We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful balcony room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Muenchen Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Muenchen Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trogerstrasse 21, 81675 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 383 hotels in Munich
Peoria, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful balcony room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just took the train in from Nuremburg area and our room was not ready yet, so they asked if we would like to sit in the garden and have a drink and something lite to eat. It was great. The weather beautiful the garden flowers were all blooming, so pretty. They had free wifi so we checked all our mail and looked up places to see. I was content with my vino enjoying the great day, that they brought the room key to us. This was our first time to Munich and it was amazing. Our room was great overlooking the garden and we had our own private balcony. The staff were so nice and the food in the restaurant was good to.

Room Tip: Get a balcony if you are there during the months of good weather. We would shop at the farmers marke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salika_Glattkowski, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear 'Dini1962',

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the München Palace Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and liked our 'deluxe' room category, it is unique for Munich to have a room with a balcony overlooking a garden.

We hope to welcome you soon again, how about a visit to the Christmas market?
Hope to see you soon!


Personal regards,

Salika Glattkowski
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    54
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
110
21
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I knew when I booked the hotel that it was not in the city center and was a bit worried about that. Especially, with the reviews of its location. But we were very happy with our choice. Yes, it's not in the marienplatz but how wonderful to not be. It was so easy to either train, cab or walk to where we wanted and even better to be out of the "busy" to sleep and eat. We were able to be in the neighborhoods of Munich and eat and shop where the locals live. We felt pampered there, the hotel staff was more than helpful with ideas of places to eat and places to visit. The hotel bar was such a warm inviting place to meet up with our friends and the garden was beautiful, just too bad the weather didn't let us use it. I am very picky and this hotel met all my high standards of cleanliness both with the bathroom and bedding. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I booked on hotels.com and made no requests and I was extremely happy with my room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salika_Glattkowski, General Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear 'Robin P.',

Thank you for taking the time to share your 'wonderful' experience with the Tripadvisor community. We are delighted to read, that you felt well taken after and that our staff made you feel comfortable.
Your kind words have been passed on to the entire team, as we strive for perfection and hope to always fullfill our guest wishes and requests.

The entire staff of the München Palace Hotel look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Kind regards,
Salika Glattkowski
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We booked this hotel as we thought it was near the central station but its a good 4 km from there. When we arrived we were told that the sauna and roof terrace were being renovated , a big disappointment. The receptionist said we would have been told of this if we booked direct and criticised us for booking through Expedia. They had our details though so why didn't they contact us direct? Also the breakfast would have been €25 each so we skipped that. The room we were first shown to had scaffolding at the window, so they moved us, don't know why they thought we'd want to stay there! The room we moved to was a smoking room, weren't told this and didn't realise until we could smell stale smoke! Couldn't be bothered to ask to move again though...
The rooms were nice, good quality fixtures and fittings and our stale room had a balcony overlooking the garden and building site.
The staff were helpful too. Didn't really feel like a 5 star hotel. It's out of the way too, a good 35 minute walk to the centre and 15 minutes to bars and restaurants.
Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear "matt c",
thank you very much for leaving your review here on TripAdvisor.
We are sorry that you are disappointed, but the whole problem seems to have started with your booking. There is a hotel called PALACE in the area of the central station. On some booking services this is a bit confusing in its presentation, we are working on that.
Our Hotel is located in “Munich - Bogenhausen”, a part of town with a variety of bars and restaurants in walking distance. The subway is located one block away from our hotel, and takes passengers to the center every few minutes.
After having just renovated most of the house and all of the rooms in 2011/2012, we are now installing a brand new SPA (Sauna,…) on the roof terrace. This information can also be found on Expedia.
All in all, we are very sorry that things went wrong. Thanks to your review we will work on making our information more transparent; at the reception desk and on booking sites.
With our best wishes from the Hotel München Palace in Munich (Bogenhausen)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Excellent 5 star boutique hotel. Good staff service, excellent room and very good breakfast. Slightly further out of city centre than I'd thought but only a couple of stops on the UBahn. Only suggestlon for improvement would be a wider selection for dinner.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear "bgs75", thank you very much for your kind review. Your suggestion concerning the dinner selection will gladly be forwarded to the managing director.
With our best wishes from the Hotel München Palace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Check in was quick, although the reception personel was too interested in serving customers. Contrary to my booking I got a smoking room. That was quickly changed and I got a non-smoking and larger room (good - I am not used to sleep in shoe-box size of rooms).
It was time formdinner so I checked the internet for restaurants. They have a restaurant and a bar. Nice. But just one kitchen and one menue. So why to bother...?
The food was terrible. Absolutely tasteless Ceasar's salad, prawns in prawn salad soaked in fat. Disgusting!
They have a SPA. Under renovation about which they forget to write on the website.
I find no reasons to come here again although it seems will be visiting the city on more reguler basis.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salika_Glattkowski, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Mr. 'Aszanti',

