We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in town - no, make that anywhere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marc Muenchen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marc Muenchen to your Saves list
Marc Muenchen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Senefelderstrasse 12, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town - no, make that anywhere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is in a slightly unsavoury side street by the main rail station as mentioned in earlier posts but that should not put anyone off staying here as it’s a really convenient base for any rail travel. It only serves breakfast but one which has one of the best and most extensive breakfast spreads I’ve ever seen or experienced. The healthiest appetite could not go anywhere near sampling the full range including cook-to-order eggs of course. I had a superior king size bed (entry level room type) which a little ‘bijou’ but only for an overnight stay before training to Salzburg next day, and it was fine. The place itself looks and feels brand new, with great design and functionality. It all looked like the photos on the website. Next time I'll probably go with a bigger room. I asked for a late checkout and was offered 50% discount of the (very reasonable) hourly late check-out fee. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcmuenchen, . at Marc Muenchen, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear "2010peter",

It's lovely to hear that you have your stay in our hotel in such good memories.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future with us.


Kind regards
the staff of Hotel marc**** munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    182
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
62
273
35
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

You always need to be careful when booking a hotel close to main stations as they can suffer from 'collateral damage' of short term bookings etc but I can honestly say this was the best hotel we have stayed in for a very long time. The rooms were excellently appointed with thought given to layout, facilities and every conceivable need provided for. Breakfasts were absolutely excellent - best I've come across - with a full range of high quality fresh and cooked foods. Self service but staff on hand if you wanted a cooked omelette or similar. Staff were attentive and well informed. Overall very good value for this city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcmuenchen, . at Marc Muenchen, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear "Stuart53",

we are very pleased to read your fantastic impressions about your stay at the hotel marc munich.
We are very glad and share your feedback with the whole team.

Kind regards
the staff of Hotel marc**** munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here during Octoberfest so was a perfect location for September in Munich as well as a quick walk to the central train station and thus airport access. This is a really nice hotel and would sure stay here again. Our booking was a bit late for the Octoberfest opening weekend so we did pay a premium price...more than normal rates for this hotel and for comparable hotels. That was the only issue we had with price to value but all things given with demand, sort of understandable.
Our room was small but very clean, quiet, and comfortable with nice bed, bath and furnishings. Great front desk and the breakfast is excellent. A recommend for any purposes. All staff were friendly and professional.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcmuenchen, . at Marc Muenchen, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear "Benson1520",

we are very pleased to read your fantastic impressions about your stay at the hotel marc munich.
We are very glad and share your feedback with the whole team.

Kind regards
the staff of Hotel marc**** munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, NH
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Do not let the fact that the hotel is on hostel row deter you from considering this hotel. My husband and I found our room in this four star hotel to be clean, quiet and spacious. The location is perfect (close to Hauptbahnhof, Oktoberfest Fairgrounds and Marienplatz). We were pleasantly surprised and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcmuenchen, . at Marc Muenchen, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear "Deb R",

We are very happy that you appreciate our service and you have felt comfortable in our hotel.
It would be nice if you could choose again our house during your next city trip in Munich .

Kind regards
the staff of Hotel marc**** munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Hotel was 5 min walking distance to main station. We used Lufthansa Shuttle bus from airport to main statin which was very efficient. Hotel was on a side way however there was no safety problem at least until 9.00 pm. There was no unnecessary formalities at the reception desk, personel wellcome us well. The complimentary water at the reception was a super idea. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices for everyone (even soy milk). The cook and breakfast personel worked well and were very sympathetic. The hotel was also very close to stachus, marienplatz and tourist information. There was plenty of coffee houses and shopping centers around. The rooms were new, held clean and bathroom was excellent. Wi-fi generally worked quite efficiently except one night. It would be better to have more turkish tv channels, there was only one with religious broadcasting. We think to come back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcmuenchen, . at Marc Muenchen, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear "aysennur",

Thank you for describing your stay in detail.
It's nice to hear that you would like to book our hotel again during your next stay in munich.

Kind regards
the staff of Hotel marc**** munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Absolutely the worst service from any hotel I’ve stayed in in past years. I actually felt threatened at times. Honestly there was one or two staff there that was friendly and helpful. The rest made me feel that they were angry at me for staying in their hotel. If you want to use their car park they have an underground one that only fits very small cars. If you have a mid size or anything bigger you have to park at the courtyard and they only have 8 or 9 spaces. And they don’t guarantee it for you. One day you can come back to the hotel and find it was full and you have no place to park your car even though you have been parking there for days. They have a sister hotel nearby with a car park but if this is full likely it would be the same for the other one. To me it was unnecessary stress needing to worry about parking for the night everyday you go out. The room was clean, bright, spacious, functional, and with enough power socket to start your own data center. Bed was very lumpy. Housekeeping gave me surprises everyday. Each day they would leave out something. The air conditioning was noisy as the thermostat cut in too often and too loudly. Location was horrible. The neighbourhood it is in no tourist really needs to see that it exists in Munich. If you want something close to the train station I would pick something to the north of the station instead. Besides, the hotel is close to the U-Bahn lines but a longer walk to the S-Bahn. I tried very hard not to let this hotel ruin my impression of Munich. Not easy. What a mistake!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcmuenchen, . at Marc Muenchen, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear "Henry Y",

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, but at the same time we are also very sad that we couldn’t satisfy you in all points.

Kind regards
the staff of Hotel marc**** munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Marc Munchen for three nights for the start of Oktoberfest. The hotel was very clean, comfortable beds, and the breakfast could not have been better. The hotel was a little pricey when we were there but I believe this was due to Oktoberfest. Very central location to the central train station. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcmuenchen, . at Marc Muenchen, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear " Jenni R",

Great! You enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Thanks a lot for the positive review.

Kind regards
the staff of Hotel marc**** munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marc Muenchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marc Muenchen

Address: Senefelderstrasse 12, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#9 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#9 Business Hotel in Munich
#9 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marc Muenchen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "marc munich" - New Business-Design-Hotel centrally located, but still quiet, in the heart of the Isar Metropolis offers 80 exclusively furnished doublerooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Marc Muenchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mark Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marc Muenchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.