it was very easy and quick to get there by bus or tram. I travelled alone, and I felt very comfortable in this Hotel and surroundings. There was also a really good Turkish restaurant nearby, and I would like to recommend this, too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPrinz, Manager at Hotel Prinz, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Ms. White,

we are really glad that you had a nice time during your stay and we hope to welcome you again for your next time in Munich.

We wish you all the best,

Hotel Prinz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed 1 night at this hotel while crossing Germany. Very quiet location (we took a room with view towards the inner garden), clean everywhere.Room was very well aerated once we arrived and heating was fully functional. There is an underground garage with 9.50 euros per day that is quite spacious unless you are driving an SUV.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I booked the Prinz for a two night stay whilst visiting Oktoberfest and it served me very well indeed.

Located about a two minute walk from the tram, (or a ten minute walk from the S-Bahn, which was quite pleasant the morning after) it is pretty well placed to base yourself for a sightseeing or business trip to Munich.

Difficult to comment on pricing given that I stayed during Oktoberfest and everywhere in Munich jacks their prices up during those three weeks, but breakfast was definitely worth the extra 12.50 Euros!

Having booked a single room, I wasn't sure what I'd get, but was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. The single bed was generously sized and the room was plenty big enough and equipped to make my short stay comfortable.

I'd definitely stay at the Prinz again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebermannstadt, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Nice Hotel, near to city center with parking garage! Spacious room, friendly staff! Bike rental available, which is exellent due to city near location! Museums and many sights in easy reach, also public transport!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed recently for a weekend. A friendly welcome, we had a 'suite' which comprised a double bedroom and a sitting room with a sofa which converted to a bed for our son. Small bathroom but well equipped. The hotel is on a hill overlooking the city centre which is about a 15minute walk away. The price was right for the location and quality. Would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Prinz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prinz

Address: Hochstrasse 45, 81541 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#78 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Prinz 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High above Munich but still in the midst of it all…welcome to Hotel Prinz Hotel Prinz is an ideal location for business trips or city sightseeing tours in Munich.The hotel is near downtown but quietly situated high above the Isar with a view of the city center. In just a few minutes you can walk to one of the many public transportation options, or take a stroll on the footpaths into town. The Gasteig cultural center is across the street, and the world-famous Deutsches Museum (for science and technology lovers) is around the corner. A relaxing sojourn is just a stone’s throw away, in the charming meadows along the Isar or in the traditional Nockherberg beer garden. The lively neighborhood of Haidhausen (some call it the French Quarter) has small shops and cozy cafés if you want to wile away some free time.Personal, friendly and professional – Hotel Prinz ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Prinz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Prinz Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Prinz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.