We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel and excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marc Muenchen

Save Saved
You added Marc Muenchen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marc Muenchen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Senefelderstrasse 12, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #9 of 379 hotels in Munich
Los Gatos, CA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel and excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed here in night on what would be Thanksgiving eve in the states:-) From the moment we stepped into the lobby we felt welcome and were very impressed with the clean, sleek yet warm decor! I really enjoyed this hotel, felt it was a excellent value and would stay here again!

Staff: Excellent! The staff was very friendly and spoke very good English and politely put up with my very very bad broken German:-)

Rooms: We stayed in room 210. The hotel and rooms are extremely clean and very smartly appointed. The bathroom amenities are hand soap, hand lotion, bath soap, mouth wash, shower cap, q-tips and a blow dryer. Our blow dryer did not work but I brought one with us to will inform the staff when we leave. I know if I had asked they would have fixed it right away. The room I found to be a little too warm and was unable to get it to cool down during the night until I opened a window. The shower has a wonderful rain shower head or hand held. The water pressure is good and the temperature was ok.

Amenities: There is free wifi for every room for up to four devices! This is a wonderful plus as in the states they nickel and dime you for stuff like this. We received two free drinks cards for booking the hotel room online. The breakfast was outstanding! I will add pictures as there is no way to explain the free buffet that comes with your stay. There was 10-15 different kinds of bread/rolls, cereals, fruit, meats, cheese, pancakes, waffles, bacon, sausages, eggs, made to order omelettes and/or eggs, etc. Not only was there a large food offering but they food was fresh and delicious!

Location: Excellent! Near main train station and easy 10 blocks walk to downtown Munich. We walked back from downtown to the hotel on a Thursday night at 11pm and felt very safe! I know a lot of people have mentioned that the area where the hotel is on is a little seedy but I really didn't feel unsafe at all. We took the S8 train from the airport to the München Hbf main train station. It was around a 40 minute ride. It was 20.80 Euro vs 50-70 Euro for a cab beginning on traffic. We grabbed a four seats facing each other and put our luggage in the seat area with us so it would be out of the way. It was a quick 2 minute walk to the hotel.

Note - as you approach the elevators from the lobby, the one on the left is very small and the one of the right is still small by US standards but large enough to get a few people and some luggage in it! Plus is has a very nice lighting system in it:-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Muenchen, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Ein herzliches Grüß Gott aus München,

es freut uns zu hören, dass Sie deutsch sprechen! Vielen Dank für Ihre tolle Bewertung! Ich möchte es Ihnen ein bisschen einfacher machen und versuche auf Englisch zu antworten:

It was a pleasure taking care of you during your stay! Thanksgiving is no holyday here in Germany but we know it is a family day for Americans, so we do appreciate it very much that you spent the time in our hotel marc munich****. We are please you enjoyed your trip to Munich.

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to get such wonderful and detailed feedback.

It is great to read you are mentioning the decor and design of our lobby, rooms and elevator. It is a testament to the effort we have put into designing and renovating our hotel marc munich**** which was re-opened in August 2012.
Moreover we are proud of our cozy but modern breakfast room, too, bright with a large window front and of course of the great breakfast buffet we are serving there!

Guests from the airport can very conveniently get from the airport to our hotel, as you explained already. They can take the train without having to change and then walk from the station to the hotel. It is then only a 5 minutes’ walk to the city center.

There are so many things in Munich to see, I think you definitely have to come back =) We are already looking forward to accommodating your very soon again.

Mit besten Grüßen und bis bald

Veronika Fruth und das hotel marc münchen**** Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    97
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
146
28
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Location ; breakfast ; room quality for price ; cleanliness ; helpfulness of the staff ........all excellent.

If you wish to explore Munich this is an ideal location ( typical station type neighbourhood , think London Victoria or Gare Du Nord) within an easy work of both the station and central Munich shops.

