We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet,cozy, cushy and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Muenchen Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Muenchen Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Muenchen Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trogerstrasse 21, 81675 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Wauna,Wa.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Quiet,cozy, cushy and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I felt that we had good value for this boutique hotel. The neighborhood is very posh and out of the city noise, yet it nearly borders the English garden and a subway station is three blocks away. Our room was large by European standards as was the bathroom, the furnishings are very restrained, linens are soft, beds are comfortable, very tasteful over all. The staff were helpful without being over present. We enjoy walking and getting to odeonplatz was easy(downhill) and beautiful. We ate in the terrace twice, both times because of fatigue ( arrival from Croatia and post dachau) and it was very good and both the terrace and the bar are pretty and very inviting. The minibar is free which is a nice perk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    72
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
47
137
24
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

In my view the best place to explore Munich and yet stay away from the overcrowded old city center. It is just the size to be cosy and intimate, appointed enough to be comfortable and enthusing, rooms are just the size, fabulous breakfast, excellent staff. There wasn't a single thing to disappoint or wish for more. Everyone was at our disposal at all times.
The location is very quiet, close to the magnificent English garden in the exclusive borough of Bogenhausen, the seat of aristocracy of Munich, to ensure a dignified stay which is impossible if you stay in the Hauptbahnhof area. Overall, a seamless experience.

Room Tip: Opt for a garden view room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Another great hotel, good service from lovely staff ( where English was no issue), the room (superior garden room) was beautifully decorated in muted shades a d quality linen. The room was quiet and had a little balcony overlooking trees in a quiet side of the hotel. Breakfast was served in a small dinning room with lots of variety. The hotel is a little way from the main city rail station, but within walking distance from everything else (if you like walking, around 20 mins)
There was a great gourmet deli across the road for any picnic items or extra drinks. Highly recommended....

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at the hotel 4 nites in july of 2012.The moment I walked into the lobby I knew it was
going to be a great experience.The lobby was stunning and beautiful.This is a 5 star hotel and it
shows.The staff greated us in German,we dont speak it,not a problem,everyone at the hotel was
fluent in English which makes things alot easier for us.The staff goes out of thier way to make you
feel comfotable.They are very eager to help you with anything.The hotel property is great,nice
garden in the back of the hotel that is immaculate.Had some cocktails out there.Great terraces
on the roof,where you can take some some sun.They have an awsome bar and restaurant,we had lunch there 3 times and had dinner twice.Rocket salad w/ veal meatballs,Liver dumpling soup
Wiener Schnitzel,linguini with prawns.These were our favorite dishes.The bar lounge area is really nice.Bartenders and dining room staff were great.Hotel staff all were sensational.We were leaving early from the hotel to get to the airport,so we had requested a wake up call at 4Am and coffee to be delivered at our room at 415.sure enough all went well.I highly recommend this hotel
you need to stay there at least once.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Definitely a bit more $ but worth every Euro spent here. By far the best hotel we stayed at in Munich/Bavaria. Great gym facilities (for Europe - very rare) extraordinarily helpful and friendly staff at the front. Gorgeous hotel - a bit outside of town but in a very nice area. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salika_Glattkowski, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear TM,

Thank you for taking the time to share your xperience at the hotel with the tripadvisor community. We are delighted that you enjoyed the gym, sauna and steambath, this has just been opened after an extensive renovation and now features state of the art technogym equipment.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Personal regards,
Salika Glattkowski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Comfortable hotel in a nice and quiet neighborhood with a helpful staff. The hotel has a lovely garden and is in close walking distance (5 minutes) to a beautiful park. A goumet market is also located across the street. A nearby metro station allows for convenient travel.

If you are looking for a comfortable, relaxing place to base your travels and plan to use public transport this is a great choice. Since the hotel is located just outside of the main tourist sites, it may not be ideal if you plan to walk everwhere. Sites are walkable - but it's a longer walk (15-20 minutes) to the town center.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salika_Glattkowski, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear BBloves2Travel,

Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the München Palace. We are situated in Bogenhausen close to the English Garden and the Angel of Peace monument. Should you be back in Summer during the warmer season, do ask for our complimentary bicycles to explore the city.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Personal regards,
Salika Glattkowski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel in April while there for the construction equipment conference. Work business and I was on my own.

The hotel is well situated and in a nice tree lined alley which is not noisy. Staff were very accommodating and friendly at all times.

The Resturant was open for all meals and we ate there a lot as we had meetings in the hotel. Not that inspired and ran out of wine on the wine list. Service was good thought at all times. The resturant was not busy at all and had no "vibe" at all. Fairly usual for a hotel resturant, but this was especially small.

My main gripe about the hotel is that is was really small. The entrance is minute and everyone squashes in. Not a problem for a middle of the road hotel but a bit off putting for an expensive 5 star hotel. The gym was very small with one treadmill and cycle and minimal weight equipment. My room (booked as a single) was a three quarter bed. Adequate, but I would have expected better for such a fancy hotel. Bear this in mind when booking.

Overall the staff very nice indeed and hotel well positioned. I liked the hotel,but do not think it was good value for money and thus the loss of a star. Some great restaurants in the vacinity.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salika_Glattkowski, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Richard N,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with the tripadvisor community, this is much appreciated.


We are a privately owned boutique hotel and a member of Preferred Boutique.
WIth 74 rooms and suites, we offer our guests individual decorated rooms, varing in size and location, and seasonal prices, starting from a single room with approx 26sqm to our suites up to 150 sqm with private sauna and steinway piano over 2 floors. You had visted us during a high season, with the BAUMA fair, where the city is very full.

The Family Kufflers, the owners, also own and run the 'Seehaus im Englischen Garten', Spatenhaus an der Oper', 'Mangostin Asia Restaurants', 'Haxnbauer im Scholastikhaus', Oktoberfest Weinzelt', 'T2 Gastronomie' and 'Kuffler California Kitchen', do try one of the other restaurants the next time in Munich.

We hope to welcome you back soon, maybe on a 'leisure' occasion for you to be able to explore the beautiful city of Munich.

Personal regards,
Salika Glattkowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Muenchen Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muenchen Palace

Address: Trogerstrasse 21, 81675 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Muenchen Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
München Palace is a hotel in Munich’s Bogenhausen quarter. Located on the banks of the Isar River, not far from the beautiful Englischer Garten, the hotel stands between the Friedensengel Monument and the Prinzregententheater. The city centre’s shops and sights are just a 15-minute walk away. There are underground and bus stops nearby and the hotel has a private garage.The hotel roof terrace and garden are city-central spots of seclusion. Guests can soak up the sun whilst enjoying breakfast, lunch or dinner in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Muenchen Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Muenchen Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.