We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip Inn Concorde Munich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tulip Inn Concorde Munich to your Saves list
Tulip Inn Concorde Munich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herrnstrasse 38 | 80539 Munich, 80539 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 378 Hotels in Munich
Far Hills, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We spent 4 nights in Munich at this hotel which is small but very clean and quiet. The beds were very comfortable. The included breakfast was excellent, with a nice assortment from which to choose. The location is excellent and close to everything including the Hofbrauhaus, Marienplatz, and the market. It would have been nice to have had free wifi in the hotel, but it is available for a fee. The people at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. One other plus is the easy access from the airport to the hotel, an easy 30 minute ride. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Leiter Front Office at Tulip Inn Concorde Munich, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you so much for your feedback following your recent stay with us at Hotel Concorde. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we have passed on your kind words to the team here at the hotel.
At the moment we are working on a possibility to provide free internet access in the whole hotel. Please do not hesitate to speak to us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to us again in the near future.
With best regards

Your Team Hotel Concorde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    81
    37
    10
    5
See reviews for
35
61
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My GF and I just returned from a two-week trip to Stockholm, Amsterdam, Vienna, Salzburg and Munich. In Munich, we stayed at the Tulip Inn Concorde for 4 nights. Last summer (2013) we took a similar vacation through Prague, Budapest, Copenhagen and St. Petersburg. We prefer boutique-y smaller hotels, and all our hotels on both trips were rated at 4 stars (with one possible 5-star exception). I mention this only to indicate that we are experienced travelers who know the difference between a good hotel and a mediocre or poor one, and who understand that one should not expect ritzy accomodations or service from a moderately-priced hotel. (BTW, we are middle-aged but in good physical shape.)

The Tulip was by far the worst hotel we stayed at either this summer or last (including the one in Russia). The ONLY reason to stay there is if (a) you need to stay very near the major tourist attractions in central Munich, i.e., the Altstadt, or Old City, AND (b) you cannot (or are unwilling to) afford a better hotel.

The Tulip’s proximity to the Altstadt is not really an advantage, because this part of the city is so small that one can easily walk to all the attractions anyway. Actually, we found the location to be a major disadvantage, because it means there are lots of people passing by the hotel from late at night into the wee hours of the morning - - many of them emerging tipsy or worse from the many nearby restaurants, bars and clubs. The fact that the hotel is on a cul-de-sac makes the noise problem worse, because the closed-in, narrow street amplifies the sound of the carousing. Moreover, there’s a late-night bar a few doors down from the hotel that caters to the young and the rowdy. Additionally, as other reviews have noted, it is quite difficult to find the Tulip or to reach it from nearby major streets - - the hotel is hidden behind other structures until you’re in the cul-de-sac itself, and you have to thread your way (and/or your car) through a maze of small streets (some of which are one-way) to get to it.

The location is not the worst part. The service and the amenities at the Tulip are miserable. We booked and paid in full months in advance, yet they put us in a first-floor room (in Europe, this means on the second story) on the front of the hotel, right above the entrance door - - perhaps the worst room in the whole place due to the incessant street noise. (We should also mention that since the hotel is non-smoking, all the exiled smokers light up in front of main entrance on the street.) When we checked in, we asked whether a room on a higher floor was available. The response was a brusque "Nein."

The front desk clerk is the only staff person in sight, and all three of the clerks we dealt with over our 5 days there were curt and surly. (This was unprovoked; we are always polite and cheerful to hotel staff). When you arrive or depart, no one even offers to help with your luggage. My gf and I are self-reliant, physically fit types who could manage our own stuff, but I would hate to be at the Tulip as a senior, a person with a disability, or a couple with a lot of luggage plus kids in tow.

The amenities are poor to non-existent. (A) The lobby is small, cheaply furnished and cramped. In the morning, the breakfast buffet spills into it. (B) The elevator is tiny; it will only fit one person with a suitcase or duffel at a time. If you’re a couple, even with fairly little luggage, expect to make multiple trips to get to or from your room to the lobby. (C) The rooms are fairly clean, but no shampoo, conditioner, etc is furnished and the maids are spotty when it comes to replacing toilet paper, tissue and used towels. (D) There is no free Wi-Fi in the rooms; it costs about $6.50 US per day. There is only one free Wi-Fi computer in the lobby. It’s mounted on the wall right near the elevator and the stairwell; does not work well; and is not connected to a printer. This is a real pain. (For example, when we wanted to print boarding passes for the flight home, we were told we had to send the airline link via e-mail to the front desk, whose computer terminal IS connected to a printer. There we got to deal with the surly desk clerk again.) (E) The tv is small and on the other side of the room from the bed, making it hard to see. (F) As other reviews have noted, there is no air conditioning. When we were there in early July, the daytime temperatures were between the mid-70’s and mid-80’s; on the warmer days, the room was very toasty by mid-afternoon. We’re from warm and sunny Southern California, but we shuddered to think how hot the rooms must be between late July and September. (G) By comparison with the many other European hotels we have stayed at, the breakfast buffet is adequate, but that’s all - - a vat of dry scrambled eggs, cold cuts, fruit juice, cheese and yogurt in cartons. Moreover, the dining room - - open only for breakfast - - is pretty small and generally overcrowded. If you eat there between 7:00 and 9:00, expect to be asked to share your table with one or more strangers. There is no coffee on the buffet and only one harassed waitress/server to bring coffee to the table for the entire roomful of diners. It’s a YMCA-like atmosphere all the way. (H) The hotel garage is underground and you must get your car in and out using a VERY tight lift; you have to inch in and inch out to avoid scraping the sides. Further, the underground garage space itself is very small, making it quite difficult to get your car from the lift into a parking space (IF there is one unoccupied) or vice-versa.