This hotel deserves this rating because it delivers on all of the above in an unpretentious way.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Muenchen, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Ahomer,

.. wow there is nothing more to add!
Thank you so much for your excellent review of our hotel marc Munich****, which will be shared with all colleagues for sure!

There remains only to say, please visit us soon again, you are always most welcome.

Kindest regards

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Me and my husband spent 5 nights at this lovely hotel. Our friends came and stayed over the weekend at this hotel with us. We all stayed in a beautiful big deluxe room. Our room was with big bathroom with bathtub but our friends had shower room. Everything was the same in our rooms except from the shower and bathtub. We loved our beds they were heaven to sleep in. The service was excellent and the breakfast was also great. This hotel is near shops and restaurant. We took the train(takes 40-50min with many stops)from Munich airport to Munich Hauptbahnhof and walked from there to the hotel it´s just few minutes and easy to find.
We can highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again when back in Munich. Can´t wait to return :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Muenchen, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Skvisan,

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review of your one week’s stay on the site and it was our great pleasure looking after you and your friends!
We re-opened our hotel marc Munich**** in August 2012 only so all our rooms are brand-new with the latest technology. We are really happy you like the style and our special Majestic Plus orthopaedic LFK - inner spring mattress for a perfect sleeping comfort.
Our Premium rooms have some special features. Maybe you like to try one of our premium rooms next time =)

We are really looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Kindest regards from Munich

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc Munich**** team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

the hotel is near the train station and the shopping area. it is clean and the breakfast there is excellent. We miss the yummy food and the friendly staff there!! i will recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Muenchen, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear OJWW,

I cannot tell you how delighted we are to read your great review!
That you loved our food so much to miss it now is really a great compliment! Our ultimate goal is always the make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible. Great that this exactly the way you felt treated.
We look forward to welcoming you back again and again. 

Kind regards from Munich

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc Munich**** team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Exactly what I looking for: clean, classy hotel close to the train station. Overnight in Munich and easy access to trains. Surprisingly quiet room given all the activity around the place. Friendly staff and very nice breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Muenchen, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear funnycowpie,

thank you very much for your nice review. We will draw great encouragement from your kind words and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future!

Best Regards

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc Munich**** team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We spent 2 nights here during a long weekend to Munich. Staff were very friendly, the breakfast was excellent and the room clean and comfortable. It is located near Hauptbahnhof which meant it was very well located to see the main sites of the city both by foot and public transport. It is located down what at first glance appears to be a slightly dodgy side street but with lots of hotels and hostels lining this street it is safer than first impressions suggest.
We booked directly with the hotel which meant we received one free beer/soft drink at the bar.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcmuenchen, Verkaufsleiter at Marc Muenchen, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear guest "Helen W",

We are very happy that you appreciate our service and you have felt comfortable in our hotel.
It feels good to know you have noted our efforts, so we are looking forward to welcoming you again to marc munich – with another cup of free beer or coffee.

Kind regards
Beate Auer and the staff of Hotel marc**** munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This clean and modern hotel is walking distance to Munich Central Railway station, which makes it extremely accessible. Staff are polite and friendly and the rooms are spacious and clean. As mentioned by other reviewers, the street the hotel on is a bit rough at times, but that shouldnt discourage you from considering this hotel. The breakfast is a real highlight, a wide variety of cold and hot selections. I would definitely stay here again next time I was in Munich

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcmuenchen, Verkaufsleiter at Marc Muenchen, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear "Justin M",

Great! You enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Thanks a lot for the positive review.

Kind regards
Beate Auer and the staff of Hotel marc**** munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marc Muenchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marc Muenchen

Also Known As:
Mark Hotel Munich
Address: Senefelderstrasse 12, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#8 Business Hotel in Munich
#15 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marc Muenchen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "marc munich" – New Business-Design-Hotel centrally located, but still quiet, in the heart of the Isar Metropolis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marc Muenchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marc Muenchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.