We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Orleansstrasse 81-83, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 383 hotels in Munich
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Interesting spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I was surprise that there was a Residence Inn in eastern Munich. It is a little difficult to reach the location if you're not familiar with the roads. But it is within walking distance of local trains/subway/bus routes. The room was clean and comfortable. The lighting was uniquely different to turn on. The amenities are great value (breakfast, internet, exercise facility).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayhan_Kilit-GM, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for you comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We are Europe´s first Residence Inn beside alongside a Courtyard by Marriott. In the spacious rooms especially long-time traveler feel at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    72
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
81
43
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

So much of what makes a good/bad hotel is meeting/failing to meet expectations. We wanted a place with a kitchen in a good location, and didn't need daily housekeeping or fancy amenities. This hotel met our expectations; good value in a good location.

Our first day, because of some reservation bug with Marriott, we had been downgraded to a Superior from a Corner room. Thanks to an often helpful desk agent named Samuel, we were able to get that amended.

We were prepared for the only two times a week cleaning, and the limited space (for a family of four). We were happy with the free breakfast (nice Christmas menu), and the free Internet. All in all, a good hotel, good location, and we'd come again. Especially nice for our kids was the sandbox behind the hotel, definitely nice for our little ones. They had a little indoor play space with a Foosball table as well.

Please note that the Courtyard Marriott shares the restaurant (Max) with this hotel. They're one big building.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayhan_Kilit-GM, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share your impressions and experiences. We are pleased that you anjoyed your stay at the Residence Inn by Munich City East.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

It's a nice apart hotel, all seems very new. We found the room to be on the small side, specially when you open the sofa bed. The light system was way to complicated and there wasn't a proper dinning table which if you are staying at an apart hotel I think is essential. You can use the desk but if you are a small family like us you needed to move furnitures. Couldn't be bother so we had dinner on the sofa.
Aside from that, hotel was located close to Ost station - the reception guys were great, was very clean and I like the breakfast room, which was modern and the breakfast was good too. Free Internet that worked perfect for us. I would recommend this hotel if staying in Munich.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayhan_Kilit-GM, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback! We would be pleased to welcome you again during your next stay in Munich!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The residence inn offers rooms with kitchenett , quite spacy and very clean . The hotel is very clean and seems brand new . There is a gym and a small sauna and steam room. You can wlak there from the station- Munchen Ost - . From the airport that train S8 that is a shorther trip than, S1 , once you get iun Munchen Ost station , just folloow the signs for Orleanstrasse and OrleanPlatz and that is a 5 mns walk to the hotel . It is very convenient to have the railways , but also the U bahn and the tram at short distance from the hotel if you want to use the transports . Finally the staff is very friendly and efficient and you get breakfast included with the room . I will certainly go back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayhan_Kilit-GM, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guest, we appriciate your feedback and will share your comments with our hotel team.
Greetings from Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We chose to stay in this Marriott (in late November, 2012) based on Trip Advisor reviews, and we were very happy with our stay. Lovely hotel, excellent staff (all of the front desk staff were unfailingly polite and cheerful and went out of their way to assist us), and the restaurant and bar are great places to hang out at the beginning and end of your day. The location is great - 5 minute walk to the train station, with a convenient market in between, and a very good Italian restaurant (L'Angelo's) right around the corner from the hotel. The rooms are large and well-appointed with lots of storage space. Lounge downstairs has a foosball table (thrilling for our 10-yr old son) and lots of room for people to gather (we had a party of 7). Would stay here again without question.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard view room - this is on the quieter, non-street side. Also indicate if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayhan_Kilit-GM, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments that we will share with our team. We would be plaesed to welcome you again at the Residence Inn Munich!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very nice if not a little spendy. Located a short walk from a major train station. Kitchen in each room are very useful- dishwasher included! We reserved adjoining rooms which had a door that could be opened to connect them- very handy for our little group. Several grocery stores nearby. Hotel breakfast is included and offers an amazing spread of options. Perhaps the best I've seen in Europe included in the price of the room. Bathrooms and room was clean and comfortable. Good water pressure and abundant hot water in shower. There are two washer/dryers in the basement that are 4e to wash and 4e more to dry. Very expensive, but they get the job done on a long vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayhan_Kilit-GM, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your high motivating feedback that we will forward to all assosiates. Happy new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here for six nights in December 2012 for tourism. this was our base for visiting Christmas markets, Salzburg, Neuschwanstein, Dachau, and the BMW Museum. I would recommend this hotel to others and stay here again.

