We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Chinese in Munich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai Restaurant

Shanghai Restaurant
3 Sonnenstr., 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 592744
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,119 of 2,815 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Munich
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of the best Chinese in Munich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is an inexpensive restaurant, with a comprehensive menu. There is plenty of seating. Though the favourite spots are next to the large window which extends along one wall, and looks out on to the Stachus shopping area. The place is bright, and the staff are friendly and efficient

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    6
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

What a pleasant surprise to have such fresh, authentic Chinese cuisine coupled with great service after days & days of touristy-tasting German fare & rude servers. We found this restaurant to be clean, comfortable and very affordable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“service was horrific”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Fourteen of us visitied this restaurant in august and while we all ate the food it came in different stages. The sauce arrived when the main course was nearly eaten, but it was edible, but for the price it would want to be!! what was really awful was the service and the attitude of the waitress who served us in this restaurant. we obviously were a big party but to say she was rude would be an understatement. when she came with the bill she demanded a tip be added to the credit card and I stated no we would leave cash, at least three other times she came up looking for her tip and each time she did it dwindled down. In the end what we left for her was minimal but to be fair she didnt even deserve this and when she got it, she didnt say thanks or goddbye instead there was a snide remark about the tip. I would under no circumstances return to this restaurant and I would not recommend it. Its overpriced and the service needs to be improved... management are badly needed to step in here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worst Chinese Food Ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Without doubt the worst Chinese meal I have ever had.

Food was tastless and bland, added to which, the service was equally as unimpressive!

If you like your food to have some taste, avoid this place!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Decent meal but impression spoiled by misleading waiter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We are very knowledgable about Chinese food and went here because it was convenient to our hotel and had some good reviews on tripadvisor. We had wonton soup, crispy duck and rice noodles with shrimp and pork — all not bad for a Chinese restaurant in Europe. On two occasions the waiter seemed to be trying to steer us into spending more. We asked, as we usually do, for a carafe of tap water. The waiter said the tap water was "no good" and we should buy bottled water. At that time we had been in Munich for a week and knew that the tap water was just fine. We did not buy the bottled water. And when we asked for the bill, he brought it and said very pointedly "service not included." This was said in such a way that it was clearly intended to make us feel we had to leave a tip. Our research has indicated that service is always included in the bill here and that one only gives an extra tip when service is exceptional. We thought his actions were inappropriate and we did not leave a tip.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Restaurant also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Shanghai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.