We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just About Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Muenchen Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Muenchen Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Muenchen Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trogerstrasse 21, 81675 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Just About Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The room was beautiful; the balcony offered a sunset view over the rooftops of nearby buildings; and the bathroom was luxurious. So that's a nice start. In addition, the staff is excellent, there's a charming garden, a handy garage and a fitness center. Plus, the location was very good: easy walking distance to an excellent Bavarian restaurant (the hotel's recommendation)-- we had a fun dinner there on a Tuesday and the place was packed... inside, on porches and in a large garden. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salika_Glattkowski, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Overlands-Summers,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor, we are delighted to hear that had a 'just about perfect' stay.

The next time in town, we propose you to try the 'Spatenhaus an der Oper', they serve upscale Bavarian specialities with a gorgeous view over to the Opera.

We looking forward to welcoming you back soon in the near future.

Kind regards,
Salika Glattkowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    72
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
48
137
24
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great service! We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of a 3 week adventure through Southern Germany. The hotel offered a one day Oktoberfest package which was fantastic. We ventured to other tourist destinations easily via Train likely .5 km away.

My area of concern is the high end price tag for the hotel that comes with snooty people in the area. Especially at the restaurant/deli across the street - Kaefer! Splendid food but too many rich snooty Germans. If you can tolerate that, I highly recommend the hotel.

The bathroom toilet wasn't cleaned on a daily basis which is not exceptable for a high end hotel. Also, the walls in the bathroom had major soap scum!

I'm not being one of those "types", I'm suggesting that you are paying a lot of money for an unclean bathroom and tolerating bad behaviour by locals.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salika_Glattkowski, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Natasha2006,

Thank you for staying with us - and we are glad you had a 'fun' Octoberfest experience with us and thank you for your recommendation.

Cleanliness is our utmost importance to us, our rooms are serviced twice daily: in the morning and evening for turn service, we appreciate your feedback and have followed up with housekeeping.

Hope to welcome you back soon, how about experiencing the Christmas Markets in Munich.

Kind regards,

Salika Glattkowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife picked this extraordinary hotel a few miles off Marienplatz because we needed to relax while enjoying Munchen. Ample and confortable rooms include free natural or carbonated water, juices or refreshments within the room. The hotel was beautifully decorated, had a great room service, lovely bar, ask for a dry martini, and exquisite restaurant. It has a great breakfast, maybe a little pricey but it is worth it. The complete breakfast includes everything possible including champagne. Easily accessible by public transportation. You can reserve bicycles at the hotel for a few thrills off the beaten path. If you decide to walk it is less than 25 minutes from the Marketpltz and its lovely city center. Service in the hotel is extraordinary, especially from the bellman named Popov.

Room Tip: Use a higher floor they are sunnier and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salika_Glattkowski, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Roberto F,

Thank you for the tripadvisor Review - we are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and a great vacation. Your positive comments about my staff has been forward to the Team.

To stay posted - have a look at our Facebook site: Hotel Muenchen Palace.

We would love to welcome you back soon in the near future to the München Palace Hotel.

Kind regards,

Salika Glattkowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed two nights at the München Palace in a single room since that's all my corporate rate allowed me to book. Knowing German hotels, I was afraid I would end up with a 80-90cm wide bed in a closet-like room.
I was more than pleasantly surprised by my stay here. While the room only measured 200 sq. ft., which is still more than enough for a solo traveller, it was absolutely perfectly laid out with lovely furniture, nice and soft colors (white and beige mostly) and a perfect bathroom. I tend to feel a bit claustrophobic in small rooms but this hasn't been the case here as the room received beautiful sun light and was on the 5th floor.
The bed was approximately 110cm wide I would say and absolutely perfect for me. I slept like a baby both nights. Internet was free which is always nice and so was the minibar with a choice of juices, water, beer and coke (great!). Bathroom products were by Molton Brown, one of my favorite brands.

Breakfast turned out to be really good with exceptional pastries and a very decent choice. 28€ for the buffet breakfast or 18€ for continental which remains a rather good value I would say.

I also opted for the Airport transfer service in a Porsche Cayenne which proved to be a bargain at 80€ (I paid 70€ by taxi upon arrival).

Conclusion: I'll definitely be back. The slightly remote position of the hotel doesn't make it unconvenient as the U-Bahn and the bus 100 bring you to town very easily and quickly (5-10 minutes).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salika_Glattkowski, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Seamaster France,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our 'charming property' Hotel Muenchen Palace. We are a family owned bputique hotel owned by the Family Kuffler, and one of our values is the personalized Service to ensure all our guests feel at home and well taken care of.
Especially our corporate clients - who are often on the road, we find it important that you can relax and chill down in our bar, Wellness area and rooms after a long working day.

We look forward to welcoming you back 'home' soon.

Kind regards,
Salika Glattkowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Followed the reviews on Trip advisor to try out this lovely boutique hotel in a quite suburb of Munich. The hotel is approximately 20-25 mins walk from the centre of town and the free bikes offer a speedy journey. The local area is wonderful to walk with long river walks and the English Garden all close by. We arrived early and had an early check-in while waiting in the sweet rear garden and found all staff very helpful and accommodating at all times. Rooms are immaculate with tasteful decoration and good amenities. The minibar and internet are both complimentary which is a refreshing change. There is a nice bar and breakfast is well presented with a very good choice.
I didn't try the restaurant but had to book at the famous Kafer across the road which was not a disappointment. will definitely return on my next trip to Munich.

Room Tip: All seemed nice but upper floors seem better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salika_Glattkowski, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Boulus,

We are happy to read your comments, and thank you for sharing your stay experience.
Yes, our bicycles are complimentary and so is wifi and the mini bar for all room categories booked.

Our restaurant and bar serve international cuisine and Bavarian specialities, room service is 24 hours available, please do try it out during your next visit to Munich.
The owners of the hotel, the family Kuffler also have various restaurants in Munich, which are definately worth a visit:

Spatenhaus an der Oper - serving traditional German/ Bavarian Specialities
Seehaus im Englischen Garten
Kufflers California Kitchen
Mangostin - Asian Cuisine
Haxnbauer - Bavarian
Bagutta - Pizza
Kufflers Weinzelt - Oktoberfest time

We look forward to welcoming you back 'home' soon.

Kind regards from sunny Munich,
Salika Glattkowski and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A quiet location but close to everything. The free bikes were just the thing for exploring the city. Could get to everything. Munich is a great city for bicycling. Room was good size with good towels and linens. Didn't go for the 28 euro breakfast. We've had just as good for much less. Within a couple of blocks are two fantastic restaurants, Kafer and hippocampus. Staff was friendly and professional. overall very good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The service is fantastic, the rooms are great, value for money is outstanding but location is a bit weird. Not quite sure what to make of this place. Everything about this property says 5 star luxury, but it does seem to lack some je ne sais quoi. Would i go back? yes absolutely. Maybe it is the location next to a medical technical university that sort of lets it down a bit but nothing really to worry about.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Muenchen Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muenchen Palace

Address: Trogerstrasse 21, 81675 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Muenchen Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
München Palace is a hotel in Munich’s Bogenhausen quarter. Located on the banks of the Isar River, not far from the beautiful Englischer Garten, the hotel stands between the Friedensengel Monument and the Prinzregententheater. The city centre’s shops and sights are just a 15-minute walk away. There are underground and bus stops nearby and the hotel has a private garage.The hotel roof terrace and garden are city-central spots of seclusion. Guests can soak up the sun whilst enjoying breakfast, lunch or dinner in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Muenchen Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Muenchen Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.