-Close to public transportation- Walk 5 minutes to reach Ostbahnhof (East Train Station). From here, you can catch the train to go to Marianplatz, the BMW Museum, Dachau, or Hauptbahnhof (Main Train Station). Trains are punctual and frequent (at least by my American standards).

-Breakfast buffet was included in the price (120 Euros/night). There were fresh pretzels, fresh pineapple, fresh sliced grapefruit, dried fruits, cucumbers, an assortment of breads and pastries (although only once was I able to find a chocolate croissant), sausages, hash browns etc. The dining area's them of green and brown was fresh in a retro kind of style.

-The bed was comfortable and linens were clean. Chairs to a side table could efficiently be pushed all the way under the table. An ottoman hid under a coffee table, so that one could save space i needed. The lights in the hallway seemed to be automated, so that the moment you stepped in the hallway, the lights turned on. Perhaps this was a special energy saving feature.

-We lost our key one evening, and the receptionist promptly gave us a new one.

-A few hearty restaurants are around the corner from the hotel. D'Angelo's- a pizza place, was full of locals, excellent pizza, beer and wine. It is literally around the corner. There was another German restaurant on the walk to Ostbahnhof, where we had dinner one night after coming back from Neuschwanstein, and that was a nice meal as well, with Austrian wine and the daily special.

-The rooms are new, so that means facilities were quite clean.

Main issues I had with the hotel are below:

1) For stays of 5 nights or longer, a cleaning person only comes twice. I'm not sure if this is the case with all Residence Inn's. This was a small annoyance, as I was on vacation and did not want to make the bed, as trivial as it sounds. The half wall in the bathtub area didn't seal water in properly, so often after a shower, water would puddle on the floor. We would then need a new towel for the ground. Which brings me to...

2) Upon check in, the male receptionist mentioned that the cleaning person would only come twice as we were staying six nights. He also said, though, that if we needed clean towels, to please contact the reception area because that request would be accommodated. So, one night, I did ask for new towels. Another male receptionist proceeded to interrogate me and nearly screamed at me, "We don't do this every night! What night did you check in? You cannot have new towels every day!" Well, that was the first time I had requested new towels. It was a bit rude and contradicted what the original receptionist told us upon check in. Guests shouldn't be made to feel like criminals for requesting a new towel. Ultimately, new towels were delivered, which was helpful.

3) The self-serve laundry machines are expensive (about 4 euros for each wash use and 4 euros for each dryer use) and did not clean our clothes well. The clothes were still damp after coming out of the dryer, so we had to hang them up around our room to finish drying.

4) When I reserved the room online, I requested a room on a high floor with a view of the courtyard. I received the former, but not the latter. We faced a parking lot. This was fine, as we were out sightseeing every day and came back mostly to sleep. But, as a heads up, if you don't have a view of this elusive courtyard, your view will be a parking lot.

In all, a very comfortable stay and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost

Address: Orleansstrasse 81-83, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 383 hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn helps guests keep all aspects of their life in balance through connectivity to home and office, health and fitness options, and comfortable places to work or relax - including guests traveling with their families, or for personal travel. The Residence Inn Munich City East offers 125 spacious studios with air condition, telephone, safe, fully equipped kitchenette with dishwasher and refrigerator, W-Lan with High Speed Internet Access, Sat-TV and generous living, dining and working area. The fitness room, steam bath and sauna are free of charge for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.