We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, comfortable breakfast area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Orleansstrasse 81-83, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 379 hotels in Munich
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Clean room, comfortable breakfast area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here for six nights in December 2012 for tourism. this was our base for visiting Christmas markets, Salzburg, Neuschwanstein, Dachau, and the BMW Museum. I would recommend this hotel to others and stay here again.

-Close to public transportation- Walk 5 minutes to reach Ostbahnhof (East Train Station). From here, you can catch the train to go to Marianplatz, the BMW Museum, Dachau, or Hauptbahnhof (Main Train Station). Trains are punctual and frequent (at least by my American standards).

-Breakfast buffet was included in the price (120 Euros/night). There were fresh pretzels, fresh pineapple, fresh sliced grapefruit, dried fruits, cucumbers, an assortment of breads and pastries (although only once was I able to find a chocolate croissant), sausages, hash browns etc. The dining area's them of green and brown was fresh in a retro kind of style.

-The bed was comfortable and linens were clean. Chairs to a side table could efficiently be pushed all the way under the table. An ottoman hid under a coffee table, so that one could save space i needed. The lights in the hallway seemed to be automated, so that the moment you stepped in the hallway, the lights turned on. Perhaps this was a special energy saving feature.

-We lost our key one evening, and the receptionist promptly gave us a new one.

-A few hearty restaurants are around the corner from the hotel. D'Angelo's- a pizza place, was full of locals, excellent pizza, beer and wine. It is literally around the corner. There was another German restaurant on the walk to Ostbahnhof, where we had dinner one night after coming back from Neuschwanstein, and that was a nice meal as well, with Austrian wine and the daily special.

-The rooms are new, so that means facilities were quite clean.

Main issues I had with the hotel are below:

1) For stays of 5 nights or longer, a cleaning person only comes twice. I'm not sure if this is the case with all Residence Inn's. This was a small annoyance, as I was on vacation and did not want to make the bed, as trivial as it sounds. The half wall in the bathtub area didn't seal water in properly, so often after a shower, water would puddle on the floor. We would then need a new towel for the ground. Which brings me to...

2) Upon check in, the male receptionist mentioned that the cleaning person would only come twice as we were staying six nights. He also said, though, that if we needed clean towels, to please contact the reception area because that request would be accommodated. So, one night, I did ask for new towels. Another male receptionist proceeded to interrogate me and nearly screamed at me, "We don't do this every night! What night did you check in? You cannot have new towels every day!" Well, that was the first time I had requested new towels. It was a bit rude and contradicted what the original receptionist told us upon check in. Guests shouldn't be made to feel like criminals for requesting a new towel. Ultimately, new towels were delivered, which was helpful.

3) The self-serve laundry machines are expensive (about 4 euros for each wash use and 4 euros for each dryer use) and did not clean our clothes well. The clothes were still damp after coming out of the dryer, so we had to hang them up around our room to finish drying.

4) When I reserved the room online, I requested a room on a high floor with a view of the courtyard. I received the former, but not the latter. We faced a parking lot. This was fine, as we were out sightseeing every day and came back mostly to sleep. But, as a heads up, if you don't have a view of this elusive courtyard, your view will be a parking lot.

In all, a very comfortable stay and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    59
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
67
37
6
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
blackpool
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Went to Munich for the christmas markets and stayed at the Marriott because my husband often stays at the Marriott Munich airport when working.

The hotel was in a good location and we found it quite easily from Munich Ost railway station. If traveling from the airport, try to get on the S8 rather than the S1 as it is a considerably shorter journey. Trams pass the hotel and it is easy to get to the rail/underground system.

Check in was good and staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the highest floor and was fabulous. The kitchen area was first class with all facilities including hob, dishwasher, fridge and coffee machine. Everything was provided in the way of cutlery and crockery, if you were intending a longer stay you would easily have been able to prepare a meal and there was also a table and two chairs to eat at. The room was warm and cosy with good quality beds and linens.

The bathroom was also clean and well equipped. Less able people may struggle to get into the bath, which had a shower over, but I believe that other rooms have a walk in shower instead.

There was a nice bar area between the Residence and Courtyard and public areas were clean and bright.

Breakfast was the only point which made me consider 4 stars instead of 5. There was a full buffet but over the weekend the breakfast room was VERY busy and the clearing of tables and replenishing of breakfast items and cutlery/plates etc was unacceptably slow. The coffee machines seemed unreliable and there was a general chaos round the buffet. That said, when we went for breakfast on Monday, after 9 it was SO much better. Obviously business people had been and gone and people staying for the weekend had left. Lower numbers meant a much improved experience so I went with the 5 star option!

All in all a lovely hotel, friendly staff and first class room. I would recommend and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with walk in shower if you have any mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayhan_Kilit-GM, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback that we will share with all associates! We would be pleased to wolcome you during your next Munich vist!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Lovely hotel, very clean and modern. Fantastic room, lovely shower room, we had a choice when we checked in between bath or shower. Breakfast was included and there was a good choice, also found the bar a good place to relax after a day out in the city.

Room Tip: Had a room at the front, could hear a little bit of traffic noise which didn't affect me but may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel is just opposite to the Munich Ost Bahnhof, just a five minutes walk from the terminal. It is a very clean and well maintained property. The front desk is great - and the staff speak very good English. The hotel believes in customized welcome to each guests and makes every guest feel welcome. The rooms are spacious, has a small kichen, a large bath area with all required amenities. It is great either for family on personal trip or on business. The Wifi is absolutely fantastic - and was very dependable and it was complimentary. The breakfast was also good. The only flip side was the restaurant offers very little choice for dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms on the other side of the road are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Felt at home, spacious clean, cosy. I always stay either here or at courtyard . Don't like business centre though , it is squeezed into a tiny corner@ lobby with no privacy at all. They can upgrade the Market items also

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had one day/night in Munich following a river cruise and were using Marriott points; this hotel was among the lower levels as far as point cost, and we couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised...as other reviewers have mentioned, it was terrific. Modern spotless rooms, very comfortable bed, quiet area, incredibly helpful front desk staff, and a superb & enormous breakfast included. The location was great - 2 blocks' walk to the Ostbahnhof and just 3 stops away from Marienplatz. The parking is pricey if you use their garage, but there is on-street parking for just 6Euros for 24-hours, and we had a spot directly in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India , Trivandrum
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent Hotel / Apart hotel. I stayed here for approximately 3 weeks and it was very good.

Following are the good points I would like to highlight

a) Location in central
b) Kitchenette facilities with all utensils
c) Excellent breakfast with lot of options
d) Accessibility
e) Good will / reputation of the property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost

Address: Orleansstrasse 81-83, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 379 hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn helps guests keep all aspects of their life in balance through connectivity to home and office, health and fitness options, and comfortable places to work or relax - including guests traveling with their families, or for personal travel. The Residence Inn Munich City East offers 125 spacious studios with air condition, telephone, safe, fully equipped kitchenette with dishwasher and refrigerator, W-Lan with High Speed Internet Access, Sat-TV and generous living, dining and working area. The fitness room, steam bath and sauna are free of charge for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.