We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised with hotel and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Orleansstrasse 81-83, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 383 hotels in Munich
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised with hotel and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked this hotel for one reason only - hotels during Oktoberfest were extremely expensive, and we could get a room here for free with our Marriott points. The whole time leading up to the trip I was hesitant about staying here as it seemed so far out. we've been to Munich before, but were traveling with 6 others from the States who had never been, so I wanted them to be in a good location. we all decided that it didn't matter, as we were coming for Oktoberfest most of all. Well, we were pleasantly surprised.

First off, the hotel is quite modern and clean, and spacious. Unfortunately for us, my partner had to do some work when we arrived and he had ample space in the room to work on the computer and not feel cramped. The bed was large and comfortable. No complaints at all.

Secondly, we were close enough to the train station to get anywhere we wanted. The city center was only a few stops away, which took no time at all. The walk to the train station was under 10 minutes and very easy to get to. It also happens to be the same line that takes you to Oktoberfest, so you don't even have to deal with changing lines. Again, no complaints.

Lastly, we realized that we were in one of the coolest neighborhoods in Munich on the 2nd day there - Haidhausen, We decided to take a different way to the station, and were walking through some pretty cool-looking streets. Found some adorable cafes and bars. We then googled Haidhausen and found out its known for its nightlife as well.

Side note - the hotel is connected to another hotel, and there are 2 check-in areas/cafe areas. If you come off the elevators from the Residence Inn and buy a soda at the cafe/kiosk, its about 3 euro, whereas if you cut through the cafeteria area and get a soda from the other side, its only 2 euro. Pretty noticable difference to just go 1 minute out of your way.

Overall, we loved our stay at the Residence Inn and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    71
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
79
43
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed on points and could not have been more pleasantly surprised by our experience.
While not directly in the city center you are steps away from a fabulous local neighborhood and a ten minute walk from the Deutches museum.

We loved the location. Think of it as staying in soho vs times square in NYC, but since Munich is small you are only a 20-30 minute walk to the town center. You get a real feel for the city and spend much more time surrounded by locals when you stay in this nice neighborhood. Plus there is a main train station 2 blocks away.

Room was comfortable, quiet and immaculate.
Breakfast was great and free.

Caveat: If you stay on a floor above the 3rd you will have a problem with your free internet so request a lower floor if you need to use your computer

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

If you care about quality bedding, value good breakfast and like new fixtures in freshly done bathroom this is your choice. Those who is pleased to hear English as expected form of communication after whole day of German dominated surroundings will find this place relaxing.
It is a nice hotel, although it is better than just an hotel. Rooms are offering a kichenette with fridge, so you can do your own meals if you are into it. In other words, this hotel should be a higher shade of 4-star.
A few things to complain. Sauna is new, but it does not have a rest area. I am not talking about a massage bed, the chaires are absent and even room is not afforded.
Location is not central, Ostbahnhof is not across the street, at least half a mile walking required. I suggest to purchase a 3-day ticket for train/tram/bus for those who do not use taxi as a primary form of transportation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I was in transit in Munich for one night and was looking for a comfortable hotel under 200 Euros. I chose the Residence Inn. It is about a 15 ride from Hauptbahnhof (Central Station) and located adjacent to the Courtyard by Marriott. Note that if you have a car the main traffic circle of the hotel is probably some 20 meters from the entrance of the hotel, which as I arrived late was confusing to me.

Rooms were clean, comfortable, and are accurately pictured on this website and others so I will not give a lengthy description of furnishings. I will note that beds are comfortable, coffee and tea making facilities functioned well, internet signal was of average quality. Water pressure in the bathrooms was comfortable.

I arrived with heavy cases so I was disappointed not to have porter service available or offered to me. The hotel was quiet and staff generally friendly and helpful.

At nearly 200 Euros per night the hotel is certainly not cheap but comparing to other 4 star offerings in Munich I was pleased with the quality of room and service I received.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here as we wanted one room plus a sofa bed and hence the Residence rather than the Courtyard. This hotel ended up being perfect. Just a few hundred meteres down the road was the metro and three stops away from the centra which is fabulous to walk around.
The beds were very confortable but typical for a Marriott.
Whaty surprised us the most was the choice and quality at Breakfast. Something we experience at the normal Marriott and this was on par. Frankly a much better value/location that the main Marriott for visiting the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayhan_Kilit-GM, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We would be pleased to welcome you again at the Residence Inn Munich.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel have really good locations. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Rooms are big enough and very clean and comfortable. The breakfast is tasty.
Next time in Munchen i probably will stay at this place again.
"Danke" to the hotel management.

Room Tip: its a apartment hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayhan_Kilit-GM, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihr Gästekommentar. Wir freuen uns, dass es Ihnen in unserem Haus gefallen hat. Herzliche Grüße aus München
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Residence Inn by Marriott is located 2 blocks from an S-bahn station. Within 3 stops, you are in the heart of Munich, Marienplatz. Samuel at the front desk is extremely helpful in answering questions about the area as well as providing excellent customer service. The restaurant (Cafe Max) is expensive, but this is Munich and it was during the December holiday, so no surprise there. Note: while the front desk has excellent currency conversion rates, they are only allowed to change out $100/room into euros. Our room was clean, comfortable, and quiet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayhan_Kilit-GM, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for staying at our hotel. We do appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with our team. We would be pleased about welcoming you again at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost

Address: Orleansstrasse 81-83, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 383 hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn helps guests keep all aspects of their life in balance through connectivity to home and office, health and fitness options, and comfortable places to work or relax - including guests traveling with their families, or for personal travel. The Residence Inn Munich City East offers 125 spacious studios with air condition, telephone, safe, fully equipped kitchenette with dishwasher and refrigerator, W-Lan with High Speed Internet Access, Sat-TV and generous living, dining and working area. The fitness room, steam bath and sauna are free of charge for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.