We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent place to stay in Munich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen to your Saves list
Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mariahilfplatz 4, 81541 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #286 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A decent place to stay in Munich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our trip to Munich landed at an extremely busy time for the city is seemed, I think due to a conference running the following week. We struggled to find anywhere less than £100 per night which looked half decent. I didn't have any expectations of the Golden Leaf but it was in fact very nice. Quite traditional decor-wise. The staff were nice enough in a 'German efficient way'. Room was clean, courtyard area was very nice and the area was pleasant. There were a couple of shops nearby, including a very nice bakery and a market across the road at the weekend, but nowhere really to eat out or have a drink in the evening. This didn't bother us in anyway as the centre is only 20 minutes walk away and buses are very frequent. If you are looking for a good value hotel and don't want to stay slap bang in the city centre, I would definitely recommend the Golden Leaf - very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    40
    32
    9
    8
See reviews for
16
36
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kandahar, Afghanistan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I chose the hotel primarily for the value and then i was impressed by the hotel when i arrived. No issues with my reservation or check out, and the staff was helpful for any needs. It's a good looking property, clean and well maintained. I found the bed reasonably comfortable and good bathroom and shower pressure.
As Americans, it was nice to have a hotel that felt European and not a generic chain.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Reasonable price, friendly staff, free internet and good location to reach city downtown quickly.
A good choice without surprises, and comfy room. Street a bit noisy if windows open. The free coffee in the lobby is a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hotel located in a lovely area of Munich and easily reached by public transport from the airport - by train and then a short walk. Room was a nice standard - only problem, as has been mentioned before, is that it was very warm - there for New Year so thought it might be a little cooler - wrong!! Nice bar downstair from hotel, some other nice ones within easy walking distance. Not too far a walk to reach the S-Bhan to get to all other areas of Munich, but enjoy walking and find that's when you stumble across nice wee bars and restaurants that are slightly off the beaten track. Couldn't fault the staff. Thought the room was good, bed comfy, bathroom clean - only slight problem as mentioned above was that it was too warm. Did not have breakfast so can't comment on that. Did like the free coffee in reception. If you want to be in the centre of action probably not the place for you. If returning to Munich would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prishtina
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is located in a very nice part of Munich and it offers excellent connections to the old town as the bus station is less than a minute walking distance. There are also nice places to walk in the sorrounding while the Deutsches Museum is just minutes away.
As for the hotel, it is a nice and cozy place which offers limited amenities. The staff are very professional and polite and they did they best to help me. There is an excellent restaurant on the ground floor of this hotel, I guess that it is separate from the hotel, but it offers great food and even better atmosphere. I would definitely recommend both, the hotel and this restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back yard if you do not prefer the noise of main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I couldn't agree more with the vast majority of reviews...the rooms were clean but inadequate curtains/blinds let in too much light. However you'll be awake before that due to a) the cleaners starting at the crack of dawn with no thought for the guests; b) the lack of ventilation as it's impossible to have the window open due to the road noise...it's like sleeping on the M25 c) said road noise and d) if you sleep through all that then the bed itself will keep you awake as I've slept on softer floors!!

I disagree with the comments re the staff they could not have been more polite, helpful & spoke several languages...well done.

Personally I'd probably try somewhere else next trip but I've stayed in worse.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We traveled to Munich and Octoberfest at the last minute and were grateful to find a room available. However we paid three times as much for this hotel than any other hotel we stayed at in Germany the previous two weeks. This despite the fact that it was the only hotel to charge for parking, breakfast and wifi (8euros and hour!). Only one of the various reception staff were even interested in assisting us. Our room faced the street which was very noisy with traffic. The room was fairly warm but the street noise made it impossible to open the window for some fresh air. This is also the sunny side of the building so we had the sun coming in at sun up. The thin window coverings were not much help in trying to block the light. We decided to pay the 12 euros for the breakfast buffet our first morning. Huge mistake. Three quarters of the food trays were empty, we had to continually ask the staff for food, coffee, clean plates and on and on.
If you stay here do not buy the breakfast, any cafe will have better value.
It was a good location and easy close access to the tram. You were in the city centre in a short time, likewise access to the S and U systems.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen

Address: Mariahilfplatz 4, 81541 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restful night in the peaceful surroundings of the Golden Leaf Hotel Altmunchen in the city quarter Au, a cosy atmosphere and a sumptuous breakfast buffet which leaves nothing to be desired - a relaxing start to your day in Munich. The 3-star Golden Leaf Hotel Altmunchen is located in the centre of Munich, not far from the Isar and the Deutsches Museum, and is regarded as one of Munich's insider tips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Leaf Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.