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the München Palace Hotel. We regret to hear that you were still not satisfied with the service and experience at the hotel, despite efforts from us; we did not manage to clear the problems to your satisfaction upon your check out.

We are a boutique hotel with 74 rooms and suites, each room is individually decorated, the size of the rooms range from 22 - 140 sqm depending on the room category booked, 5 floors from 6 are non-smoking rooms. Unfortunately we did not receive the information that you had requested a non-smoking room, this though I believe was solved and you received an upgrade to a deluxe room. Being a boutique hotel with one restaurant and bar - we offer our guests the same choice for our room service menu, to enjoy our full menu in the privacy of the room. We regret that you did not enjoy the taste of the salad ordered, our room service had offered you alternative salads.

Our fitness center and sauna area is currently under complete renovation to offer our valued guests a state of the art facility. This will be available for our guests by mid of December, with state of the art machines from Technogym and in addition to the sauna there will be a steam bath. Unfortunately a renovation always means some inconvenience but it is an investment for our valued clients to make their future stay at our hotel more comfortable and to their expectations. In all reservation confirmations during this period and on the website we have posted this information.

Please accept our sincere apologies about the inconvenience and we sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Salika Glattkowski
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We chose this hotel based on internet info and were not disappointed. We stayed at the Munchen Palace for 3 nights and found it to be a delightful place to stay. The room was well appointed in soothing, elegant taupes and creams. We had plenty of room with a small seating area that we used and enjoyed. The minibar contained a small array of drinks and snacks but was included which was a nice touch. By far one of the nicest things about this hotel is the cozy, intimate bar. We not only had drinks there but also ate dinner twice after a long day sightseeing. Delicious food and the potato soup is not to be missed! The entire staff was extremely friendly and helpful. When we are back in Munchen we will definitely be revisiting the Munchen Palace.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salika_Glattkowski, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Moore2074,

Thank you for time to share your stay experience at the Muenchen Palace Hotel with the Tripadvisor community. We are delighted that you very much enjoyed your stay and all your expectations were met.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again in the near future, where you will find a fully new wellness and fitness area.

Kind regards from snowy Munich,
Salika Glattkowski
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here for the Munich Marathon, again by using TA we were confident that the place we decided would be good.
We were not disappointed the staff were fantastic, the rooms tops class, and the food was just to die for.
Our only negative was that it was expensive but it is a 5 star so i won't bleat on about that side to much.
Our overall verdict if your in Munich you wont be disappointed staying here
Enjoy

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Muenchen Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muenchen Palace

Address: Trogerstrasse 21, 81675 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 383 hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Muenchen Palace 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
München Palace is a hotel in Munich’s Bogenhausen quarter. Located on the banks of the Isar River, not far from the beautiful Englischer Garten, the hotel stands between the Friedensengel Monument and the Prinzregententheater. The city centre’s shops and sights are just a 15-minute walk away. There are underground and bus stops nearby and the hotel has a private garage.The hotel roof terrace and garden are city-central spots of seclusion. Guests can soak up the sun whilst enjoying breakfast, lunch or dinner in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Muenchen Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Muenchen Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.