We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europaischer Hof

Save Saved
You added Hotel Europaischer Hof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Bayerstrasse 31, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 383 hotels in Munich
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very practical position, 10 mins walk and you're in city center. Tram stops practically in front of the hotel. Rooms are very well cleaned, they change all the towels and bathroom carpet everyday! We had a room on the back side of the hotel so it was pretty quiet. We never tried having breakfast there, we find it very expensive(€13.50). We found a place on the underground in Karlsplatz where you can have 2 caffelatte and 3 brioche. Over all, we had a very wonderful stay , the elevator smells badly though!

Room Tip: Rooms 110,112,114, 210, 212,214 etc. are on the backside of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    128
    67
    20
    14
See reviews for
47
106
34
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were only in Munich for one night and we wanted a place near the train station so we could leave our luggage once we checked out and wait for our night train to Paris. This place was perfect for that. Dont expect any real German atmosphere, its just a big hotel but it was clean and comfortable, they kept our luggage, were friendly and located right across the street from the train. They have paid parking, but I just parked on the street (free til 9am) and then returned the car to Avis by 9. We had the triple room which has tons of room, great shower and comfy beds. They have free wifi, but not free breakfast!! i wish they had a reasonably priced or free breakfast included. We just walked across the street to the train station and got Starbucks so it was fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a hotel with old world charm, right near the main station and great shopping in Munich. For the standard double room rate you get a small apartment with a large bathroom and bath. It is very quiet, the staff are friendly and efficient and the breakfast is delicious with plenty of choice for around $17. Ther is also a lovely lounge area on the 1st floor where you can relax and check emails free of charge. Unfortunately the coffe machine was out of order.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are very quiet if you don´t mind walking a fair way from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for Octoberfest 2012,

Pros:

Good Location - Right Opposite The Train Station And Easy Walk To Oktoberfest.

Price - Was Good For Oktoberfest Times ($142 Euro)


Cons:

Noisy Noisy Noisy - Back Packers Hostel Across The Street That Never Sleep, Couldn't Open The Windows Because Of The Noise.

No Air-Con - This Mixed With Closed Windows Was Not Pleasant.

Rude Staff - Probably Because Of Oktoberfest Drunks, But Not Good For Those Visiting


Overall - Would Not Stay Here Again Unless There Was Nothing Else Available For Oktoberfest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luhansk, Ukraine
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great super breakfast (and even from 6 am - convenient for early departures), wonderful value for money (cheap), excellent location (metro entrance of the hotel, the train station, the city center). The size of a large room, the staff helpful
The rooms do not have air conditioning and the windows open. Room is old, small television. Hair dryer in the bathroom bad, outdated. Robes and slippers in the room does not
But for all its shortcomings - I recommend!

Room Tip: Do not take the rooms facing the street (tram, road, railway station, crowds of people), and on a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had a prepaid rate, so very good value (€124 I think inc breakfast) but I suspect they give the lowest class rooms to these bookers! I had a first floor room looking out on the station square so quite noisy and I had to leave the window open - no AC. Having said that, room had all you need, all in working order, and the bath towels were fluffier than usual with the budget style hotels, bed also more comfortable than usual for the the price. Good shower. Breakfast excellent, although juice machine had run out! but I was able to forgive that because of Bavarian white sausages on the buffet, and also a good selection of cold meats, cheeses, fruit and pastries. Would stay here again for a one night stopover on business or with family. Location excellent, right next to the station, 10 mins walk from Hofbrauhaus.

Room Tip: Go for higher floors to get away from the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east yorkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed twice at beginning and end of our tour of Bavaria - very good location, very convenient as we travelled by train - not too far to walk with our bags. Staff on reception were helpful and efficient. We had a large room on our first stay and although the room on our second stay was slightly it was perfectly adequate. It is worth staying here just for the excellent breakfast alone - loads of choice with friendly and efficient waiters. It was a very good location to explore all of Munich and within walking distance of some of the best beer halls and I would definitely stay here again if we visit Munich.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europaischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europaischer Hof

Address: Bayerstrasse 31, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 383 hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Europaischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europaischer Hof Munich
Europaischer Hof Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europaischer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.