We would never consider going back to this hotel under any circumstances. The only good thing about it was that we were gone from early morning until midnight or later.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel. If you must, insist on a room in the back away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Leiter Front Office at Tulip Inn Concorde Munich, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Dean,
We would like to thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at Hotel Concorde.
We are very sad that the service and the hotel facilities did not meet your expectations.
Most of our guests appreciate it being directly in the heart of this beautiful city and being close to everything: typical tourist attractions as well as restaurants and bars.
Of course we do have rooms facing the courtyard, too. Please speak to us so we can check availability.
We are a very small and family owned hotel. As we only offer breakfast most of the staff is here in the morning and early afternoon. But reception assists and is there for you 24/7.
On demand we will even help you with your luggage if needed.
Please note that all our rooms and the lobby have been refurbished in the last 4 years.
At the moment we are working on a possibility to provide free internet access in the whole hotel. Meanwhile you can use our free computer where you can check your emails or print your boarding passes. If you need any assistance with the handling please do not hesitate to speak to us.
We will address the issue with the staff.
As already written we are sorry you could not enjoy your stay with us and hope you will come back one day and give us a second chance.
Kind regards
Hotel Concorde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed one night on our way to southern Germany. The hotel is small, but clean and quiet. The location couldn't be beat. The Marienplatz is a few blocks away and the Hofbrauhaus is just around the corner. Parking is a little weird. They have an elevator that takes your car to a very crowded, small parking garage. The rooms are clean and quiet. Typical toiletries are provided. There is a charge for wifi. Breakfast is provided and has eggs, cheeses, and champagne. Overall, a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Leiter Front Office at Tulip Inn Concorde Munich, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay at Hotel Concorde. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again!

Your Team Hotel Concorde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed here for two night while visiting Munich. The hotel is a short walk from the center of the city, Marienplatz, Hofbrauhaus and Mandarin Oriental hotel. Service is good. Hotel and room are clean and modern but there is no wifi. You can buy telecom card for wifi hotspot from front desk. The breakfast was average. We stayed at the second floor facing the street on a warm sunny day. we had to open the window and heard people walking by even after midnight. The beds are comfortable, and the amenities was a liquid shampoo/shower dispenser. They don't have coffee, tea, or water perculator. By the way this is four star. All in all, the selling place of this hotel is location. On a cold windier day, I wouldn't mind coming back here because they have heaters.

Room Tip: Stay in room facing the garden side, it is much cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Leiter Front Office at Tulip Inn Concorde Munich, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at Hotel Concorde.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the moment we are working on a possibility to provide free internet access in the whole hotel.
Please do not hesitate to speak to us.
We do have rooms facing the courtyard , too. Please check availability with arrival next time.
Reception assits you 24/7. If you would like to have coffee or tea please contact Reception. They will prepare it for you.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards

Your Team Hotel Concorde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

My friend and I stayed in their standard room for two nights. This hotel was clean and modern, very close to Marienplatz and pretty much down the street from Hofbrauhaus. We were given a room on the second floor facing the street, but the windows were fairly sound proof and we didn't hear much noise from the street. Rooms also faced a courtyard, so they would have likely been quieter. We were placed right next to the elevator, and were awoken by loud guests, so if you can ask for a room away from the elevator, that would be better. The room itself was small, but I think you can get a larger room if you book their "comfort" room. Breakfast was great - mostly cold items, rolls, and croissants, but at least there were scrambled eggs. My only complaints are that the beds were rock hard uncomfortable and as a side sleeper, I woke up feeling sore both mornings - not to mention waking in the middle of the night due to the discomfort. Another minor thing was that the towels were thin and not too big - the two full sized towels were not enough for me and my friend, although I suppose we could have asked for more. I'm not sure if I would stay here again, due to the uncomfortable beds. There weren't any toiletries other than a soap dispenser at the sink and in the shower. But if you don't mind sleeping on hard beds, then I would recommend this hotel - the location could not be beat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Leiter Front Office at Tulip Inn Concorde Munich, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay at Hotel Concorde. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We really regret you could not sleep well because of the mattress. We provide special covers to soften the beds if needed. Please do not hesitate to speak to us next time.
We talked already to the laundry company and changed kind of towels as we were not satisfied with the other ones.
We look forward to welcoming you again!

Your Team Hotel Concorde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Nicely located near Isartor and Hofbräuhaus. Room was small, but ok.

The Hotel did not have a free WLAN (May 2014) and points guests to the WLAN of Telecom.

Breakfast was ok, what you can expect in average.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Leiter Front Office at Tulip Inn Concorde Munich, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at Hotel Concorde.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the moment we are working on a possibility to provide free internet access in the whole hotel.
Please do not hesitate to speak to us.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards

Your Team Hotel Concorde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is a great mid-range hotel for a short break in Munich. It is centrally located near the Hoffbrau Haus. For the price it is a great hotel, you can easily walk to most downtown attractions. The rooms are small but clean and they leave small chocolates on the bed, which is a nice touch. The staff are friendly and the offer a decent breakfast. Overall a nice little hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Leiter Front Office at Tulip Inn Concorde Munich, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you so much for your feedback following your recent stay with us at Hotel Concorde. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we have passed on your kind words to the team here at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to us again in the near future.
With best regards

Your Team Hotel Concorde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulip Inn Concorde Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Concorde Munich

Address: Herrnstrasse 38 | 80539 Munich, 80539 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulip Inn Concorde Munich 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tulip Inn Concorde Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Concorde Munich Hotel Munich
Tulip Inn Munich
Golden Tulip Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulip Inn Concorde Munich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.