We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europaischer Hof

Save Saved
You added Hotel Europaischer Hof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Bayerstrasse 31, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 378 hotels in Munich
Richmond
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Hotel is only a few minutes walk from the main railway station. Come out of the station, cross the road, turn left and in a couple of minutes you are at the front door. You can see the hotel from the steps leading out of the station so it's easy to find. Make sure you leave by the main entrance.
Room was comfortable apart from the pathetic pillows which were about as much use as a chocolate fireguard. Also there is only one lift so if you are on the top floor and it's busy it can be slow getting up and down. Excellent breakfast. Great selection of food. Very enjoyable. Perfectly located for visiting the City centre. The Marienplatz is only ten minutes walk away.

Room Tip: The main railway station has a massive left luggage area. You can hire a locker for 5 Euros a day. E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    131
    67
    20
    14
See reviews for
48
106
34
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Des Plaines, IL
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We always stay here when we visit Munich. It has a great location near the train station. We had a nice-sized room overlooking the courtyard; it was very quiet. The breakfast buffet is the best one we've experienced in Europe. Most of the staff members are very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were so glad to find this hotel! We got a great price (with breakfast included) through the tourist office and stayed for several nights. You couldn’t ask for a closer hotel to the train station. The atmosphere around the hotel is urban- lively and multicultural. We found several inexpensive and tasty quick dining options within walking distance. The room was clean and a good size. There was a safe in the room for valuables. The hotel breakfast was the best we had on our 10 day trip to Germany- lots of items to choose from. The only complaint we had was the noise from the 2 hostels across the street. Hostel guests were outside smoking and being loud well into the night. I’m giving the hotel 5 stars because it was the best value of all the hotels we stayed at in Germany.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very practical position, 10 mins walk and you're in city center. Tram stops practically in front of the hotel. Rooms are very well cleaned, they change all the towels and bathroom carpet everyday! We had a room on the back side of the hotel so it was pretty quiet. We never tried having breakfast there, we find it very expensive(€13.50). We found a place on the underground in Karlsplatz where you can have 2 caffelatte and 3 brioche. Over all, we had a very wonderful stay , the elevator smells badly though!

Room Tip: Rooms 110,112,114, 210, 212,214 etc. are on the backside of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were only in Munich for one night and we wanted a place near the train station so we could leave our luggage once we checked out and wait for our night train to Paris. This place was perfect for that. Dont expect any real German atmosphere, its just a big hotel but it was clean and comfortable, they kept our luggage, were friendly and located right across the street from the train. They have paid parking, but I just parked on the street (free til 9am) and then returned the car to Avis by 9. We had the triple room which has tons of room, great shower and comfy beds. They have free wifi, but not free breakfast!! i wish they had a reasonably priced or free breakfast included. We just walked across the street to the train station and got Starbucks so it was fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a hotel with old world charm, right near the main station and great shopping in Munich. For the standard double room rate you get a small apartment with a large bathroom and bath. It is very quiet, the staff are friendly and efficient and the breakfast is delicious with plenty of choice for around $17. Ther is also a lovely lounge area on the 1st floor where you can relax and check emails free of charge. Unfortunately the coffe machine was out of order.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are very quiet if you don´t mind walking a fair way from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for Octoberfest 2012,

Pros:

Good Location - Right Opposite The Train Station And Easy Walk To Oktoberfest.

Price - Was Good For Oktoberfest Times ($142 Euro)


Cons:

Noisy Noisy Noisy - Back Packers Hostel Across The Street That Never Sleep, Couldn't Open The Windows Because Of The Noise.

No Air-Con - This Mixed With Closed Windows Was Not Pleasant.

Rude Staff - Probably Because Of Oktoberfest Drunks, But Not Good For Those Visiting


Overall - Would Not Stay Here Again Unless There Was Nothing Else Available For Oktoberfest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europaischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europaischer Hof

Address: Bayerstrasse 31, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 378 hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Europaischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europaischer Hof Munich
Europaischer Hof Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europaischer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.