We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but small” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Muenchen Palace

Save Saved
You added Hotel Muenchen Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Muenchen Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trogerstrasse 21, 81675 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€60 off room rate
Ranked #3 of 382 hotels in Munich
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good hotel but small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel in April while there for the construction equipment conference. Work business and I was on my own.

The hotel is well situated and in a nice tree lined alley which is not noisy. Staff were very accommodating and friendly at all times.

The Resturant was open for all meals and we ate there a lot as we had meetings in the hotel. Not that inspired and ran out of wine on the wine list. Service was good thought at all times. The resturant was not busy at all and had no "vibe" at all. Fairly usual for a hotel resturant, but this was especially small.

My main gripe about the hotel is that is was really small. The entrance is minute and everyone squashes in. Not a problem for a middle of the road hotel but a bit off putting for an expensive 5 star hotel. The gym was very small with one treadmill and cycle and minimal weight equipment. My room (booked as a single) was a three quarter bed. Adequate, but I would have expected better for such a fancy hotel. Bear this in mind when booking.

Overall the staff very nice indeed and hotel well positioned. I liked the hotel,but do not think it was good value for money and thus the loss of a star. Some great restaurants in the vacinity.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salika_Glattkowski, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Richard N,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with the tripadvisor community, this is much appreciated.


We are a privately owned boutique hotel and a member of Preferred Boutique.
WIth 74 rooms and suites, we offer our guests individual decorated rooms, varing in size and location, and seasonal prices, starting from a single room with approx 26sqm to our suites up to 150 sqm with private sauna and steinway piano over 2 floors. You had visted us during a high season, with the BAUMA fair, where the city is very full.

The Family Kufflers, the owners, also own and run the 'Seehaus im Englischen Garten', Spatenhaus an der Oper', 'Mangostin Asia Restaurants', 'Haxnbauer im Scholastikhaus', Oktoberfest Weinzelt', 'T2 Gastronomie' and 'Kuffler California Kitchen', do try one of the other restaurants the next time in Munich.

We hope to welcome you back soon, maybe on a 'leisure' occasion for you to be able to explore the beautiful city of Munich.

Personal regards,
Salika Glattkowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    53
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
31
102
21
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel. It is out of the hustle and bustle of the historical old town but close enough to walk in or pay €9 for a taxi. The staff are excellent. Professional and efficient and yet have the friendliness you would associate more with a small family business. The rooms are modern and well serviced. A free small minibar. Breakfast is expensive (especially if you don't want too much) so we went to the excellent Kafer restaurant across the road. You can eat dinner in the bar, garden or restaurant - all had great individual ambience. Recommend that you pay a little more for the delux room which gives you a little more space. Close to the English Garden which is so beautiful and an experience in itself. The hotel has free bikes to take there or around the city. Happy to recommend.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salika_Glattkowski, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Andy and Cathy,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and sharing your experience with us.
Yes, our garden is a pearl and very unique to the city, we are delighted that you enjoyed this experience.

We hope to welcome you back very soon,

kind regards,
Salika Glattkowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We chose the hotel from good reviews in Trip Adviser. We were not disappointed as we were given a beautiful room with a lovely view over the garden. The staff were fantastic and all spoke very good English. Cleanliness was perfect.
The taxi ride from the airport cost 65 Euros and took about 25 minutes.
The hotel is expensive, but in our opinion was still value for money with breakfast at 28 Euros a good example.
The location is 10 minutes by taxi from the city center (about £8) or you can go by U Bahn. The upside is that the hotel is in a very quiet residential area which seemed far preferable to the more noisy city center locations.
We enjoyed the art galleries, the opera and a guided walk in the shadow of the history of the 3rd Reich.
The food at the hotel was pretty good too, however there appeared to be very few nearby less expensive alternatives.
We stayed 5 nights and can only recommend Munich as the perfect place to spend a long weekend sampling German culture.

Room Tip: We had a garden room graded as deluxe. It was absolutely perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salika_Glattkowski, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear ArtfanLondon,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share you positve experience with us. The praise about the staff is much appreciated and is excellent motivation, as it is our goal to exceed our guests wishes and we thank you cordially.

We hope to welcome you back very soon,

kind regards,
Salika Glattkowski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Munich Palace Hotel is a very pleasant place to stay. Hotel is sparkling clean, staff are helpful and friendly, and rooms are very well specified, comfortable beds, nice modern bathroom, good desk for working, and fast (and free) WiFi.

I cannot comment on the food, because I didn't ever eat in the hotel (I was there for a business conference, so dined with colleagues in Munich each day), but I would recommend the hotel.

Only one problem for me was that the hotel was a very long distance from the conference, but that is hardly the hotel's fault!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel is just outside the city center, which has its pros and cons. We liked being able to escape the chaos of the city center, but anytime we wanted to go somewhere, we had to go back to the city center... 20 - 30 minute walk or 15 minutes on the tram.

The staff gets an A+, same for the housekeeping. Everyone was nice, helpful and competent.

The rooms are big, clean and quite.

The hotel bar was great. We went there for a night cap each night.

the only thing I would change, is the gym/spa. I know they just renovated it, and it is very nice. But, I am used to having more work out equipment. They have a treadmill, elliptical, and a bike. I would have liked some free weights, maybe a dumb-bell set... but if you like to run, the English Garden is a block away.

We will definitely stay here the next time we are in town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salika_Glattkowski, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear NjpOst,

Thank you for taking the time to review and share your experience with the tripadvisor community.

It was my pleasure to learn from your comment that especially our staff has been to your utter satisfaction.
As we are a boutique hotel, space for a full fledge fitness area is limited, for guests looking for more equipment and weights, we work closely with a gym in walking distance - but as said the English garden and Isar river bank is right next to hotel and great for long or short runs!

We hope that you will give us the privilege of your patronage soon again and remain with best regards from sunny Munich,

Salika Glattkowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Hotel is decorated beautifully
Room is very warm and inviting and exceptionally clean
Bed is very comfortable for a good nite's sleep
Loved the cozy bar with excellent food
Wiener schnitzel was excellent so I had I for lunch and dinner
Staff was helpful and pleasant

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The staff are very attentive and friendly. The in house restaurant is very nice - we ate from the seasonal menu which had an asparagus theme. Our room was beautifully decorated and very well equipped - everything you'd expect from a 5 star. The shower was a little cramped. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Muenchen Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muenchen Palace

Address: Trogerstrasse 21, 81675 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 382 hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Muenchen Palace 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
München Palace is a hotel in Munich’s Bogenhausen quarter. Located on the banks of the Isar River, not far from the beautiful Englischer Garten, the hotel stands between the Friedensengel Monument and the Prinzregententheater. The city centre’s shops and sights are just a 15-minute walk away. There are underground and bus stops nearby and the hotel has a private garage.The hotel roof terrace and garden are city-central spots of seclusion. Guests can soak up the sun whilst enjoying breakfast, lunch or dinner in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Muenchen Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Muenchen Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.