We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Orleansstrasse 81-83, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #15 of 384 Hotels in Munich
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Felt at home, spacious clean, cosy. I always stay either here or at courtyard . Don't like business centre though , it is squeezed into a tiny corner@ lobby with no privacy at all. They can upgrade the Market items also

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    88
    18
    2
    4
See reviews for
112
59
9
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had one day/night in Munich following a river cruise and were using Marriott points; this hotel was among the lower levels as far as point cost, and we couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised...as other reviewers have mentioned, it was terrific. Modern spotless rooms, very comfortable bed, quiet area, incredibly helpful front desk staff, and a superb & enormous breakfast included. The location was great - 2 blocks' walk to the Ostbahnhof and just 3 stops away from Marienplatz. The parking is pricey if you use their garage, but there is on-street parking for just 6Euros for 24-hours, and we had a spot directly in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India , Trivandrum
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent Hotel / Apart hotel. I stayed here for approximately 3 weeks and it was very good.

Following are the good points I would like to highlight

a) Location in central
b) Kitchenette facilities with all utensils
c) Excellent breakfast with lot of options
d) Accessibility
e) Good will / reputation of the property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great room, great house-keeping, new and very functional room, super front-desk people (especially Hanna & Leena), amazing breakfast buffet included, free wireless internet, perfect location to major train station. Absolutely no complaints...we stayed seven nights and will definitely return. HIGHLY RECOMMEND FOR TOURISTS AND BUSINESS TRAVELLERS.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel is very nice, in a fairly close location to the train station. Rooms are clean have the amenities that one needs complete with a kitchenette counter with a microwave, stove, and utensils. Very nice hotel, breakfast with many items including hot food. Front desk staff fumbled at checkout. We suggest that seasoned staff stand with trainees. This hotel met all of our needs while we were in the area! Very expensive at Oktoberfest time, but we found the value in the hotel's newness and location to the train station. Just a short ride to Oktoberfest one way or the city main the other way!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the courtyard side of the street, it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here and recommend this hotel. It's in a great location, just a 5 minute walk from Ostbahnhof where you can get connections for trains, S-Bahn, subway, buses and trams. The hotel is only a year old and I found the room up-to-date, comfortable and quiet. I was impressed to find a Nespresso espresso/coffee maker in my room, along with a stove, microwave, refrigerator and dishwasher. The fitness center is decently equipped for a hotel (mix of cardio, dumb bells and multifunction weight machine). The staff at the front desk and on the floors were courteous, friendly and professional. My only disappointment was the WiFi service. I found it to be so unreliable in my room, that I ended up just using the data plan on my phone (luckily I had a German SIM card and didn't pay roaming fees). Hopefully, this was just my room and not every room.

Tip: Taking the public transportation around Munich is much easier than driving or finding a parking space. When you go to Ostbahnhof to buy a ticket, you may want to use one of the self-serve machines. Just be sure to press on the picture of the British flag on the bottom of the screen to change the language to English. This will make life much easier, unless you read German.

Tip 2: If you go during Oktoberfest, you may want to send postcards home to friends and family. The German Post Office (Deutsche Post) has a temporary substation at the festival. If you mail your postcards here, they will receive a special Oktoberfest postmark.

Room Tip: Select a room that is not on Orleansstrasse. This is the road in front of the hotel and it is relat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed for a month and felt like we were living in our own place. We were just a short 5 minute walk from the Ost Bahnhof train station where you can also get the "S" Bahn. The room was extremely clean and efficient. We had numerous dinners in the room and had every modern feature except an oven. The morning buffet had a good assortment of local and international items. The buffet is shared with the Courtyard, so at times it was very crowded. The staff was very friendly and helpful and had no problem communicating to them in English. We had a room on the street which had a view of the trains, and had no problem with any noise. The room was very quiet. Munich is a great city for bicycling and it would be great if they had bicycles. Since we were there for a month, we purchased used bikes from a local bicycle shop at a great price. The front desk gave us that advice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost

Address: Orleansstrasse 81-83, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 384 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn helps guests keep all aspects of their life in balance through connectivity to home and office, health and fitness options, and comfortable places to work or relax - including guests traveling with their families, or for personal travel. The Residence Inn Munich City East offers 125 spacious studios with air condition, telephone, safe, fully equipped kitchenette with dishwasher and refrigerator, W-Lan with High Speed Internet Access, Sat-TV and generous living, dining and working area. The fitness room, steam bath and sauna are free of charge for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Munchen City Ost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.